Women's Health: Selected Electronic Resources
A Course Guide developed for Biology of Women (UGC 303)
Citing What You've Found on the Internet
Consumer Health, Government, and Other Educational Web Sites of Interest
Drug Information Sites
Evaluating Internet Information
Syllabi
UB Libraries Databases
UB Web Sites and Resources of Interest
Web Directories and Search Engines
Course Description:
This course presents basic facts about the biological structure and function of the female body across the life span. Physiologic adaptations during normal processes and disease processes are addressed. Women's physical and mental health issues are presented in the context of women's personal lives and society. Emphasis is placed on the scientific basis of current knowledge and the social and cultural influences on women's health. The role of women as consumers, practitioners and scientists in women's health care is discussed.
The variety of resources presented here may prove useful in your course work and research.
UB Libraries Databases
-
Off-campus access the UB Libraries' Resources
-
Medicine Databases
-
Nursing Databases
-
Women's Studies Databases
UB Web Sites and Resources of Interest
-
Institute for Research and Education on Women and Gender
-
Women's Studies Websites
-
Other Subject Guides to Information Resources
-
Women's Studies Program
Consumer Health, Government, and Other Educational Web Sites of Interest
-
MEDLINEplus
Consumer health website made available through the partnership of public libraries and the National Library of Medicine. -
About Margaret Sanger
Part of the Margaret Sanger Papers Project, NYU's Department of History's editing project formed in 1985 to locate, arrange, edit, research, and publish the papers of the noted birth control pioneer. -
ClinicalTrials.gov
Developed by the U.S. National Institutes of Health, through its National Library of Medicine to provide patients, family members and members of the public current information about clinical research studies. Searchable. -
Email Lists about Women's Health
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
-
EngenderHealth
Large nonprofit organization dedicated to making reproductive health care accessible to women and men around the world.
-
Female Health Links
Commercial search site on women's healthcare issues for consumers and professionals.
-
Female Nobel Prize Laureates
An excellent section of the Nobel Prize Internet Archive
-
Feminists Women's Health Center
FWHC is a non-profit organization that promotes and protects a woman's right to choose and receive reproductive health care. -
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA): Women's Health
Department of Health and Human Services, U.S. Public Health Service -
Black Women's Health Imperative
-
National Women's Health Information Center (NWHIC)
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services -
National Women's Health Resource Center (NWHRC)
-
Office of Minority Health Resource Center
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services -
Office of Research on Women's Health (ORWH)
National Institutes of Health -
Office on Women's Health
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention -
Society for Women's Health Research
-
Web Sites for Women's Health
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Drug Information Sites
-
Drug Information from MEDLINEplus
A guide to more than 9,000 prescription and over-the-counter medications provided by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) in the USP DI® and Advice for the Patient® -
PDR.Net
Web Directories and Search Engines
Evaluating Internet Information
-
Evaluating Information Found on the Internet
The Sheridan Libraries of the Johns Hopkins University -
Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
UC Berkeley Library -
Discern
DISCERN provides a valid and reliable way of assessing the quality of written information on treatment choices for a health problem. Rate the site yourself!
Citing What You've Found on the Internet
-
Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association
-
Writing and Citing
Syllabi
Please send comments to Sharon Murphy Associate Librarian, Health Sciences Library or Patricia McCartney Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
Contact information for Dr. McCartney

