return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Asian American & Asian Studies > Asian - Pacific Americans

    
Buffalo History - Research Guide

Books

Finding Books in BISON (UB Libraries Catalog)
There are four basic ways of searching for books and other materials in BISON. One can search by author, title, keyword, or subject, each of which is demonstrated below. For additional searching assistance, review the BISON Help page, or consult with a reference librarian.

Sample AUTHOR search:

a = belfer, lauren

Sample TITLE search:

t = city of light

Sample SUBJECT searches:

s = buffalo (N.Y.)--history
s = mcKinley, William, 1843-1901--assassination

Sample KEYWORD searches:

k = central terminal and buffalo
k = pan american exposition and buffalo
k = frank lloyd wright and buffalo

Sample Titles:

Frank Lloyd Wright, Six Buffalo houses.
Location/Call Number: ARCH/PLAN Book Collection NA737.W7 R36 1990

Headlines & history / The Buffalo News.
Location/Call Number: UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference Oversize PN4899 .B95 B8 1999

An historic memento of the nation's loss; the true story of the assassination of President McKinley at Buffalo .
Location/Call Number: LOCKWOOD Book Collection E711.2 B27

Return to Top


divider



Newspaper Articles

Finding Articles in the Buffalo News & Other Buffalo Newspapers:

Search the Buffalo News via Lexis/Nexis for articles published in the Buffalo News from November 1, 1992 to the present.

For articles published in the Buffalo News before November 1992, you must use the microfilm copies. Location/Call Number: CAPEN Multimedia Center: MicFilm AN256 .B84 (1881-1925, 1958-present).

For more details on accessing copies of older articles (i.e. obituary and death notices) from the Buffalo News and other Buffalo newspapers, consult a reference librarian or go to BuffaloResearch.com.

To see a comprehensive list of microfilmed newspapers from Erie County and the local libraries that have them, visit the New York State Newspaper Project's list of Erie County Newspapers on Microfilm.

Return to Top


divider



Websites

The following web sites were selected by librarians as being among the best Internet resources for information on Buffalo history. For additional web searching assistance, review the ASL Finding Web Resources guide, or consult with a reference librarian.

  • Buffalo Architecture and History
    Presents images, history, and architectural analysis of more than 200 buildings of Buffalo's historic architecture; Features a year-by-year chronology of Buffalo history, dozens of essays and illustrations, and links to similar websites
  • Buffalo Central Terminal from 1929 to the Present
    Archive of Buffalo railroad history materials.
  • Buffalo History Works
    Extensive documentation of historic sites, including Central Terminal, grain elevators, and railroads.
  • The Buffalonian
    E-texts of historical documents, articles, and history-related news and events.
  • BuffaloResearch.Com
    A portal for researching architecture, businesses, genealogy, literature, full text books, and obscure websites in Buffalo, New York.
  • Central Terminal News
    Current news about Central Terminal
  • Doing the Pan
    Devoted to the human side of the Pan-American Exposition.
  • History of Buffalo and Erie County
    A two-volume, 1,500 page book published in 1884.
  • Uncrowned Queens
    African-American Women Community Builders of Western New York.
  • University at Buffalo Archives
    Features detailed UB histories and thematic collections.
  • University at Buffalo Libraries "Illuminations"
    Revisits the Buffalo Pan-American Exposition of 1901.
  • Buffalo, New York in Maps, Charts, and Images
    Buffalo maps in the UB Libraries, links to online maps, links to local and regional websites with maps. Also tips on finding maps in BISON.
Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility