return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




Edward Herman,
Modified February 16, 2009
lolherma@buffalo.edu
 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Information by Subject > Taxes > 2008 Tax Quick Guide

2008 Tax Quick Guide

Looking for tax forms and hints? This brief guide provides selected links to federal and state forms, and tips offered by tax professionals. Consult Taxes at http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/taxes.html for more detail.

Disclaimer: Library staff lack training as tax professionals and cannot answer tax-related questions. Use the links on this Web site and the tax materials available in the library or online at your own risk. Consult a qualified professional or the tax clinics cited below if you need assistance preparing tax returns.

The following documentation is usually required when completing taxes:

  • Social Security number.
  • Identification.
  • Date of birth for you, spouse and dependents.
  • Wage and earning statement(s), Forms W-2 and 1099, from all employers.
  • Interest and dividend statements from banks (Forms 1099).
  • A copy of last year's federal and state tax returns if available.
  • Bank routing numbers and account numbers for direct deposit.

Tax professionals who prepare your taxes may also require proof of identification.

Federal Forms

Forms and Publications (U.S. Internal Revenue Service)
http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/formspubs/index.html
Links to federal tax forms and background documentation. Coverage begins with 1990.

1040.com (Drake Software)
http://www.1040.com/site/FederalTaxes/tabid/75/Default.aspx
Covers filing basics, tax rates, income withholding, dependents, tax credits, deductions, refunds, payments, the IRS calendar, tax forms and publications, and prior year information.

Return to Top

 

State Forms

New York State Tax Forms (New York State. Department of Taxation and Finance)
http://www.tax.state.ny.us/forms/default.htm
The New York State Department of Taxation and Finance provides PDF versions of forms and instructions for income, sales, corporate, and gift taxes.

LSU Directory of State Tax Agencies (Louisiana State University. Libraries)
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/govdocs/taxes.html
Government documents librarians at Louisiana State University created links to federal and state tax agencies, including the District of Columbia.

1040.com (Drake Software)
http://www.1040.com/site/StateTaxes/TaxForms/tabid/105/Default.aspx
Reproduces tax forms and lists contacts in state agencies.

Return to Top

Tax Tips (See the disclaimer above)

H&R Block Tax Resources
http://www.taxcut.com/taxtips/taxresources.html

Tax Credit Reporting Service for Students (Affiliated Computer Services, Inc.)
http://www.1098-t.com/
Intended to help students determine their eligibility for the Hope Scholarship and Lifetime Learning tax credits.

Tax Information For Individuals (U.S. Internal Revenue Service)
http://www.irs.gov/individuals/index.html

TaxAct.com (Story Software, Inc.)
http://www.2ndstorysoftware.com
Download free software for completing federal tax forms, and sells software for completing state tax returns.

Taxes & Audits (Nolo Press)
http://www.nolo.com/lawcenter/index.cfm/catID/22E81CA5-AD6E-49E2-A64A90892A572DB4
Provides suggested guidelines for handling legal problems relating to income taxes, including tips on dealing with the IRS, paying overdue tax bills, avoiding audits, going to U.S. Tax Court, and more.

Tax Clinics

Beta Alpha Psi (National Honor Society for Accounting and Finance Students
Beta Alpha Psi offers free tax preparation services to the university community for those whose annual income is below $42,000 at the following times.

South Campus: 109 Allen Hall, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. in 109

  • February 7, 8, 14, 15, 21, 22, and 28
  • March 1

North Campus: 106 Jacobs Management Center, 10- a.m. - 5 p.m.

  • March 21, 22, 28, and 29
  • April 4, 5, 11 and 12.

Bring the documentation cited above.

Creating Assets, Savings & Hope (CASH) Buffalo (United Way of Buffalo in cooperation with other community organizations)
http://cashbuffalo.org
CASH attempts to improve the stability of low and moderate income families by providing access to tax information, affordable housing, and financial literacy. The Web page links to free tax clinics in Erie and Niagara Counties.

International Student and Scholar Services (University at Buffalo)
http://wings.buffalo.edu/intlservices/tax.html
Information includes videos, Power Point handouts, and sample forms that help international students fulfill their U.S. and New York State tax requirements.

Return to Top

return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility