Best Sellers
20th Century American
Finding Books
Search BISON - UB Libraries Catalog to locate books on your topic
There are four basic ways to search the Catalog:
Key Word Search (use the Boolean operator "AND" to connect key terms)
k=salinger and biographyTitle Search (omit initial articles such as 'the' and 'a')
t=making of a bestsellerSubject Search (using the following Library of Congress subject headings )
s=American fiction--20th century--history and criticismAuthor Search
a=king, stephenFor more help searching the Catalog, see UB Libraries Web Catalog Help page or Ask a Librarian for assistance.
Publishing History Resources
The following sources can be located at the Lockwood Library, either in the reference or book collection.
American Best Sellers: A Reader's Guide to Popular Fiction
LOCKWOOD Reference PS374.B45 H56 1989
Bestseller Index: All Books, by Author, On the Lists of Publishers Weekly and the New York Times through 1990
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1033 .B3 J87 1998
Bowker Annual
LOCKWOOD Reference Collection Z731 .A47
A History of Book Publishing in the United States
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z473 .T42
Between Covers: The Rise and Transformation of Book Publishing in America
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z473 .T4 1987
Guide to the Study of United States Imprints
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1215.A2 T35
80 Years of Best Sellers, 1895-1975
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1033.B3 H342
Lolita in Peyton Place: Highbrow, Middlebrow, and Lowbrow Novels of the 1950s
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PS374 .P63 W66 1995
The Making of a Bestseller: from Author to reader
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z471 .V35 1999
The #1 New York Times Bestseller
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z1033.B3 B43 1992
Best Seller Lists 1900-1995
Biographical Resources
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Provides full-text access to over 9,000 critical and biographical essays on British and American authors from all eras and genres. DLB can be searched in conjunction with Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Contemporary Authors
Provides information about authors' lives and careers, plus lists of and critical/analytical information about their works.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Leads to citations to sources that either contain biographical sketches or provide references to other works.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN771 G27
Provides information on more than 2,000 authors now living or who lived between 1900 and 1960. Entries include a portrait, biographical and critical information, a list of principal works, excerpts from criticism, explanatory notes and bibliographical citations, and suggested further reading.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN 94 C62
Contains over 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Entries include lists of biographical, critical, and principal works, as well as information for further study.
Finding Book Reviews
Book Review Digest
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index Area) Z1219 .C96
Book Review Index
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index Area) Z1219 .B6
New York Times Index
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index Area) AI21 .N44
A subject index with abstracts of articles and features in the late city edition and regional Sunday supplements of the New York Times.
New York Times Book Review Index. 1896-1970.
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index Area) Z1219 N4
Lists materials found in The New York Times Book Review from 1896 to 1970. This index does not list book reviews that were published in the weekday New York Times. Includes full-length reviews and essays, brief reviews and biographical sketches, letters to the editor and brief commentaries and notes and anecdotal items.
New York Times Archive
Searchable archive for citations to articles published from 1851-present.
Publishers Weekly Bestseller Lists
LexisNexis Academic
Provides Full-text of New York Times from 1980 to present.
Academic Search Premier
Provides coverage of articles from thosands of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. Subject coverage includes literary topics.
PCI Full Text
PCI is also an excellent source for book review citations
Finding Literary Criticism
ABELL
Leads to citations to books, journal articles, critical editions, book reviews, and dissertations, and in some instances, full-text journal articles.
InfoTrac
Leads to citations, abstracts, and in many instances, full-text scholarly, trade and general-interest journals, newspapers, newswire services and magazines.
Literature Resource Center
An electronic version of biographical, bibliographical and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).
MLA International Bibliography
Contains citations to books, journal articles and dissertations published on literature, modern languages, linguistics, and folklore.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index
These databases can be searched separately or simultaneously and provide citations to scholarly articles.
America: History and Life
Leads to citations and some full-text of articles from scholarly journals, dissertations, and book and media reviews from over 100 key historical journals.
Use Online Databases (See Resources by Subject ).
Selecting and Evaluating Editions
A Guide to English and American Literature
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z2011. B32 1976
First Printings of American Authors
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1231.F5 F57
How to Identify and Collect American First Editions: A Guide Book
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z987 .T27 1985
WorldCat
A mega-library catalog containing more than 45 million records world-wide. Contains full bibliographic descriptions and cataloging information for: books, serials, manuscripts, sound recordings, audiovisual materials, maps, music scores, and computer-readable files.
Film Resources
Writing Tools & Resources
Citing Resources
Evaluating Web Sites
American Cultural History Web Sites
- Kingwood College 20th-Century Timelines
- San Francisco Chronicle Timeline (FBI & campus protests)
- Post-World War II American Literature and Culture Database
- American Pop Culture.Com
- Pop History Now
- "Bad Fads" Museum
- Dow Jones Indexes
[Select " Blue Chip Indexes Averages " @ top left / " Dow data " mid left / select decade / note top menus re: " Literature / Science / Music / Movies "]
Best Seller Courses
- English 374: Best Sellers Class of Professor David Willbern, University at Buffalo.
- Topics in American Literature: American Best Sellers

Home