return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Fred Stoss
Last Updated: 5 March 2009

 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Biology > Botany, Forestry, and Plant Science

Botany, Forestry, and Plant Science

Highlights

The following is an alphabetical listing of Internet (World Wide Web sites) related to the disciplines of botany, forestry, and plant sciences.

  • The Amazing Story of Kudzu A fascinating story of one of the most prolific growing vines in the Southeastern U.S. This nonindigenous plant now literally covers more than 7 million acres in the South.
  • American Society of Plant Taxonomists Newsletter
  • The Ancient Bristlecone Pine Information about the Earth's oldest surviving inhabitant.
  • Aquatic and Wetland Plant Database "APIRS [Aquatic Plant Information retrieval System] maintains a computerized bibliographic database (Copyright University of Florida, 1997) devoted to freshwater aquatic and wetland plants. The database includes citations for more than 44,000 research articles, books, and reports about aquatic plant ecology, physiology, utilization and control. Items in many languages dating back to the 18th century are in this inclusive database." Requires FREE registration to use.
  • Biosphere Reserves Biosphere reserves are major centers for academic and government-sponsored research in the ecological sciences. The vast living laboratories are also centers for much research related to botany, forestry, and the plant sciences. Links include the major complex known as the U.S. Man in the Biosphere Program , a complex of research areas through the U.S. The U.S. MAB Program, is developing a worldwide database of vascular plants, MABFlora (and is also creating the MAB Fauna Database ).
  • Garden and Forest The Preservation Reformatting Division of the Library of Congress's first digitizing project is Garden and Forest: A Journal of Horticulture, Landscape Art, and Forestry was the first American journal devoted to horticulture, botany, landscape design and preservation, national and urban park development, scientific forestry, and the conservation of forest resources. The full ten-volume run of Garden and Forest contains approximately 8,400 pages, including over 1,000 illustrations.
  • Botany A comprehensive site that provides multidisciplinary access to botany-related resources from around the world. Links to the Internet Directory for Botany and the Directory of Spanish Association of Parks and Public Gardens .
  • Botany: Internet Resources This site provides access to a vast array of botany-related resources on the Internet: Herbaria and Collections, Floras, Botanical Gardens, Educational Institutions, Listservs and Newsgroups, and Major Gateways (lists of lists).
  • Botany Virtual Library A comprehensive inventory of botany resources available on the internet and World Wide Web.
  • Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research (BTI) A world reknown, private research institute located at Cornell University. Includes links to various BTI research programs and initiatives.
  • Careers in Botany This is an online version of the brochure "Careers in Botany" distributed by the Botanical Society of America (BSA).
  • Carnivorous Plant Database This database includes over 3000 entries giving an exhaustive nomenclature synopsis of all carnivorous plants.
  • Donald Danforth Plant Science Center Resources, services, and research in plant science.
  • The Flora of North America This site is gathering and making available, in a variety of media, scientifically authoritative, up-to-date information on the approximately 20,000 species of vascular plants and br yophytes of North America north of Mexico.
  • FlowerWeb A database offering over 7,000 pictures of flowers, plants and garden plants. The Flowerbase is a collaboration between Glasshouse Business Networks and Pictura Nobilis.
  • Forestry Virtual Library A comprehensive inventory of Internet and World Wide Web resources.
  • Garden Gate "The Garden Gate offers gardeners and nature lovers a carefully-selected and well-organized collection of links to informative and interesting horticulture sites around the world." Site includes a glossary of botany terms .
  • Index of Protista, Plants, and Fungi An inventory of photographs, WWW sites, Internet resources, and text related to plants from their most simple forms to their most complex.
  • Indices Nominum Supragenericorum Plantarum Vascularium "With the cooperation of the National Agricultural Library the Indices Nominum Supragenericorum Plantarum Vascularium is made available publicly via the Internet. The project is a joint effort between the International Association for Plant Taxonomy and the Norton-Brown Herbarium at the University of Maryland. Its purpose is to capture all valid and legitimate extant vascular plants names proposed above the rank of genus."
  • Index Ominum Genericorum "The Index Nominum Genericorum (ING), a collaborative project of the International Association for Plant Taxonomy (IAPT) and the Smithsonian Institution, was initiated in 1954 as a compilation of generic names published for all organisms covered by the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature."
  • Institute of Plant Molecular Biology Research interests of the IPMB cover a variety of subtopics in the field of plant molecular biology, including, "plant molecular biology to ecological studies; main subjects include genetic engineering of plants, symbiotic nitrogen fixation, molecular genetics and diagnosis of plant viruses and viroids, and biophysics and physiology of photosynthesis."
  • Internet Directory for Botany Another compilation of information.
  • Laboratory of Plant Molecular Biology A Howard Hughes Medical Institute International Scholars Laboratory located in Poland. Primary focus is on methodologies related to molecular biology of plants and related research interests.
  • Links for Palaeobotanists Inventories of Internet and WWW resources for palaeobotanists. The site has an emphasis on the Upper Triassic period.
  • National Science Digital Library A comprehensive compilation of education and research-oriented web-based resources in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Medicine. Thousands of Botany and Botanical resources are inventoried, does not have a robust search engine.
  • National Wildflower Research Center "The purpose of the National Wildflower Research Center is to educate people about the environmental necessity, economic value, and natural beauty of native plants. The Wildflower Center maintains one of the largest collections of information about native North American plants, and makes this information available to more than 20,000 members across North America as well as landscape professionals and gardeners around the world."
  • New England Wild Flower Society Home page for one of the oldest plant research and conservation societies in the country with a focus on plants of temperate North America.
  • The New York Botanical Garden The garden was founded in 1891 by botanist Nathaniel Lord Britton. Today, this National Historic Landmark is recognized for its horticultural excellence, educational programs, and scientific research. Situated on 250 acres in the Bronx, the northernmost borough of New York City, it includes 27 outdoor gardens and plant collections, the nation's most beautiful Victorian conservatory and a 40-acre pre-settlement forest." The Plant Information Page is maintained on the NYBG site. The NYBG newsletter, The Herbarium Sheet , is available full-text (a link from the current issue is provided for older online issues).
  • Plant Biotechnology Institute of the National Research Council Canada's pre-eminent research organization dedicated to plant science and biotechnology applications of botany.
  • Seeds of Life EVERYTHING you want or need to know about seeds. Many illustrations accompany a well-written text. Links to a basic Glossary of plant science and botanical terms.
Return to Top

Organizations and Societies

  • American Fern Society
  • American Horticulture Society
  • The American Phytopathological Society
  • American Society for Microbiology Medical Mycology
  • American Society for Photobiology
  • The American Society of Plant Physiologists Professional society promoting the development of plant physiology, encourage and publish research in plant physiology, and to promote the interests and growth of pl ant science in general. This site includes an outstanding inventory of Internet resources in the plant sciences.
  • The American Society of Plant Taxonomists
  • Botanical Society of America
  • Botany Related WWW Sites
  • British Mycological Society
  • International Society for Human and Animal Mycology (ISHAM)
  • Mycology Society of America
  • National Association of Biology Teachers
  • Society for Economic Botany
  • Society for Experimental Biology (Plant Biology Section)
  • Weed Science Society of America

 

Return to Top

Botanical Gardens and Arboreta

Botanical gardens and arboretums provide extensive access to information and other resources for research and the study of plants. Other sources of worldwide arboretuems, botanical gardens, and conservatories include Gardening @ Closerange and Botanical Gardens Around the World .

Listed here are botanical gardens and related resources in the U.S.:

  • Alaska Botanical Garden
  • American Association of Botanical Gardens and Arbortea
  • Arboretum at Arizona State University
  • Arboretum at Flagstaff
  • Arboretum at James Madison University
  • Arnold Arboretum at Harvard University
  • Stephen F. Austin Arboretum at Austin University
  • Awbury Arboretum
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden
  • Bartram Gardens
  • W. J. Beal Botanical Garden at Michigan State University
  • Bellevue Botanical Garden
  • Bellingworth Garden
  • The Berry Botanic Garden
  • Blithewold Mansion, Gardens, and Arboretum
  • Boerner Botanical Gardens
  • The Botanic Garden at Smith College
  • Botanica -- The Wichita Gardens
  • Botanical Research Institute of Texas
  • Boxwoods Garden
  • Boyce Thompson Southwestern Arboretum
  • Brooklyn Botanical Garden
  • Buffalo and Erie County Botanical Gardens
  • Luther Burbank Home and Gardens
  • Callaway Gardens
  • Cedar Valley Arboretum & Botanic Gardens at Hawkeye Community College
  • Cheyenne Botanic Gardens
  • Chicago Botanic Garden
  • Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Garde
  • Cleveland Botanical Garden
  • Clinton Community Garden
  • Coker Arboretum
  • Connecticut Botanical Society
  • The Conservatory in Golden Gate Park
  • Dawes Arboretum
  • Des Moines Botanical Center
  • Descano Gardens
  • Dixon Gallery and Gardens
  • Dow Gardens
  • Dubuque Arboretum & Botanical Gardens at Marshall Park
  • Dyck Arboretum of the Plains at Heston College
  • Fairchld Tropical Garden
  • Fellows Riverside Garden
  • Betty Ford Alpine Garden
  • The Georgeson Botanical Garden
  • Georgia State Botanical Garden at the University of Georgia
  • Amy B.H. Greenwell Ethnobotanical Garden
  • Harvard University Herbaria
  • Holden Arboretum
  • Huntington Botanical Gardens
  • Krohn Conservatory
  • Harry P. Leu Botanical Gardens
  • Longwood Gardens
  • Lovett Pinetum Charitable Foundation
  • Luther Burbank Home & Gardens
  • Lyon Arboretum
  • Maclay State Gardens
  • Magnolia Plantation and Its Gardens
  • Mast Arboretum
  • Matthaei Botanical Gardens at the University of Michigan
  • Meerkerk Rhododendron Gardens
  • Frederik Meijer Gardens
  • Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
  • Missouri Botanical Garden
  • Mitchell Park Domes
  • Moody Gardens
  • Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania
  • Morton Arboretum
  • Mount Pisgah Arboretum
  • Mounts Botanical Garden
  • Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania
  • Morton Arboretum
  • Mount Pisgah Arboretum
  • Mounts Botanical Garden
  • Myriad Botanical Gardens
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden
  • The New York Botanical Garden
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens and School of Horticulture
  • Nichols Arboretum at the University of Michigan
  • North American Conservatories
  • North Carolina Arboretum
  • North Carolina Botanical Garden
  • North Carolina State University Arboretum
  • Portland Japanese Garden
  • Rancho Santa Anna Botanic Garden
  • Red Butte Garden
  • Rio Grande Botanic Garden
  • Riverbanks Zoological Park and Botanical Garden
  • San Antonio Botanical Garden
  • Schedel Foundation Arboretum & Gardens
  • The Marie Selby Botanical Gardens
  • Sonnenberg Gardens
  • The South Carolina Botanical Garden
  • Daniel Stowe Botanical Garden
  • Strybing Arboretum & Botanical Gardens at Golden Gate State Park
  • United States National Arboretum
  • University of California, Santa Cruz Arboretum
  • University of Delaware Botanic Gardens
  • University of Florida Herbarium
  • University of Michigan Nichols Arboretum
  • University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
  • University of Nebraska, Lincoln - Botanical Garden and Arboretum
  • University of North Carolina at Wilmington Arboretum
  • University of South Florida botanical Garden
  • University of Tennessee Arboretum
  • University of Wisconsin Arboretum
  • Waimea Arboretum and Botanical Garden
Return to Top

Botanical Art Sites

Elia T. Ben-Ari wrote an outstanding article, "Better than a thousand words: Botnical artists blend science with aesthetics," in the August 1999 issue of the journal, Bio Science (Undergraduate Library QH1 A277, Health Sciences Library) (vol. 49, no. 8, pp. 602-608, 1999). The article describes the history of botanical art and the illustration of plants by physicians, pharmacists, and researchers. In addition to a most interesting text on the history and function of art in botany, Ben-Ari provides an extremely usefuls series of resources for botanical illustration online. The following is a listing of the Internet/WWW site provided

American Society of Botanical Artists
http://huntbot.andrew.cmu.edu/ASBA/ASBotArtists.html
The American Society of Botanical Artists, Inc. (ASBA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting public awareness of botanical art and to encouraging the development of this continuing artistic tradition.

Council on Botanical and Horticultural Libraries, Inc. (CBHL)
http://huntbot.andrew.cmu.edu/CBHL/CBHL.html
The Council on Botanical and Horticultural Libraries, Inc. (CBHL) is an international organization of individuals, organizations and institutions concerned with the development, maintenance and use of libraries of botanical and horticultural literature.

The Flora of North America (FNA)
http://hua.huh.harvard.edu/FNA/
A 30-volume printed resource (several volumes appear online) of more than 21,000 species of plants in North America (Canada, Mexico, and the United States). You can search by location, elevation, species of common names. Yevonn Wilson-Ramsey, illustration coordinator.

Guild of Natural Science Illustrators
http://pw2.netcom.com/~roses/gnsi/
A nonprofit organization helping members connect with each other, promoting developments in the profession, setting high professional standards, and promoting itself to potential clients and the general public. GNSI was founded at the Smithsonian Institution in 1968 and has grown to eleven chapters and over 1100 members worldwide.

Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation
http://huntbot.andrew.cmu.edu/
The Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation is a research division of the Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) and maintains one of the wolrd's largest collections of botanical art, illustrations, and literature. Site images and text reveal the artistic nature of plants, flowers, and other botanicals.

Smithsonian Catalog of Botanical Illustrations
http://www.nmnh.si.edu/botart/
A database of more than 3,000 botanical illustrations with more than 500 images in three families (Bromeliaceae, Cactaceae, and Melastomatacaea) completed. Alice Tangerini, staff illustrator and Ellen Farr and Laurence Dorr, Web development staff.

Return to Top
divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility