return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 

Edward Herman,
Modified February 19, 2008
lolherma@buffalo.edu


 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Resources > Canadian Federal Government


Canadian Federal Government

Lockwood Memorial Library became a depository for Canadian federal documents in 1963. Printed documents are held in the Government Documents section of the library on the first floor. Click here to view a map. This guide highlights selected resources in both print and online format. The Libraries Catalog includes most titles. The call numbers correspond to catalog numbers used by the Canadian government to refer to their publications, and are preceded by "CAN" to differentiate them from other government publications. Locate Canadian documents using keyword searches. (i.e., Ottawa and education)

Note: Canadians generally use British spelling, but will sometimes adopt American spelling as well. Use both spellings to be comprehensive. If encountering difficulty locating information, consult Differences between British, Canadian and American Spelling at http://www3.telus.net/linguisticsissues/BritishCanadianAmerican.htm . See also the "Synonyms and Translated Terms" features of Search All Government of Canada Web Sites for additional help with language differences.

  • General Information
  • Catalogs and Indexes
  • Government Agencies
  • Statistical Sources
  • Other Statistics Resources
  • Census Information
  • Business and Banking
  • Law and Legal Information
  • Provinces and Cities

 

General Information

Atlas of Canada: Web Map Service (Natural Resources Canada)
http://atlas.gc.ca/site/english/dataservices/web_map_service.html
View maps about environmental, population, economic, historical, climatic, and health themes. Additional reference maps cover provinces and territories, and foreign nations.

Canada Site: canada.gc.ca (Service Canada)
http://cgii.gc.ca/index-e.html
Provides links to topics at all levels of government including agency home pages; an A to Z subject index; contact information; resources for business people; information for immigrants; and descriptions and application requirements for basic government services. Also includes links to electronic journals and Canadian library Web sites.

Canada Year Book (Statistics Canada. Communications Division)
http://142.206.72.67/r000_e.htm
Lockwood HA 744 S8 (1909+ with gaps; most recent in Reference)
Lockwood Documents CAN CS 11-402E/year (1992-1999 with gaps)
A review of the year's economic, social, and political developments in Canada in narrative and statistical format.

Canadian Federal Government Databases Accessible Through the Internet (2005) (Public Works and Government Services Canada. Publishing and Depository Service
http://publications.gc.ca/weeklychecklist/w05-03-Supp-F-E.html
Links to agency and Parliamentary databases.

Canadian Information By Subject (Library and Archives Canada)
http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/caninfo/ecaninfo.htm
Links to hundreds of topics about Canada and the Canadian government. Locate information by browsing alphabetically or by broad subject headings, or searching keywords.

Government and System of Justice (Public Works and Government Services Canada)
http://canadainternational.gc.ca/gtc/Government-system-of-justice-en.aspx
Summarizes the Canadian governing structure.

Government Resources by Subject: An A-Z Index (University Libraries. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/gov-resources.html
UB librarians selected key resources about nearly forty popular topics. Many include links to Canadian government resources.

NEWSROOM (Public Works and Government Services. Canada Publishing and Depository Services)
http://news.gc.ca/cfmx/CCP/view/en/index.cfm
Links to press releases issued by over 40 agencies. See also CBC: Canadian Broadcasting Corporation , Canada's public television and radio Web site, at http://www.cbc.ca.

Return to Top


divider



Catalogs and Indexes

Depository Services Program E-Collection (Public Works and Government Services Canada. Publishing and Depository Services)
http://dsp-psd.communication.gc.ca/Epubs/epubs-e.html
http://dsp-psd.pwgsc.gc.ca/Epubs/epubs-e.html
A database of all electronic publications available at Canadian depository libraries. Retrieve information by titles, subjects, and corporate authors.

Google [Canada]
http://www.google.ca
Most Canadian federal government Web sites include the phrases "gc" and "ca." Insert the following in your search statements: "inurl:gc.ca" For example, the following search retrieves information about the Canadian labour force published by a government agency.

labour force inurl:gc.ca

"Labor force inurl:gc.ca" will also work, but the British spelling is more common.

Government of Canada Publications (Public Works and Government Services Canada. Publishing and Depository Services)
http://publications.gc.ca (1993-)
Indexes over 100,000 free and priced Canadian government publications. Locate information through a search engine; or browse by subjects, titles, departments; recent releases, or Industry Canada materials. Links lead researchers to libraries throughout the world that maintain Canadian government publications. This site continues two printed indexes.

  • Government of Canada Publications
    Lockwood Reference Z 1373.C16 (quarterly; 1979-1992)
  • Statistics Canada Catalog
    Lockwood Documents CAN CS11-204E (1972-1997 with gaps)

Guides to Government Information (Depository Services Program)
http://dsp-psd.communication.gc.ca/Reference/guides-e.html
Links to information about the Canadian Gazette, Parliamentary information, laws and regulations, how bills become laws, guides to Canadian information by topics, and provincial printers.

Microlog Canadian Research Index (Micromedia)
Capen Multimedia Center Reference Z1365.M4 1988-1996 (Index)
Microlog indexes and reproduces on microfiche technical reports, research and policy papers, statistical materials, and annual reports produced by Canadian federal, provincial, and local governments, and Canadian universities and research institutes. The Arts and Sciences Libraries purchased materials relating to Commerce and Economics, plus all items produced by Ontario Province between 1989 and 1996.

The print index provides access to documents by subjects, corporate and individual authors, and series titles. Two codes identify materials held by UB, CO (commerce and economics) and ON (Ontario). Microfiche is in the Capen Multimedia Center at MicFiche Z1365 .M42.

The University of British Columbia Library provides online access to the indexes.

  • Canadian Research Index (formerly Microlog)
    http://toby.library.ubc.ca/resources/infopage.cfm?id=56

National Library of Canada Catalogue (AMICUS WEB) (Library and Archives Canada)
http://amicus.collectionscanada.ca/aaweb/aalogine.htm
Searches the holdings of 1,300 libraries across Canada, including the National Library.

Online Catalogue of Products and Services (Statistics Canada)
http://www.statcan.ca/English/search/ips.htm
Retrieve publications and tables prepared by Statistics Canada. Click here to view information about Statistics Canada

Search All Government of Canada Web Sites (Service Canada)
http://recherche-search.gc.ca/s_r?t3mpl1t34d=1&s5t34d=canada&l7c1l3=eng&S_08D4T.1ct57n=form&S_08D4T.s3rv5c3=basic
A comprehensive search engine that covers all Canadian federal government Web sites. Options enable users to select search facilities of specified agencies. The "Synonyms" and "Translated Terms" features include references to British and American English, and French translations.

Search Engines by Departments and Agencies (Service Canada)
http://canada.gc.ca/search-recherche/srcind-eng.html
Links to search engines supported by over 100 different Canadian agencies and offices.

Search the Electronic Collection (National Library of Canada. Electronic Publications Acquisitions Section)
http://epe.lac-bac.gc.ca/e-coll-e/search-e.htm
Retrieve information by titles, subjects, and keywords.

Return to Top


divider



Government Agencies

Departments and Agencies (Service Canada)
http://canada.gc.ca/depts/major/depind_e.html
Provides links to all Canadian federal government agencies and departments.

Sources of Federal Government Information (Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat)
http://www.infosource.gc.ca/fed/fed00_e.asp
Summarizes the operation, organization, responsibilities, and backgrounds of Canadian federal agencies. Additional data cover agency records, manuals, and personal information.

Parliament
http://www.parl.gc.ca/
Much of the information on this Web site is hidden and difficult to find. Use the Site Map and A to Z Index ( http://www.parl.gc.ca/common/AboutParl_index.asp?Language=E ) to locate information. Selected key features include:

  • Education
    http://www.parl.gc.ca/common/AboutParl_Education.asp?Language=E
    Links to educational materials about Parliament.
  • LEGISinfo
    http://www.parl.gc.ca/legisinfo/
    Provides access to bills; government press releases and background information about bills; legislative summaries; speeches in Parliament; and voting records. The FAQ feature describes how a bill becomes a law and other Parliamentary procedures; and how to locate information in the database.
  • Parliament of Canada — Democracy in Action
    http://www.parl.gc.ca/Publications/Democracy-e.asp
    Provides a brief overview of the Canadian parliamentary process.
  • Parliamentary Information and Research Service Publications
    http://www.parl.gc.ca/common/library_prb.asp?Language=E
    A division of the Library of Parliament that prepares background studies for members of Parliament on all aspects of Canadian socioeconomic, cultural, international, and scientific affairs. Hundreds of reports are online.
  • Parliamentary Process - Canada's Parliament at work
    http://www.parl.gc.ca/common/AboutParl_Process.asp?Language=E
    Describes current and historical information.
  • Related Information
    http://www.parl.gc.ca/common/AboutParl_Related.asp?Language=E
    Outlines current and historical relationships among Parliament, government departments, the courts, and political parties.

Population Affiliation Report (Public Service Human Resources Management Agency of Canada)
http://www.hrma-agrh.gc.ca/pas-srp/
Provides information on departments, agencies, Crown Corporations and other Government of Canada entities, including defunct or privatized organizations.

Return to Top


divider



Statistical Sources

Statistics Canada ( http://www.statcan.ca/start.html ) is the Canadian governments centralized agency charged with producing and disseminating statistics for the federal and provincial governments. Access the many Statistics Canada publications through the Libraries Catalog or Government of Canada Publications . See also the Online Catalogue of Products and Services .

CANSIM and E-STAT are two important Statistics Canada databases.

  • CANSIM
    http://cansim2.statcan.ca
    The most comprehensive Statistics Canada database that includes over 18 million statistical series. Information is updated daily. CANSIM operates on a cost recovery basis, making it a very expensive resource.
  • E-STAT
    http://estat.statcan.ca
    E-STAT is a modified version of CANSIM that is updated annually. UB users have free access to E-STAT. Those requiring more frequent updates can still purchase data from CANSIM for $3.00 (Canadian) per table.

Additional Statistics Canada resources include:

  • Canada Year Book

  • Canadian Social Trends
    Lockwood Documents CAN CS 11-008E
    http://dsp-psd.pwgsc.gc.ca/Collection-R/Statcan/11-008-XIE/11-008-XIE.html
    Provides overviews of current topics and statistics affecting all aspects of Canadian life. Statistics Canada provides lesson plans for teachers based upon articles in Canadian Social Trends. ( http://www.statcan.ca/English/kits/social.htm )
  • Daily
    http://www.statcan.ca/English/dai-quo/
    Statistics Canada's daily newsletter that summarizes key statistical releases. References include table numbers needed to locate data in either CANSIM or E-STAT.
  • Finding and Using Statistics
    http://www.statcan.ca/bsolc/English/bsolc?catno=11-533-X
    Describes how to locate data on the Statistics Canada Web site. Separate sections cover finding the data and using it.
  • Free Internet Publications
    http://www.statcan.ca/cgi-bin/downpub/freepub.cgi?subject=2621
    Retrieve information from a list of nearly 30 popular topics.
  • Historical Statistics of Canada
    Lockwood Reference HA 746 U7 1983
    http://www.statcan.ca/English/freepub/11-516-XIE/sectiona/toc.htm
    Contains over 1,000 statistical tables on social, economic and institutional conditions of Canada from 1867 to the mid-1970s.
  • Index of Downloadable Statistics Canada Publication
    http://dsp-psd.pwgsc.gc.ca/Collection/Statcan/index-e.html
    Locate materials using the search engine or browse broad topics. Headings deal with industries; manufacturing; transportation; commerce; employment education; and census.
  • List of Surveys and Statistical Programs by Record Number
    http://www.statcan.ca/English/sdds/
    Provides detailed descriptions of hundreds of programs.
  • Overview
    http://www41.statcan.ca/ceb_r000-eng.htm
    Brief essays summarize over 30 topics and include links to related information, including summary tables. 
  • Statistics Canada Catalog
    Lockwood Documents CAN CS 11-204E (1972-1997 with gaps)
    An index to printed documents. Use Government of Canada Publications for locating current materials.
  • Statistics Canada Library and Information Centre (BiblioCat)
    http://www.statcan.ca/English/biblionet/index.htm
    Select BiblioCat to search the Statistics Canada library catalog.
Return to Top


divider



Other Statistics Resources

FP Markets: Canadian Demographics (Financial Post)
Lockwood HC 111 F46 (1999+; most recent in Reference)
Compiles population, income, and retail sales data for cities in each province.

GD Sourcing (Government Data Sourcing)
http://www.gdsourcing.ca/substance/Default.htm
GD Sourcing is a private company that provides access to statistics produced by the Canadian federal government and non-government entities. Links at this site lead to free data sources.

Return to Top


divider



Census Information

2001 Census of Canada (Statistics Canada)
http://www12.statcan.ca/English/census01/release/index.cfm
The official site for the 2001 Canadian Census of Population. Data includes highlights and analysis; reference maps; and selected data tables. Retrieve statistics by topics and geographies. Additional links lead to the 1996 Census of Population, the 2001 Census of Agriculture, and plans for the 2006 population count.

The GeoSearch feature ( http://geodepot.statcan.ca/Diss/GeoSearch/index.cfm?lang=E ) allows users to retrieve a map and basic census data about a specified place, down to the street intersection level.

2001 Census Dictionary (Statistics Canada)
http://www12.statcan.ca/English/census01/Products/Reference/dict/index.htm
Lockwood Documents CAN CS92-378/XPE
Provides detailed information about the concepts; universes; variables; and geographic terms in the 2001 Census of Population. Definitions cite relevant questions and response categories, and special notes when appropriate. The online version includes natural-language definitions for certain entries.

2001 Census Handbook (Statistics Canada)
http://www12.statcan.ca/English/census01/Products/Reference/2001handbook/index.htm
Lockwood Documents CAN CS92-379/2001
Provides an overview of the Canadian Censuses of Population and Agriculture. Topics cover geography; detailed descriptions of questions; and privacy concerns. The Handbook also contains Census forms and instructions for completing them.

Canadian Demographics at a Glance (Statistics Canada)
http://www.statcan.ca/english/freepub/91-003-XIE/91-003-XIE2007001.htm
Includes brief narrative statements and charts.

Profile of Census Divisions and Subdivisions... (Statistics Canada)
Retrieve profiles of metropolitan areas or provinces by searching the Libraries Catalog with the phrase "census.ti. and profile.ti. And [name of metropolitan area or province]. (e.g., census.ti. And profile.ti. And Toronto retrieves references to Toronto that include the terms census and profile in titles.) The Profile Series CD-ROM presents comparable information. (Capen Multimedia Center CAN CD-ROM 744: CS95-0268/MRC)

Census Standard Products Subsets (Statistics Canada)
http://www12.statcan.ca/English/census01/Products/Reference/2001stubsets/pdf/92-400-XIE02001.pdf
Presents very detailed data about 2001 Census variables and data products.

Community Profiles
http://www12.statcan.ca/English/Profil01/PlaceSearchForm1.cfm
Presents socio-demographic information for Census Metropolitan Areas and Census subdivisions. Data include population; age; education; employment and income; industries and occupations; household characteristics; marital status; languages; mobility and immigration; aboriginal and ethnic populations; and visible minorities or races. Unlike the American system of church-state separation, the Canadian census also measures religious affiliations. Links also lead to maps, explanations of Census geography, and data for other geographies.

GeoSuite: 2001 Census (Statistics Canada)
Capen Multimedia Center CD-ROM CAN CS92-0085/2001/CD
Reproduces the 2001 Census of Population on CD-ROM. The GeoSuite 2001 Census Reference Guide is online at http://www.statcan.ca/English/freepub/92F0150GIE/92F0150GIE01000.pdf . The 1996 Census CD-ROM, GeoRef , is also available in the Capen Multimedia Center at CD-ROM CAN CS92-0085/MRC.

Historical Censuses of Canada
Locations vary
The Libraries hold Canadian census records in either print or microfilm formats from 1851 to date. Search the Libraries Catalog using the subject heading "Canada--census" to locate materials.

National Overview: Population and Dwelling Counts (Statistics Canada)
Lockwood Documents CAN CS93-360/XPB 2002
Provides population and dwelling counts from the 2001 Census for the nation; provinces and territories; census subdivisions (municipalities); census metropolitan areas; and census agglomerations (urban areas of at least 10,000 population). Tables provide percentage change in population counts between 1996 and 2001 for selected geographies. Geographic boundaries are those in effect on January 1, 2001.

Topic-Based Tabulations (formerly Nation Series ) (Statistics Canada)
http://www12.statcan.ca/English/census01/products/standard/themes/index.cfm
Offers free and priced statistical tables derived from the 2001 Census on a variety of subjects, including labor, immigration, language use, and religion.

Return to Top


divider



Business and Banking

Bank of Canada
http://www.bankofcanada.ca/en/index.html
Contains information on Canadian currency, interest rates, monetary policy, and selected economic statistics from 1990-present. The Publications and Research section ( http://www.bankofcanada.ca/en/publication/pub_res.html ) contains the last ten years of working papers and technical reports, available full-text in PDF format.

BusinessGateway.ca: Services for Canadian Businesses (Canada Business)
http://businessgateway.ca
A subject portal for Canadian business people. Topics cover starting and financing businesses; foreign trade; taxation; regulations; and business research.

Canadian Economic Observer (Statistics Canada)
http://dsp-psd.pwgsc.gc.ca/Collection-R/Statcan/11-010-XIB/11-010-XIB-e.html (February 2003+)
Lockwood Documents CAN CS 11-010 (1988+ with gaps)
Includes articles about the Canadian economy and statistical updates. See also the Canadian Economic Observer Historical Supplement .

Canadian Economic Observer Historical Supplement
http://dsp-psd.communication.gc.ca/Collection-R/Statcan/11-210-XIB/11-210-XIB-e.html
Lockwood Documents CAN CS 11-210
Cumulates statistics from the Canadian Economic Observer into historical time series.

Canadian Importers Database (Industry Canada)
http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/sc_mrkti/cid/engdoc/
Retrieve data about Canadian importers by products, cities, and countries.

Company Directories by Sector (Canada Business)
http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/epic/internet/incompany-entreprises.nsf/en/Home
Browse industry categories, company names, North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes, or specialized directories to locate company overviews.

Market Research Handbook (Statistics Canada)
http://dsp-psd.pwgsc.gc.ca/Collection-R/Statcan/63-224-XIB/63-224-XIB-e.html (2001+)
Lockwood Reference HC111 .A19 (most recent copy)
Lockwood Documents CAN CS 63-224 (1991+ with gaps)
A statistical summary of Canadian local and national markets. Topics cover population; labor and income; housing; macroeconomic and financial indicators; trade; business and industry; and selected census data.

Strategis: Canada's Business and Consumer Site (Industry Canada)
http://strategis.ic.gc.ca/engdoc/main.html
Strategis attempts to promote Canadian domestic investment and innovation in industry, as well as Canadian foreign trade. Web site topics cover company directories; foreign trade; economic analysis; business finance; legislation; employment; consumer information; starting a business; researching markets; managing people; electronic commerce and the environment.

Return to Top


divider



Law and Legal Information

Canadian legal materials are maintained in the Law Library . Selected key resources include:

Canadian Law: Internet Resources
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/law/remotesites/canadian.html
A Web guide prepared by UB law librarians that including general sites, government sites, and legal associations.

Canada Gazette (Public Works and Government Services Canada. Canada Gazette Directorate)
http://canadagazette.gc.ca/index-e.html
The official newspaper of the Canadian government published since 1841. Its 3 parts cover:

  • Part I: Notices and Proposed Regulations
    Law General Collection CAN 005 C36 (1979+ with gaps)
  • Part II: Official Regulations
    Law General Collection CAN 005 C37 (1972+ with gaps)
  • Part III: Acts of Parliament
    Law General Collection CAN 005 C38 (1974/1975+ with gaps)
Return to Top


divider



Provinces and Cities

Provinces and Territories (Service Canada)
http://canada.gc.ca/othergov-autregouv/prov-eng.html
Links Web sites sponsored by Canadian provinces.

Ottawa
http://ottawa.ca/index_en.html
The official site of Canada's capital city provides information about city government, services, and businesses.

Toronto
http://www.city.toronto.on.ca
The official site of the city of Toronto offers basic information about the municipal government and its facilities, services and finances.

Return to Top


divider






divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility