BIO 200 Evolutionary Biology
The headings for the inventory of Internet resources correspond to the lecture and laboratory titles for Biology 200, Evolutionary Biology taught in the Biological Sciences Department at the State University of New York University at Buffalo. These sites have been selected to provide an inventory of sites useful for the study of evolution and evolutionary biology. They are good places to stimulate your interests in the field and to sustain your interests in the study of evolutionary biology and related disciplines.
Origins of Life
- The Astobiology Web The NASA-funded online guide to Interenet resources on and about the Living Universe.
- Astrobiology and the Origins of Life Presented at BioForum, a series of lectures, presented by California Academy of Sciences.
- Change: Great Transformations Life origins from major periods of geological time. This is from the PBS Education series.
- Cosmic Ancestry A site devoted to the theory that life on earth originated from bacterial spores from space.
- Exobiology NASA's premier site for the study on the origins of life. Provides links to many other related Internet resources.See also the resources posted on the NASA-sponsored NOSCORT/Exobiology Program site.
- Exobiology Exobiology is looking for life in extreme places on and not on the Earth.
- Geologic Time A nice gateway site with many topics related to gologic times.
- How Did It All Begin? The Self-Assembly of Organic Molecules and the Origin of Cellular Life An essay on origins.
- NASA Astrobiology Institute Astrobiology is a rather interesting extension of life origins on Earth. Astrobiologists are looking for life in places other than the Earth.
- Origins The National Aeronautics and Space Administration supports a multidisciplinary program on the origins of the universe to the origins of life on Earth. This site is the gateway to understanding our origins.
- Origins of Life in Our Solar System with links to BioAstronomy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- Protocell and Evolutionary Cell Computing Project Personal Web page by NASA team outlining the goal of this project to identify and understand the fundamental dynamical processes relevant to the origin of life and its subsequent evolution.
- The Really Big Bang BioForum is a series of lectures, presented by California Academy of Sciences.
- Structure and Evolution of the Universe This NASA research site provides links to various projects within NASA and other related Internet and Web resources.
- Tracking the Course of Evolution: The Early Solar System Life origins before life -- well before life began.
Selection: Competition and Mutualism
- Fun with Lichens! Discover the online world of lichens, a successful alliance between a fungus and an alga - two differenten organisms living as one body, thriving as a result of natural cooperation.
- Mutualism Symbiotic relationships explained with an animal-plant example.
Chordates
- Chordata The Google gateway with some resources of importance.
- Introduction to the Chordata From sea otters to sea squirts this site describes the animal phylum with which everyone is most intimately familiar, since it includes humans and other vertebrates. Provides links to Fossil Record of chordates, Life History of chordates, chordate Systematics , and Morphology of chordates. However, not all chordates are vertebrates. Discover why and how!
Echinoderms
- The CAS Echinoderm Web Page Produced by the California Academy of Sciences, this site provides an introduction to echinoderms and links to other Internet and WWW resources.
- Echinoderm Links General gateway site.
- Echinodermata: Morphology Another gateway site from UCMP at UC Berkeley.
- Echinoderms An introduction to the phylum and its representive classes. Links to examples of classes are provided.
Macroevolution
- Macroevolution - Quotes Quotes about macroevolution taken from the literature on evolutionary biology.
- Macroevolution A discussion from the Talk Origins Web site, presented as a Frequently Asked Questions .
- Macroevolution Title page to a virtual presentation on macroevolution. Click on "What is Macroevolution" to advance.
- Patterns in Macroevolution A continuation of Macroevolution from the UC Berkeley Education Class site.
Monera
- Taxonomy Gram staining to identify bacteria.
Plantae: Adaptations
- Adaptations from the Scrub Community Water conservation adaptations in plants in the chaparral community.
- Desert Plant Survival A general article describing the mechanisms plants have evolved to adapt to the harsh and extreme environments of the desert Southwest U.S.
- Introduction to Plantae This site serves as a gateway for information about the life history and ecology, systematics, morphology, and fossil record of plants. Produced by the Museum of Paleontology at the University of California at Berkeley.
- Life in Extreme Environments Internet links about life (plant and animal) in Earth's most extreme environments.
- Photoreceptors A site describing how light affects plant growth and development.
- Plant Google's plants gateway. Be sure to look at Google's other closely related gateways for Plantae and Botany .
- Plant Adaptations Full-text essay and illustrations (microphotographs) on plants' methods of reducing transpiration rate.
- Plant Biomes Text and illustrations on how plants survive in various environments. Other biomes with plant adaptation discussions and illustrations link to Biology of Plants site.
- Plant Hardiness Zone Map Gardeners know when its planting time. The U. S. Department of Agriculture's Plant Hardiness Zone Map provides a recommended range in which a plant will grow well. The map identifies eleven zones according to climate: the colder the winter temperature, the lower the zone number.
- Plants in Motion This site provides a series of time lapse videos of plants in motion (requires QuickTime software installation). Read the introductory information and scroll down to " GO TO THE MOVIES ." Video clips include: Arabidopsis, germination, elongation, photropism, gravitropism, nutation movement (natural bending and twisting), root growth, and rosette growth. Still photographs are also provided.
- Plants in the winter Mechanisms that allow plants to survive harsh winter weather and climates. Includes link to a self-test.
- Review and Atlas of Apaleovegetation A preliminary set of land ecosystem maps of the world since the last glacial maximum. "A set of preliminary, broad-scale ecosystem map reconstructions is presented for the world at the Last Glacial Maximum (18,000 years ago) and the early Holocene (8,000 years ago), the mid Holocene (5,000 years ago) and for comparison 'present-potential' maps that may be regarded as approximating the late Holocene vegetation distribution as it would - or might - have been without agricultural modification. The maps were produced through consultation with an extensive network of experts and a range of literature and map sources, with the final decision in each case made by the editor. Accompanying each regional map is a general background text detailing the principal sources of evidence and the major uncertainties within this."
- The Seedy Side of Plants From this site you will " ..learn the clever ways plants use to get around, even though they are literally rooted to the spot. Discover the unique methods seeds use to travel in their quest for survival, and how they adapt to unlikely environments. Learn how controversial genetic engineering is being used to alter the natural seed production of plants." Richly illustrated and highly linked.
- WWW Virtual Library: Botany This is a major gateway for botany and plant science.
Plantae -- Kinds of Plants
- An Introduction to the Plantae: The Green Kingdom Descriptive sites with links to life history and ecology , systematics , morphology , and fossil records of plants. An alternative link to this site (appearance is SLIGHTLY different).
- A Survey of the Plant Kingdom This Study presents examples of the diversity of the major plant groups and is designed in a way that the user can browse all or specific plant descriptions. It is intended as a resource for students at all levels, grades 9 through college, as well as amateurs who appreciate plants as gifts of nature.
Protista
- Protist Image Data This site provides links to pictures and images on representative genra of algae and protozoa, resources in protistology: online database , an inventory of online resources of "the best of the Web" on protists, including image files, texts, culture collection, nomenclature, societies, journals, experts; and a descriptive file about the Protist Data Image site.
- Protistan Phyla In-depth descriptive Web resources on the phyla comprising the protists. Serves as a gateway for information about the life history and ecology, systematics, morphology, and fossil record of the protists. Produced by the Museum of Paleontology at the University of California at Berkeley. Click on the protist of choice for detailed information.
Selection -- Predation and Parasitism
- Biological Control: A Guide to Natural Enemies in North America Using concepts of predator-prey and host-parasite relationships, "this guide provides photographs and descriptions of biological control (or biocontrol) agents of insect, disease and weed pests in North America. It is also a tutorial on the concept and practice of biological control and integrated pest management (IPM)."
- Lotka-Volterra Model Lecture notes on Predator-Prey Dynamics from an enotmology coourse at Washington State University with related sites discussing trophic levels (food chains/webs), attributes or criteria for consumer-resource (predator-prey) models, and the logistics of prey growth .
- Predator Prey Models This dynamic site is used to develop and explore the Lotka-Volterra mode l for predator-prey interactions as a prototypical first--order system of differential equations. Includes discussion of classic predator-prey interactions of the Canadian Lynx and Snowshoe Hares
- Simulation Server Theoretical Ecology Information Outlet has produced this site allowing you to interactively investigate the behavior of ecological models. Currently the server contains only a few simple Lotka-Volterra systems (standard theory for more than sixty years).
Science as a Way of Knowing (The Scientific Method as A Means of Inquiry)
"It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has the data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts. "-- Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
"It is also a good rule not to put too much confidence in experimental results until they have been confirmed by theory."-- Sir Arthur Eddington
"First get your facts; then you can distort them at your leisure ."-- Mark Twain
On Being a Scientist: Responsible Conduct in Research is a handbook for conducting scientific research. It was written by the Committee on Science, Engineering and Public Policy for the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine, and made available online in full-text format by the National Academy Press. This books reviews the methods and conduct of scientific inquiry. On Being a Scientist should be required reading for every science student.
The following Web sites (arranged alphabetically by Web site title) will help you to understand the purpose and function of the Scientific Method as a means of scientific inquiry and in the conduct of science:
- The Decline of Reason? An essay by Jerre H. Lipps (Professor of Paleontology, University of California at Berkeley) providing insights for the scientific method as a tool for conducting temporary science. The essay look at the place of the scientific method in substantiating or refuting the claims postulated by religion and superstition, pseudoscience, and science. A good place to start an investigation of the science-antiscience debate, from the perspective of paleontology or paleobiology. Perspective from this site: "'We've arranged a global civilization in which most crucial elements profoundly depend on science and technology. We have also arranged things so that almost no one understands science and technology. This is a prescription for disaster.' Carl Sagan, 1996. (Surveys have shown that 75-95% of the U.S. population is scientifically illiterate; of most developed countries, we are at the bottom)"
- Guidelines for Evaluating and Expressing the Uncertainty of NIST Measurement Results Uncertainty is a part of science. "This is a brief summary of the method of evaluating and expressing uncertainty in measurement adopted widely by U.S. industry, companies in other countries, NIST [National Institute for Standards and Technology], its sister national metrology institutes throughout the world, and many organizations worldwide."
- The Myth of the Magical "Scientific Method" Is there only one means of scientific inquiry? Are there "other" methods that work in science?
- Richard Feynman Discusses the Scientific Method 'During the Middle Ages there were all kinds of crazy ideas, such as that a piece of rhinoceros horn would increase potency. Then a method was discovered for separating the ideas - which was to try one to see if it worked, and if it didn't work, to eliminate it. This method became organized, of course, into science." This address is entitled, "Cargo Cult Science" and is an adaptation from Feynman's Caltech commencement address given in 1974 and excerpted from the book "Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!"
- The Scientific Method This site provides a detailed examination of the Scientific Method and its applications. Discussions on the conduct of science are also provided. A very good source to examine the mechanics of "how" and "why" scientific inquiry is done the way it has been and is done.
- The Scientific Method A slide show and outline.
- The Scientific Method Another detailed explanation of how scientific inquiry is undertaken. This site provides further analyses of the stages in the research process and how hypothesis are formulated. The general outline of the research article is presented as a further demonstration of the scientific method as reflected in scientific literature.
- Scientific Method Answers.com takes a look at the scientific method.
- Scientific Method Slide Show A 21-slide presentation on the basic structure of the Scientific Method.
- The Scientific Method - Elegant Experiments This Web page introduces students to application of the scientific method, providing descriptions of how several major biological discoveries ("Experiments that Inspire") issues were discovered, explained or resolved.
- Steps in the Scientific Method A schematic representation of the Scientific Method.
- Studying Cells Tutorial -- The Scientific Method The Scientific Method applied to cell biology.
Selection -- Sexual and Kin
- Kinship and Social Organization An interactive tutorial based on principles from anthropology. Site includes links to the tutorial and to a scholarly paper describing the structural design of the tutorial .
- Molecular Population Biology Lab From the Department of Ecology at Lund University (Sweden) are several sites describing some of the ongoing research in the area of sexual selection: Why is bigger better? , What is in a song? , and More Partners Give Healthier Offspring .
- Sex and Sexual Selection Lecture notes and links from an evolutionary biology course at New York University
Viruses
- All the Virology on the Web Perhaps the single most comprehensive Web site about viruses of the biological kind. Includes The Big Picture Book of Viruses , "an extensive collection of virus pictures, listed by family," and a series of Online e Tutorials on Viral Replication ( Coronavirus or Poliovirus ).
- Avian Influenza Avian Influenza - aka "Bird Flu," one of the scariest worst case scenarios since the Plague - the Black Death eradicated 25-30% of the population of Europe in the Middle Ages.
- The Big Picture Book of Viruses An interesting reference-like resource on viruses.
- Herpesvirus Herpesviridae are among the more important viruses for human health and include herpes simplex virus (HSV); cytomegalovirus (CMV), varicella zoster (VZV); and Epstein Barr virus (EBV). This site provides a brief overview and microscopic photographs.
- Influenza Each year nations across the globe take precautions about the annual outbreak of influenza - the Flu. Here's why and what you can do.
- Introduction to the Viruses A general gateway site to the biology of viruses.
- The 1918 Influenza Pandemic A history of a disease outbreak that killed tens of millions of people worldwide.
- Pandemic Preparedness How to prepare for (and survive) a pandemic from individual to global levels.
- PandemicFlu.gov Another "Bird Flu" gateway site from the U.S. Government.
- Questions and Anwers: Reconstruction of the 1918 Influenza Pandemic Virus More on the 1918 Influenza Pandemic.
- Rotavirus Online A multioption World Wide Web resource dedicated to presenting the latest information about rotavirus disease and vaccine development.
- Top 5 Killer Viruses A review of the top 5 "killer viruses."
- Viral Gastroenteritis You most likely have encountered this, so you can say "been there, did that, and didn't like it." Here's why.
- Viral Hemorrhagic Fevers Some of the most deadly viruses known.
- Viruses A problem set and tutorial from the University of Arizona's Biology Project, "Cell Biology -- Prokaryotes, Eukaryotes, & Viruses Tutorial."
- Viruses Google's gateway for viruses. Be sure to take a look at Google's gateway for Virology .
DNA Fingerprinting
- DNA Applications for Forensics and Field Research DNA fingerprinting from a fieldbiology perspective-CSI Gone Wild!
- DNA Fingerprinting Continuing NBII's DNA Fingerprinting site(s). Link to resources in LEFT frame!
- DNA Forensics Problem Set A series of projects, all fully illustrated and accompanied by a tutorial, related to the applications of DNA fingerprinting. Produced as the Human Biology component of The Biology Project and the University of Arizona. From this site scroll to the bottom of the page and begin the DNA Forensic problems (there are a total of six [6] problems).
- Island Biogeography and Evolution: Solving a Phylogenetic Puzzle Using Molecular Genetics DNA Fingerprinting: a puzzle from the Canary Islands.
Embryology
A special SEL Biology Site, Embryology and Developmental Biology has been created for a brief listing of Web based resources.
- Developmental Biology Google's gateway.
- WWW Virtual Library - Developmental Biology This is a major academic gateway site for developmental biology.
Species Formation
- Causes of Speciation A discussion series (see left frame for closely related topics).
- Defining a Species Further discussions about the concept of species.
- The Species Concept Selected definitions from classic works of biological thought from the 1800s to today.
- Observed Instances of Speciation A series of frequently asked questions (FAQs) related to speciation. Provided from Talk Origins.
- Phylogenetic Species Concept Lecture notes from prof. Luis A. Ruedas (Department of Biology, University of New Mexico).
- Speciation A related discussion set on species. Be sure to click on "Defining A Species" on bottom right.
Animalia: Cambrian Explosion
- Cambrian Period A description and timeline of evidence from the Cambrian. Includes links to Stratigraphy , Ancient Life , Localities and Tectonics , demonstrating the merging of biology and geology in the study of the origins of animal life.
- Kingdom Animalia Taxonomic descriptions with selected heirarchies described.
- Metazoans -- An Introduction A gateway site to the evolution of animals. Links to descriptive sites on the Fossil Record , Life History and Ecology , Systematics , and Morphology
Arthropods
- Arthropoda This is a Google gateway site with more than 250 Arthropods links.
- Arthropoda Present Arthropoda from a phylogenetic perspective with links to a nice photography collection .
- Introduction to the Arthropoda Another gateway site from the University of California (Berkeley) Museum of Paleontology. An outstanding gateway source.
- Minibeast World of Insects and Spiders This site is a glossary of arthropod terms and concepts.
- Phylum Arthropoda An introduction to Arthropods
Seed Plants
See also sites listed in the Biology - Botany, Forestry, and Plant Science Website
- Comparison of Water vs. Land Life in Plants Tabular listings of taxonomic, physiologic, and other factors related to the evolution of plants.
- Fossil Record of Plantae A chart showing the fossil occurances of major groups of plants. The site also includes links to other paleobotany sites, and an inventory of the UCMP Paleobotany collection at the University of California at Berkeley. Links to an Introduction to the Spermatophytes: The seed plants and Introduction to the Plantae
- Internet Directory for Botany - Alphabetical List This site is one means to access the Internet Directory for Botany.
- Internet Directory for Botany - Subject Category List
An explanation of the evolution of seed plants, including a glossary of terms. This is part of a more comprehensive site on the evolution of Vascular Plants.
Adaptation
- Adaptation and the Modular Design of Organisms In this paper by Gunter P. Wagner (Center for Computational Ecology at Yale University) the implications of the theory of evolutionary computation for evolutionary biology are explored.
- Adaptation and Natural Selection This is from an education site on Evolution, prepared by the Public Broadcast System (PBS) in conjunction with their programs on the topic.
- Adaptation - Natural Selection Genereal discussion on natural selection.
- Examples of Adaptation Lecture Notes and Exercises from the lecture, "Adaptation: Some examples demonstrating imperfection (and thus historicity)," including the mammalian male urogenital system and the vertebrate eye.
Plantae -- Flowering Plants and Pollinators
- Flowering plants -- a comprehensive gateway to flowering plants.
- Flowering Plant Gateway Classification of flowering plants follows known evolutionary lines or morphology suggesting possible relationships. This site provides paths for the exploration or comparison of three major systems of flowering plant classification: Cronquist, Takhtajan, Thorn. An additional section describes the classification elements of the APG (Angiosperm Phylogeny Group). Users can enter a family name and link to additional information on that family and related taxa. The site contains many high quality images and comprehensive and expansive amounts of information, including DNA sequence information and ethnobotany data and resources. Site is maintained by Dr. Hugh Wilson at Texas A&M University's Bioinformatics Working Group.
- Introduction to the Anthophyta -- The Flowering Plants Links to descriptive resources on the fossil record of flowering plants and the life history and systematics, systematics, and morphology of flowering plants. A second access point to this site, including links to Paleoherbs, Aristolochiales, Piperales, and Monocotyledonae (Monocots).
- Monocots versus Dicots - Introduces the two major classes of flowering plants.
- Fun Facts about Fungi General information about fungi, including some interesting things about mushrooms.
- Introduction to the Fungi (Of athlete's foot, champignons, and beer. . . ) Serves as a gateway for information about the life history and ecology, systematics, morphology, and fossil record of fungi. Produced by the Museum of Paleontology at the University of California at Berkeley.
- MykoWeb: Mushrooms, Fungi, Mycology This site was developed to serve as an introduction to the science of mycology (the study of fungi). It is produced and maintained by Michael Wood a past president of the Mycology Society of San Francisco.
- Tom Volk's Fungi This is an expansive site for information and Internet resources on and about fungi. Tom Volk is an Associate Professor in the Department of Biology at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (he teaches several courses on mycology). His Kingdom of Fungi site is a detailed overview of this phylum. One of many files Dr. Volk has constructed is an impressive site of more than 1,000 JPEG images of fungi (scroll down his home page to the message about this gopher gallery of images and click to the images).
- Fungi Online -- a brief but useful guide to fungi.
Mollusks
Special Note:This section on mollusks includes a special section on Zebra Mussels, a non-indigenous species introduced into the Great Lakes and now spreading through out other freshwater ecosystems in North America.
- Glossary of Molluscan Terminology A listing of terms and concepts related to mollusks.
- Mollusca This is Google's gateway for molluscs and is derived from the Google Animalia site (see Animal Kingdom).
- The Mollusca Another major gateway site from the University of California Museum of Paleontology with links to Bivalves, Cephalopods, Scaphopods, and links to other molluscan collection catalogs.
- Great Websites for Mollusc Information A major gateway site for resources on molluscs.
- Online Sources for Malacologists A brief gateway site for those studying molluscs.
Zebra Mussels -- Of Local Importance and Interest
- Zebra Mussel (Dreissena polymorpha) This site, produced by the Sea Grant Non-indigenous Species site, provides links to more than 1,000 abstracts of an interactive bibliography of research reports and papers related to biological and ecological aspects of the zebra mussel.
- The Zebra Mussel Page Contributed from Wayne State University, this site provides useful links to this species.
- Zebra Mussel Query by State This site allows you to query for an up-to-date listing of zebra mussel observations by state. Zebra Mussels (Dreissena polymorpha) The Department of Natural Resources for the state of Michigan has prepared this site for zebra mussels and other non-indigenous species in the Great Lakes Region.
- Zebra Mussels in the Great Lakes This comprehensive site has been prepared by the Great Lakes Information Network and provides links to other zebra mussel sites.
- Invasive Species - Aquatic Species - Zebra Mussel (Dreissena polymorpha) -- An outstanding gateway site produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
- Sea Grant: National Aquatic Nuisance Species Clearinghouse -- A comprehensive gateway not only for zebra mussels, but also for other non-indigenous (non-native) aquatic nuisance species.
- National Atlas: Zebra Mussels -- a general overview.
- Zebra Mussels and Other Nonindigenous Species -- An outstanding resource on the background, current research, and resources about zebra mussels.
- RochesterEnvironment.com -- A link to local (Western New York) resources and news about zebra mussels.
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
- Biochemical Pathways - Metabolic Pathways A "clickable" version of the famous/infamous biochemical reactions Wall Poster. Be sure to "click" the very first top-left "box."
- Biochemistry A series of problem sets and tutorials that review the basics of chemistry from a biological perspective. From "The Biology Project" at the University of Arizona.
- Biochemistry A nice source of web-based resources.
- Biochemistry and Molecular Biology The Google gateway to Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Be sure to explore all the specific subjects in this broad category and the related categories.
- Biochemistry of a Hangover Title says it all!
- BioTech: Science Resources A multidisciplinary site for examination of biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, and cell biology. Includes evolution-related links.
- The Chemistry of Champagne Life would be so less interesting if the reaction stopped with acetaldehyde. Long live alcohol dehydrogenase!
- Molecular Biology A series of tutorials and problem sets related to nucleic acids, the molecular genetics of prokaryotes, recombinant DNA technology, and euk aryote gene expression. Site includes links to other molecualr biology Web sites. Provided by the University of Arizona's Biology Project.
- Pathways Pick a pathway and "click" for details.
- The WWW Virtual Library: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology A comprehensive inventory of Internet resources provided from the Bioscience program at Harvard University's Biological Laboratories.
- The World Wide Web Virtual Library: Biotechnology Information Directory Section This is a major academic-oriented gateway site for biotechnology. It contains hundreds of web-based resources, many of which are related to biochemistry.
- Yeast Biochemical Pathways For the more inquisitive biology student, this page offers tools for visualizing biochemical pathways of Saccharomyces cerevisiae at SGD.
Natural Selection & Genetic Drift
- Evolution and Natural Selection A general review of evolution and natural selection.
- Evolution Library While this gateway site is more general for the process of evolution, these are usefull links to resources on natural selection and genetic drift, including a nice analysis of genetic drift among the Amish culture of Eastern Pennsylvania.
- Genetic Drift Genetic drift explained in a single slide.
- Genetic Drift Simulation Visualizing a concept can often improve its understanding. Hit the "BEGIN ACTIVITY" bar to start.
- Natural Selection A general overview of natural selection.
- Natural Selection Natural selection in the process of change. Genetic drift is one of the means promoting change.
- Natural Selection: How Evolution Works A detailed interview discussion about the process and mechanism of natural selection.
- Random Genetic Drift A discussion provided from the Talk Origins site.
- A Reduction of "Species" Resolves the Species Pr oblem This is the full-text version of a scholarly article written by Jody Hey (Biological Sciences Department at Rutgers University's Nelson Laboratories). The paper discusses at length concepts of genetic drift and natural selection as major driving forces of evolution.
Mutations
- Human Gene Mutation Data Base "The Human Gene Mutation Database (HGMD), maintained at the Institute of Medical Genetics in Cardiff, represents a comprehensive core collection of data on germline mutations underlying human inherited disease. Thus, HGMD comprises published single base-pair substitutions in coding, regulatory and splicing-relevant regions of human nuclear genes as well as deletions, duplications, insertions, repeat expansions and `indels', plus a number of complex rearrangements not covered by the above categories. Somatic gene mutations and mitochondrial genome mutations are not included." "The Human Gene Mutation Database" Nucleic Acids Research (26:285-287, 1998)
- Human Genome Project Information Resources for the Human Genome Project, including links to mutations and genetic disorders.
- Mutation A gateway from Answers.com on a variety of mutations and types of mutations. Be sure to check "Related Topics" for more information.
- Mutation A nice illustration of three types of mutation.
- Nomenclature for the description of sequence variations A scholarly discussion about the nomenclature and designation of a terminology for many different types of genetic sequence variations.
- OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man This is a major frequently updated compilation of all genetic diseases and disorders. It is prepared for the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Ask your biological sciences librarian for help in finding related sequence data, chromosome maps, etc. for a specific disease or disorder.
- Skin Disease Mutation Data Base This is a major technical database for the clinical and laboratory confirmation of skin mutations. NOT for the casual user.
Animalia: Primates
- frican Primates at Home Major gateway for African primates.
- Gigantopithecus Origins of giant apes. A sculpture of this ape is found on the campus of Hartwick College in Oneonta, NY.
- Lemur Center Nice site for lesser known primates.
- Primate Info Net This gateway is filled with many useful sites describing various aspects of primates.
- Primates A museum site providing descriptive sites on primates, and provides many good links.
- Primates - Apes, Monkeys and You Another outstanding site from the University of California Museum of Paleontology at the UC at Berkeley. Be sure to examine links to other segments of the "primates" site at the bottom of page.
Population Genetics
- The Hardy-Weinberg Equilibrium is a fundamental mathematical relationship in the Biological Sciences. Here is an introduction.
- PopGen Home Page This is a software application to simulate population genetics.
- Molecular Population Genetics Laboratory An inventory of resources, including links to evolution and genetics related sites.
- Population and Evolutionary Genetics Another Hardy-Weinberg explanation with more of an emphasis on populations.
- Population Genetics An introduction with several links about population genetics.
- Population Size and Genetic Drift Population Biology and Genetic Drift interlink. This is a brief introduction to this relationship.
- Random Genetic Drift Another discussion about genetic drift.
Prokaryote Evolution
- Introduction to the Bacteria This is another major gateway site from the University of California Museum of Paleontology with many useful links, including a link to a rather unique type of prokaryotic bacteria, the Archaea , or extremophile bacteria living at the very fringes of physiological extremes.
- Prokaryotes A problem set and tutorial from the University of Arizona's Biology Project, "Cell Biology -- Prokaryotes, Eukaryotes, & Viruses Tutorial."
Eukaryote Evolution
- Creatures from the Black Lagoon: Lessons in the Diversity and Evolution of Eukaryotes A great piece about the history of Eukaryotes.
- Eukaryotes A problem set and tutorial from the University of Arizona's Biology Project, "Cell Biology -- Prokaryotes, Eukaryotes, & Viruses Tutorial."
- Eukaryotic Google's brief gateway.
- Introduction to the Bacteria Gateway to the Biology of Bacteria from UCMP at Berkeley
- Introduction to the Eukaryota Again, a major gateway from UCMP at Berkeley.
Cells and Cellular Biology
- Basic Genetics and Cell Biology A nice education about cells and genetics from the National Biological Information Infra-structure.
- Cell Biology A series of problem sets and tutorials that introduce the student to the cell as the fundamental unit of life
- Cell Biology A major gateway from the Internet Public Library.
- Cell & Molecular Biology Online This site serves as a general resource for the biology student and many levels. There are many links for those interested in furtherin g their understanding of cell and molecular biology.
- Dictionary of Cell Biology "The Dictionary of Cell Biology was first published in 1989, and has since been translated into several languages. It is intended to provide quick access to easily-understood and cross-referenced definitions of terms frequently encountered in reading the modern biology literature. This server contains the text of the Second edition, published in April 1995, together with enhancements, hypertext links. a new graphical interface provides a pictorial means to examine the contents of cells and their functions.
- Mitosis and Cells A general overview of a "slide show," including nice animations (be sure to click to next slide!!)
Classification, Phylogenetics, Systematics
- Cladograms of Groups of Living Organisms Three classification schemes are presented for green plants, land plants, and animals.
- Evolution and Systematics A useful paper on the systematics in the context of evolution.
- Green Plant Phylogeny A resource coordination group to help expand our understanding of plant diversity.
- Implications of Cladistics-Understanding Branching Diagrams Nice discussion about organizing information related to phylogenetic relationships.
- An Introduction to Cladistics This module provides a brief introduction to the philosophy, methodology, and implications of cladistic analysis.
- Introductory Glossary of Cladistic Terms Great resource for the nomenclature of cladistics and systematics.
- PHYLIP PHYLIP (the PHYLogeny Inference Package) is a package of programs for inferring phylogenies (evolutionary trees).
- Phylogenetic Analysis Computer Programs This is a new site, under construction. So come back and visit it periodically. It "is a list of some programs we know of that perform some sort of phylogenetic analysis, or which we think might be useful to phylogeneticists."
- Phylogenetic Resources A major, comprehensive site for phylogenetics: "Phylogenetics is that field of biology which deals with identifying and understanding the relationships between the many different kinds of life on earth. This includes methods for collecting and analyzing data, as well as interpretations of those results as new biological information. We have provided the following list of sites useful for scientists in this field, since there is no such list currently on major directories."
- Phylogenetics Phylogenetics in four websites and an extensive bibliography.
- The Phylogeny of Life The ancestor/descendant relationships which connect all organisms that have ever lived. "The context of evolutionary biology is phylogeny, the relationships between groups of organisms as expressed as ancestor/descendant relationships." The producers of this site express these relationships in diagrams cal led cladograms, which are like genealogies of species.
- Taxonomy A Google gateway.
- What is Cladistics This site starts to answer the question.
Charles Darwin
- Cyber-Darwin: Books by Charles Darwin in Electronic Format
- Descent of Man
- The Expression of the Emotions in Man and Animals Excerpts from this complete text.
- The Origin of Species A second electronic version is also available here .
- The Voyage of the Beagle A second electronic version is also available here .
- Alfred Russel Wallace: A Capsule Biography A discussion about Darwin is not complete without an exploration of Alfred Russel Wallace.
- Charles Darwin Research Center The Darwin Station is part of the Charles Darwin Foundation for the Galapagos Islands, an international non-profit organization dedicated to scientific research in the Galapagos Islands since 1959.
- Darwin: Darwin's Dangerous Idea Darwin links from the PBS program, Evolution .
- Galapagos: Beyond Darwin The Galapagos Islands lie isolated off the coast of Ecuador and were visited by Charles Darwin in 1835. What he saw inspired his boldest theories of evolution. This PBS program originally aired in the spring of 1997 and examines the marine and terrestrial life of the islands today. While intended primarily for high school students, the resources and additional links from this page are well suited for use in the undergraduate university and college classroom.
- Galapagos: A Brief History The history evolutionary laboratory of the Galapagos Islands is told, including the role of Darwin and Evolution .
The Fossil Record
- Early Dinosaur Discoveries in North America Comprehensive site on paleobiology and history of exploration of dinosaur fossils in the U.S.
- Fossil Scroll down and explore this gateway site on fossils. Look also at Answer.com's Fossilization site.
- Fossil Hominids An inventory of resources discussing the validity of the fossil record of Hominids.
- Fossilization and Adaptation: Activities in Paleontology Nice discussion about the contribution of the fossil record in the study of biology.
- Frequently Asked Questions Paleontology's mysteries solved! Good source for learning more about the "past biology" and the "new biology."
- Learning from the Fossil Record A list of interesting things learned from fossils.
- Paleontology A large Google gateway site with many other subheadings to explore.
- Paleontology Portal A gateway site for paleontology, the science of fossils.
- Web Geological Time Machine Take the Web Lift for Geologic Time and visit the Mesozoic Era or the Cenozoic Era or the era of your choice. Time travel has never been so easy!
- Yahoo: Paleontology Internet sites identified from the Earth science viewpoint.
Biodiversity and Endangered Species
- Biodiversity A UB Libraries Library Guide. Endangered Species Like the disciplines of ecology, biodiversity, and animal behavior, endangered species is another field of study or biology concept closely linked to evolutionary biology. This site provides and overview of endangered species from the EPA-sponsored Environmental Education pages. Also see EPA Map of U.S. Endangered Species Protection Programs . Endangered Species The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) maintains a comprehensive Web site devoted to endangered species and is a good launching site for links related to the academic study and research in this area of biology .Endangered Species A good gateway site. Endangered Specie.com: the Rarest Info Around Another general gateway site. List of Endangered, Threatened and Special Concern Fish and Wildlife Species of New York State An inventory of endangered species in New York.
- The Unofficial Galapagos Islands Web Pages Provides general facts and travel information on this unique environmental ecosystem.
Genetics
- DNA Answers.com gateway to the "Chemical of Life," DNA.
- Genetics Google's genetic gateway.
- Genetics and Genomics A gateway to human health issues related to genetics, compile by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Lots of links.
- Genetics Home Reference A general gateway site to genetics.
- Internet Public Library: Genetics A compilation of web sites covering a broad spectrum of genetics issues and topics.
- Mendel Web "Mendel Web is a teaching and learning resource built upon Gregor Mendel's famous paper of 1865, and designed to show how primary texts can be used to anchor resources that take advantage of hypertext, the connectivity of the World Wide Web, and the collaborative possibilities of the Internet, to contribute to a distributed electronic curriculum." An amazingly rich site, developed to serve as an educational resource for teachers and students interested in the origins of classical genetics, introductory data analysis, elementary plant science, and the history and literature of science. Be sure to look at the Mendel Web Collaborative Hypertext Homepage , an interactive site where you can comment on Mendel's ideas.
- Virtual Library on Genetics A major gateway site.
General Evolution & Evolutionary Biology Sites
- A. P. Biology Page Don't let the "level" of this site sway you. There are some extremely good links found on this gateway site.
- Biology and Evolutionary Theory -- FAQs Frequently asked questions (FAQs) and the answers about evolution.
- Biology Links: Evolution Another general gateway.
- Browsable Glossary A great glossary of terms with many linking to much more details and resources.
- Center for Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior The Center supports education and research on the interactions between organisms and their environment from an evolutionary (historical) perspective.
- Creationism vs. Evolution Contemporary writings on the debate -- an extensive list of electronic books and papers.
- Defense of Evolution Relates to the Evolution-Creationism debate.
- Evolution This is Google's gateway to evolution. Be sure to explore the various categories list, as well as this site.
- Evolution This is an interesting gateway site. Be sure to look at other closely related sites listed under the "Related Topics" section on the right.
- Evolution This is a major Evolutionary Biology gateway site. WGBH, the PBS affiliate in Boston, is responsible for many of the highly acclaimed science programming (and subsequent DVD/VHS releases, books, etc.). This is the companion website to the 2001 program, Evolution: The Triumph of an Idea (UB has the companion book in print in the Undergraduate Library's Book Collection, Capen ground floor [QH361.Z48 2001] and as a book on tape in the Capen Multimedia Center on the 2nd floor of Capen Libraries [QH361.Z48 2001b]. This site has MANY links to specific subtopics and links to many useful sites. You are encouraged to EXPLORE THIS SITE .
- Evolution (Biosciences) Resources inventoried at the World Wide Web Virtual Library at Harvard University.
- Evolution: Theory and History A GREAT site for exploring the biographies of scientific thought related to evolution through history.
- Evolutionary Biology Resources Another general gateway site.
- The Evolutionary Tales: Rhyme and Reason on Creation/Evolution Provides links related to the Evolution-Creationism debate.
- EvoTutor For the more interested and curious student, this site has some very interesting simulations of things related to evolutionary biology.
- Explore the Tree of Life Treat the title as a command and you'll find some nice resources.
- Five Major Misconceptions about Evolution This site provides additional resources related to the Evolution-Creationism debate.
- Institute for Creation Research This site provides resources related to the religious aspects of creationism.
- Issues in Evolution This is a site provided by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (hint: student membership due would be a nice birthday gift to receive). It deals with the controversy about the teaching of evolution in schools, colleges, and universities.
- Links of Interest to Evolutionary Biologists Links from Evolution, Biology 205, University of Rochester, will take you to a listing of links that are all somewhat related to evolutionary biology:full texts of Darwin's works, online museums, bulletin boards, research databases, libraries, research labs and more.
- Mechanisms: The Processes of Evolution General overview of evolution. Top bar is a pointer to more detailed descriptions.
- Misconceptions Decribes some of the major issues between creationism, evolution and the study of evolution.
- Secular Web A searchable site for resources related to the Evolution-Creationism debate. The word "evolution" generates nearly 800 individual resources.
- The Talk: Origins Archive -- Exploring the Creation/Evolution Controversy A multidisciplinary focus of resources including scientific, technical, cultural, religious links on the topic of evolution. resources include links in anthropology, ecology, evolution (molecular, genetic, population), history, paleontology. Sources categorized by Pro- and Con-positions for both evolution and creationism, and a category for general science resources related to the academic study of evolution. A cyberchest of treasures!
- The Museum of Paleontology An incredible site for students and faculty, providing online exhibits, educational resources, and compilations of scientific sites for the study of evolution.
- UCMP Glossary Another glossary of evolutionary biology terms and concepts.
- Understanding Evolution This is a nice overview of Evolution with links to some interesting resources.
- Understanding Evolution A rather interesting online tutorial about evolution from a teaching perspective.
- Virtual Library: Biosciences Comprehensive inventories of Internet resources related to biological topics.
- The World of Richard Dawkins An eclectic array of Internet resources on the topics of evolution, genetics, natural history, and related evolutionary biology.
- WWW Resource Supplements for College Introductory Biology This is an extremely useful gateway site for an introductory-level undergraduate biology course.
- Yahoo: Biology - Evolution An inventory of resources from the biologist's perspective.
- Yahoo: Creation/Evolution An inventory or Internet resources looking at the debate of Creationism vs. Evolution.
Ecology and Ecological Aspects
Ecology Google's gateway. Check the extensive list of related categories, including Evolutionary Ecology.
Animalia: Humans
- African American Lives A good site for tracing human origins from an African American perspective on genealogy. Biology-Human Evolution A Yahoo gateway site. Students should also consider resources in anthropology for more on the study of human evolution. Dmanisi Site Discovery of a 1.75 million year old skull in the Republic of Georgia in Eastern Europe, gives rise to new theories of human ancestors leaving Africa. The Dmanisi site is where this skull was found. The National Geographic Society has a story about this ancient find. The Evolution of Humans A descriptive Web site for human evolution. The Evolution of Man Directory A rather nice site that does not overwhelm but does stimulate. Human Google's Human gateway. There's alot of good web-based material so explore -- that's part of being a good biologist! Human Evolution An interesting lecture series with a good historical perspective. Human Prehistory: An Exhibition A virtual museum tour of human prehistory. Be sure to check the select list of Prehistory Internet Links. Humans PBS Evolution series resources on the human aspects of evolution. The Leakey Foundation Resources from the Foundation of one of the world's greatest and best known researchers of human ancestry. The Smithsonian Institution Human Origins Program Another major gateway site.
- Still Evolving, Human Genes Tell New Story A 3/7/06 New York Times article about the continuation of human evolution, as we live and breathe, perhaps better than our ancestors.
Anatomy and Embryology
- Anatomy and Physiology A major anatomy gateway. Basic Embryology A basic guide following the embryonic development of humans from fertilization through birth (38 weeks). Extremely useful graphics and pointers for examination of the embryo. Only the overview chapter is available for public viewing at this time (10-99). Darwin Evidence: Embryology A series of lecture notes and exercises to demonstrate the relationships between phylogeny and ontogeny. Darwin's Evidence -- Embryology Lecture notes and class exercise from a evolution class at New York University. Developmental Biology A series of problem sets and tutorials that review the basics of embryology and developmental biology. From "The Biology Project" at the university of Arizona. includes links to other embryology sites. Dissections A list of Internet resources compiled by SEL Biological Sciences Librarian .Functional Morphology and Evolution A brief list of morphology resources focusing on evolution .Mammalian Morphology and Evolution Laboratory An interesting in-depth discussion about evolutionary aspects of morphology in mammals. Vertebrate Flight Examines the physics, mechanisms, and evolution of flight in vertebrate organisms.
- Virtual Embryo An expansive site with many high-quality links to embryology and developmental biology. While designed more for the advanced student, the undergraduate biology major will find this site extremely useful. Begins with gametogensis. Includes a developmental biology tutorial. Species for which developmental biology is provided: amphibians, fish, sea urchins, nematodes, chick, fruit fly, mouse, and humans.
Variability & Diversity
- Introduction to Genetic Diversity A discussion series from the US National Biological Information Infrastructure in the USGS.
- Other Sources of Genetic Variation Slide set on sources of genetic variation.
Animalia: Birds
- Introduction to the Aves: the Birds The University of California at Berkeley's UC Museum of Paleontology is one of the most comprehensive sources of information related to evolutionary biology from a life science perspective. Major groups of plants and animals are represented, and have links to resources on the fossil record, like history and ecology, systematics, and morphology for each organism listed. There are typically other very good UCMP and external sources linked from these pages, such as this one for the Aves or birds. Other UCMP links include the evolution of bird flight , the vertebrate flight museum , ornithological collections .
- Birder home page Bird watching is the largest nonconsumptive outdoor sport, and contributes greatly to our understanding of birds. This Birder Home Page is a great place to look for birding information.
- Electronic Resources on Ornithology This is a great gateway site on ornithology, the scientific study of birds.
- Beautiful Birds - Masterpieces from the Hill Ornithology Collection, Cornell University Library Cornell University is one of the world's largest and most prestigious research universities for ornithology. This site provides a unique library gateway to this topic.
- Birds Birds have long been a favorite topic of the Public Broadcast System (PBS). Here is one of their entry sites to birds.
- Winged Migration One of the most widely watched documentaries ever, this DVD shows bird migration in a way never before depicted. Not only is the scientific wonder of bird migration shown, but so are the artistic and inspirational aspects of nature's cycles portrayed. This DVD is available in the UB Libraries' Capen Multimedia Center (2nd floor Capen Libraries). DVD 391: QL 698.9 W553 2003
Animalia: Dinosauria
- The Dinosauria This is the dinosaur gateway to the University of California at Berkeley's UC Museum of Paleontology, with links to other related UCMP and external resources such as Dinosaur Links , Those Diverse Diapsids: the Reptiles (except turtles) .
- Thunderlizards.com Another gateway site for information about dinosaurs.
- The Age of Dinosaurs A site showing when the dinosaurs roamed on Earth.
Animalia: Mammals
- About Marine Mammals A nice gateway to some of the more interesting mammals.
- Animal Info - Information on Endangered Mammals Information about the rare, threatened, and endangered mammals of the world. Link to individual state mammal programs is useful.
- Hall of Mammals The UCMP gateway site for mammals with links to other UCMP sites for Eutheria , Marsupials , Monotremes , Synapsida .
- Mammalogy Google's gateway for mammals. See also the Google sites for Mammalia and Mammal .
- Paleocene mammals of the world An introduction to one of the great evolutionary periods for mammalian evolution.
Acquired Characteristics
Preface : Acquired characteristics are non-hereditary changes in function, structure, or form in living organisms resulting from response to environmental conditions. Such acquired characteristics result from a wide variety of factors such as mutilation, disease, use and disuse (atrophy). The idea that such characteristics are passed from one generation to another was proposed by Jean-Baptiste Lamarck in 1809. Subsequent decades of research in genetics have rejected Lamarck"s theory. The following websites provide a general overview about acquired characteristics beginning with several online biographers about Lamarck.
Bibliographies :
- Jean-Baptiste Lamarck
- Jean-Baptiste Lamarck (1744-1829)
- Jean-Baptiste Lamarck (1744-1829)
- Zoological Philosophy Lamarck published his findings in Zoological Philosophy . This is a full-text version of that paper.
- The Modern Synthesis A discussion placing Lamarck in a perspective for more current examination.
- Was Lamarck Just a Little Bit Right? A non-technical article from the journal Science on Lamarck and his theory about acquired characteristics.
Adaptations to Land
- Cheliceramorpha: Fossil Record Some of the first land insects.
- Introduction to the Amphibia (Clicking on the icons will NOT cause warts.) Vertebrate transitions to a land environment provided for us the amphibians. Think "It's not easy being green."
- Introduction to the Dipnoi - the Lungfish One of the "missing links" between the aquatic and terrestrial animals.
- Fish with Fingers Another "missing link" species.
- Land Plants, Evolution and Diversity Plants transitioning to a land environment had their own issues.
- Vertebrate Evolution II - Amphibians and the Transition to Land Another site describing the vertebrate transition to land.
Extinction
- Extinction Questions and answers from the PBS production, Evolution , with links to appropriate UGBH education sites, and many aspects about evolution.
- Extinction: Forest Fires Among the Trees of Life This is the transcript of a lecture on extinctions from the UCMP website.
- Extinctions: Cycles of Life and Death Through Time A general gateway site on extinction.
- The K-T Extinction A UCMP lecture on extinctions, this one focusing on the Cretaceous-Tertiary (K-T) extinction. Part 1 , Part 2 , Part 3 .
- The Pleistocene The emergence of humans during the Pleistocene period may have caused various extinctions of species.
- What Killed the Dinosaurs? One of the great extinction questions! Part 1 , Part 2 , Part 3 .
Vertebrates (origins)
- Legs, Feet, and Cursorial Locomotion How mammals move from place to place.
- The Axial and Appendicular Skeleton Excluding the Skull A closer look at the vertebrate skeleton.
- The Evolution of the Vertebrates An interesting introduction to things with a backbone.
- Introduction to the Amniota Vertebrates that lay eggs.
- Introduction to the Vertebrates A major gateway site from the folks at UCMP on vertebrates.
- Locomotion and Respiration in Marine Air-Breathing Vertebrates Some special considerations for air-breathing vertebrates.
- Pikaia gracilens (a primitive chordate) The very beginnings of a vertebrate life.
- Structure of the Skeleton Another good site for examination of the vertebrate skeleton.
- Vertebrate Answer.com takes a look at the vertebrates.
- Vertebrate Collection: Holdings and Catalog Information A gateway to the UCMP Vertebrate Collection, including a searchable catalog of ALL specimens held.
- WWW Virtual Library: Whale-Watching-Web More on whales from a major gateway site.
Animal Kingdom
Many of the links to sites in this section can be used to locate more specific information about other animal groups listed here.
- Animal A Google gateway to animals. Be sure to also check the other related Google Gateway Gaggles or Animalia and Zoology . Be sure to check all subgroups for additional gateways listed on these pages.
- The Animal Kingdom (Animalia) A UCMP gateway site to The Animal Kingdom. Note links to companion UCMP sites. See also the UCMP site, Introduction to the Metazoa: Animals, Animals, Animals!
- Animalia Kingdom Reference Sites A gateway site for a comprehensive inventory of animal Web resources.
- Animal Diversity Web A more general gateway for animals.
- Animals A highly referenced gateway to many animals -- Explore!
- Extreme Science This site lists a variety of extremes, including those related to the Animal Kingdom.
- Thomson Scientific This is a very useful online instructional tutorial on animals. Note the inventory on the right column. These sites would be very useful for other topics in this library web guide.
Microscope
- Biology Lesson Plans: This site takes you to a member of virtual biology lessons (hint: explore this site), including microscope mania.
- Compound Microscope Use An overview of one of the most important items in the biologist's tool box.
- How to Use a Microscope First of several "how to use" sites for microscopes -- Be very careful -- these are expensive and sensitive instruments, so treat them kindly.
- How to Use a Microscope Another "How to...". This is important!
- How to Use a Microscope Properly! Yep -- another one.
- How to Use the Microscope One more...
- Digital Imaging in Optical Microscopy Microscopes can also be considered as instruments for art, if one looks at the beauty of the microworld, as they would a scenic landscape. Here is one gallery of images.
- Micrographia: A Light Microscopy Resource This is a major site for various creatures in aquatic environments.
- History of the Microscope Here is a great site for learning about the history of the microscope.
- Microscopes Another general microscope site for different types of instruments.
- Microscopy Google's microscopy gateway.
- Microscopy Suite A site revealing the complex nature of microscopes and their use.
- Molecular Expressions Another good gateway resource for microscopes, including a link to a nice photo gallery .
- Specimen Gallery Directory One last site: A gallery of biological and non-biological specimens.
- WWW Virtual Library: Microscopy This is a major gateway site for the microscope and how to use them.
Sex and Love
- The Biology of Promiscuity For this section, the title tells it all!
- Courtship Behaviour The story of sex and love is a story about courtship. Here is About.com's contribution. There are many concepts and terms useful for further investigation.
- Deep Ethology A good site that will hopefully get better.
- Dr. Tatiana's Sex Advice This book is in the SEL Book Collection 3rd Floor Capen: HQ25.J83 2003.
- How Females Choose Their Mates An essay about mate selection.
- The Ovary of Eve: Egg and Sperm and Preformation A book in the UGL Book Collection: Q127.E8.C67.
- Promiscuity: An Evolutionary History of Sperm Competition and Sexual Conflict A book in the Lockwood Library: QL761.B57.
- Reproduction: Mating Systems Another self-explanatory title!
- Reproduction and Sexual Selection An outline with some links and more.
- Sex, Sunflowers, and Speciation An article from the journal, Science.
- Sex and Death in the Lek An essay on courtship, behavioral ecology and sex and death.
- Sexual Selection A general gateway site on sexual selection in the living world.
- Sexual Selection About.com provides a rather broad coverage of sexual selection from the biological and social, and from invertebrate displays to contemporary dating practices.
- Sex: Why Sex? Why sex? Well, for some species (evolutionarily) life is far less interesting!
War and Hate
- Aggression About.com provides resources, commentary and periodic updates to hundreds of topics. This is a rather interesting web-gateway site to aggression. It requires some exploring.
- All Things Explained: A look into sociobiology Much about aggression (and to its most dramatic outcome in humans -- war) can be found in the study of sociobiology. So can lots of other emotions. Here is an essay explaining why.
- The Anthropology of War A bibliography for an anthropology class at Creighton University.
- The Anthropology of War and Peace This course guide from St. Olaf College (mentioned from time to time by Garrison Keillor -- it is a Lutheran thing...) provides a very interesting bibliography.
- Anthropology.net Beyond Bones and Stones: War Scroll down for discussion points to ponder.
- Behavior genetics This is another About.com gateway site on behavior genetics. There are many factors about emotions, feelings and psychology or behavior in this site (hint: explore its resources).
- Evolution of social behavior in primates: personality traits: A genetic approach to behavior in ancestral hominids From where did all of these pent up emotions come?
- Evolutionary Psychology A rather general gateway to the topic of evolutionary psychology from Google's perspective.
- John Zerzan: On the Origins of War It's a blog posting, so: BEWARE.
- Sociobiology Another essay reflecting on the importance of sociobiology.
- Sociobiology One last gateway site for you to browse!
Fungi
- Fungi A rather good Google gateway site. Be sure to look at a closely related Google gateway, Fungal .
- The WWW Virtual Library: Mycology This is a major academic oriented gateway site.
Invertebrates
- The Development of Insect Flight Why and how some insects fly.
- Echinodermata Google's echinoderm gateway, one of several invertebrate gateways from Google Animalia (click on other invertebrates in this list).
- Invertebrate Answers.com gateway to invertebrates.
- Invertebrates A major invertebrate gateway.
Skeletal Homology
- Comparative Anatomy - BIOL 3010 Skeletal homology can be explored best by sites providing a close look at comparative anatomy.
- Comparative Anatomy Web Links This is a surprisingly nice gateway site on comparative anatomy.
- Vertebrate Anatomy Links Takes a look at various anatomical features among the vertebrates.
Fun Stuff
- Darwin Awards There is only one really true and official Darwin Awards of foolhardy legends and really stupid things people have done to get themselves killed or worse, survived to live and be humiliated by their actions.
Home