return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




Edward Herman,
Modified February 16, 2007
lolherma@buffalo.edu
 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject> Officials & Officers of Government


Officials & Officers of Government

Governments employ experts in all fields. These experts are often the most informative contacts available. This guide provides resources for locating elected and appointed officials of the United States, Canada, New York State, and other state governments. Two additional sections deal with European Union contacts and with other foreign government officials. The sections dealing with United States Representatives Abroad and Foreign Embassies/Representatives in the U.S. are valuable to Americans who intend to travel abroad and to foreigners residing in the United States.

United States Government Officials

Carroll's Federal Directory: Executive, Legislative, Judicial (Carroll Publishing), six times per year.
Lockwood Reference JK 6 F42 (current edition only)
Covers executive, judicial, and legislative agencies and offices in three sections. References provide names, addresses, phone numbers, and titles. Additional features include an alphabetical list of individuals that give their agencies and phone numbers; and a keyword index.

FEDSTATS
http://www.fedstats.gov/agencies/index.html
FedStats is a comprehensive guide and index to statistical publications prepared by selected federal agencies. Links lead to home pages of statistical agencies and related contacts.

FirstGov

Statistics Sources (Gale Research Co.), annual.
Lockwood Reference Z 7551 .S84 (current edition)
Lockwood Book Collection Z 7551 .S84 (1980-previous edition)
Lists sources of current statistical information published by the U.S. government, international agencies, trade associations, and other private sources. The editors provide a directory to "Federal Statistical Telephone Contacts."

United States Government Manual (National Archives and Record Service. Office of the Federal Register).
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/gmanual/index.html (1995-current edition)
Lockwood Ref Desk JK 421 .A3 (current edition)
Lockwood Documents US AE 2.108/ 2: (1985-previous edition)
This official handbook of the federal government is a directory to all three branches of government. Entries describe the functions and authorities of agencies. Data include the names, addresses, and phone numbers of top administrators. Special features include lists of international organizations in which the U.S. participates; commonly used abbreviations and acronyms; and names of agencies that were eliminated or reorganized. Consult the Search Tips page at http://www.gpoaccess.gov/gmanual/tips.html for more information on the online version.

United States Government TTY Directory (U.S. General Services Administration).
http://www.fts.gsa.gov/frs/ttydir.htm
A directory of phone numbers used by the hearing impaired for computer assisted calls, available as a Word document or PDF file. Data covers federal agencies and mail telephone relay numbers for each state.

USA.gov: Contact Your Government (U.S. General Services Administration)
http://www.usa.gov/Contact.shtml
(Formerly called FirstGov)
USA.gov is an information portal that attempts to be a one-stop shopping place for retrieving federal government information. This section provides links to contact information for government officials at all levels.

Return to Top

United States Congress

Congress.org (Capitol Advantage)
http://www.congress.org/
Enter your zip code to determine the names and addresses of your Congresspersons and Senators. Links lead to selected key votes and positions on popular issues.

Congressional Directory (U.S. Congress), biennial.
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cdirectory/index.html (1995-present)
Lockwood Ref Desk/UGL-SEL Reference JK 1011 (current edition)
Lockwood Documents US Y 4.P 93/ 1: 1/ (previous editions)
A directory to the federal government that emphasizes Congress. Data about the legislative branch cover phone numbers, addresses, and biographies of Senators and Representatives; committee memberships and committee staff; and maps of Congressional districts. Additional information about other branches of government include addresses and phone numbers of legislative and executive agencies, and selected federal courts. The Congressional Directory also provides names, addresses, and phone numbers of international agencies in which the U.S. participates; and addresses and phone numbers of foreign embassies in Washington.

Congressional Staff Directory (Congressional Staff Directory, Ltd.), published three times a year.
Lockwood Reference JK 1012 .C66 (current edition)
Lockwood Book Collection JK1012 .C66 (previous editions)
A directory to Congress and its staff. Emphasis is upon Washington staffs of Representatives and Senators and their committees. Information includes phone numbers, and postal and email addresses. When searching for information about a policy issue, staff of relevant Congressional committees could be very helpful. Committee staff often distribute Congressional hearings, reports, and committee prints without charge upon request.

Members and Committees (U.S. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk).
http://clerk.house.gov/members/index.html (member information)
http://clerk.house.gov/committee/index.html (committee information)
Two links on the House of Representatives web site provide access to Congressional members and committees. Specifics cover committee assignments; committee and subcommittee telephone directories; a members telephone directory; and an alphabetical list of members by state.

United States Senate
http://www.senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm
Includes mailing addresses; phone numbers; email addresses; committees; and biographies of Senators. Use this site to access homepages of individual Senators.

Return to Top

United States Representatives Abroad

Key Officers of Foreign Service Posts (Department of State), semiannual.
http://foia.state.gov/MMS/KOH/keyoffcity.asp
A directory to American embassies, missions, and consulate offices throughout the world. Data note countries, addresses, and phone and fax numbers. The online Key Officers list replaces the print version, which is available at Lockwood Documents US S1.40/5:.

Web Sites of U.S. Embassies and Consulates (Department of State)
http://usembassy.state.gov/
Links to United States embassies and consulates in other countries, arranged by region.

Return to Top

New York State

New York State Directory (Walker's Research, LLC), annual.
Lockwood Reference JK 3430 .N52 (current edition)
Provides directory information to state agencies, federal government offices, and trade associations located in New York State. Two separate indexes access names of individuals and agencies/organizations. Selected Other features give key county and municipal officials; and Superintendents of the State's school districts.

New York State Government Directories
http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/ils/topics/directory.htm
Links connect to the New York State Government Telephone Book, a comprehensive directory to state agencies. Additional options provide access to directories of selected executive agencies, the legislature, and selected local agencies.

New York State Legislature

    Assembly
    http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/
    Provides names; districts represented; Albany addresses; local addresses; email addresses; phone numbers; and biographical data.

    Senate
    http://www.senate.state.ny.us
    A directory to New York State Senators is available from the menu on the left-hand side of the page. Search for Senators by zip codes; retrieve detailed biographical data and basic directory information.

OFT Statewide Telephone Directory (New York State Office of General Services)
https://www6.oft.state.ny.us/telecom/phones/
Lockwood Documents NY TEC 888-3 GOVDI (current edition)
Search for information by agencies; employees names; and geographic locations. Information includes phone numbers, titles, and names of individuals. Web administrators expect to offer users the ability to search by topics in the near future. Available in print as the New York State Government Directory.

Return to Top

Other States

CSG State Leadership Directory (Council of State Governments), annual.
Three directories in this series offer names of individuals and agencies; postal mailing addresses; phone and fax numbers; and email addresses.

    Directory I: State Elective Officials
    Lockwood Reference JK 2403 .B61
    Covers Governors and other top executive officials; judges; and legislators.

    Directory II: State Legislative Leadership, Committees and Staff
    Lockwood Reference JK 2403 .B63
    Arrangement is by selected legislative offices, selected committees, and selected legislative functions.

    Directory III: State Administrative Officials Classified by Function
    Lockwood Reference JK 2403 .B62
    Lists both elected and appointed officials for over 100 functions.

FirstGov

State Yellow Book (Leadership Inc.), quarterly.
UGL-SEL Reference JK 2679 .S73
Provides names of individuals and agencies; postal mailing addresses; phone and fax numbers; and email addresses for executive and legislative officials in all fifty states. Additional features include a directory of intergovernmental agencies, a subject index, and a personnel index.

USA.gov: State and Territorial Governments (U.S. General Services Administration)
http://www.usa.gov/Agencies/State_and_Territories.shtml
(Formerly known as FirstGov)
Links to the official home pages for governments of all 50 states, as well as U.S. territories.

Return to Top

Canada

Government Contacts (Government of Canada)
http://canada.gc.ca/directories/direct_e.html
Links to telephone numbers, web sites, and other information for Canadian government officials. Search the GEDS (Government Electronic Delivery Services) directory to Canadian public servants, by exact or approximate personal names; telephone numbers; and exact or approximate organization names.

Scott's Canadian Sourcebook, annual.
Lockwood Reference F1004.7 M3 (current edition)
An annual almanac that covers statistics and other facts about all aspects of Canadian life. Topics covered include economics; transportation and communications; religion; and law, among many others. Separate sections provide directory data for federal, provincial, territorial, and local governments. Data include names of individuals and agencies; addresses; phone and fax numbers; email addresses; and summaries of agencies programs and services. This title is a continuation of the Corpus Almanac & Canadian Sourcebook, the Corpus Almanac of Canada, and various other titles. Previous titles are available at Lockwood Book Collection F1004.7 M3 from 1967-previous edition.

Return to Top

European Union

IDEA: The Electronic Directory of the European Institutions (European Union)
http://europa.eu.int/idea/en/index.htm
Search the database by names of individuals, organizations, and agency keywords.

Return to Top

Other Foreign Governments

Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/chiefs/index.html
Provides names and titles of foreign government officials throughout the world. The compilers exclude postal mailing addresses, phone and fax numbers, and email addresses.

Return to Top

Foreign Embassies/Representatives in the U.S.

Diplomatic List (U.S. Department of State)
http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/dpl/
A directory to foreign embassies in the U.S. Information includes names of diplomats, addresses, and phone and fax numbers.

Foreign Consular Offices in the United States (U.S. Department of State).
http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/fco/
A directory to foreign government embassies and other offices in the U.S. The editors give names of individuals, addresses, and phone and fax numbers of offices throughout the nation.

Return to Top
divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility