The Bureau of the Census conducts the Economic Census twice per decade for years ending with digits "2" and "7." It provides a snapshot of the American economy at a given time. Establishments, rather than companies, are the basis of the census. Establishments are places where business is conducted. One company that has three different facilities represents three establishments.
Background Information to the Economic Census
Uses of the Economic Census
The Economic Census is an important source of facts about the structure and functioning of the nation's economy. The federal government uses the data to compile ongoing economic indicators, such as the gross national product, and to develop indexes that measure industrial production and price levels. State and local governments use the data to assess business activities in their jurisdictions. Business people use the data to:
- Forecast general economic conditions and sales.
- Analyze sales performance.
- Establish sales territories.
- Allocate funds for advertising.
- Locate new plants, warehouses, and stores.
- Measure potential markets.
Additionally, trade and professional associations use the Economic Census to study and forecast trends that may affect their industries. This information is also valuable to university students, faculty, and others who must do any of the above as part of their research. See Using Economic Data for additional detail.
Selected Guides to the Economic Census
2002 Economic Census: Business Help Site (U.S. Bureau of the Census)
http://help.econ.census.gov/econhelp/index2002.html
Includes questions and answers; detailed information describing the industries covered; a glossary; a description of how the data is used; and a summary of what is asked.Economic Censuses and Related Publications (Michigan State University Libraries)
http://www.lib.msu.edu/foxre/econ.census.html
Describes the various publications that comprise the Economic Census and their history; the collection and reporting of data; and related documents.Economic Census Questions On Most Forms (US Bureau of the Census)
http://www.census.gov/epcd/ec02/ec02questions.htm
Although the Economic Census has over 600 questionnaires, each relevant to a different industry, this site describes the questions that are common to most forms.Glossary of Terms: Business Help Site (US Bureau of the Census)
http://help.econ.census.gov/BHS/glossary.htmlGuide to the 2002 Economic Census (US Bureau of the Census)
http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/guide/
One of the best single Web sites that describe all aspects of the census. Topics include uses of the data; data collection; industries and geographies covered; contents of data items; types of reports and publication mediums (i.e., Internet, DVD, and paper); and tips on working with the data. A comparable site covering the 1997 Census is at http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/guide.html .History of the Economic Census: In Business Since 1810 (US Bureau of the Census)
http://www.census.gov/epcd/ec02/history.htm
Presents a brief yet informative overview.Publications (US Bureau of the Census)
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/titles.html
Lists broad categories for locating Bureau of the Census publications. Those pertinent to the Economic Census are Business-Trade and Services; Construction and Housing; Economic Census; and Manufacturing and Mineral Industries. Consult the Publication Subjects Index at http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/pdf-az.html .Symposium on the 1997 Economic Census (JAI Press, Inc.)
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/giq97.html
LOCKWOOD Periodical Collection Per K3560 .G68
Articles reproduced from Government Information Quarterly , 15:3 (1998) cover the content of the Census; the new North American Industry Classification system; conducting the Census; information dissemination; uses of the data; and the history of the Economic Census.Writer's Toolkit on the 2002 Economic Census (US Bureau of the Census)
http://www.census.gov/epcd/ec02/toolkit.html
A guide to the Economic Census intended for use by journalists. It is a useful tool for business people and the general public as well.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
Organization of the 1997 and 2002 Economic Censuses are by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes. The United States, Canada, and Mexico adopted this scheme to categorize industries. NAICS codes begin with 2 digits that represent broad industry sectors, and expand to 6 digits that categorize specific products in an industry. Figure 1 illustrates an example.
Figure 1
NAICS Codes
NAICS Codes Description 31-33 Manufacturing industries 311 Food manufacturing 3115 Dairy product manufacturing 31151 Dairy product (except Frozen) manufacturing 311513 Cheese manufacturing Figure 2 presents a list and description of the 18 2-digit codes.
Figure 2
Industry ReportsSee Detailed Information by Industry at http://help.econ.census.gov/econhelp/resources/#businesses for additional information about each 2-digit sector. A description and online access to NAICS codes are at http://www.census.gov/epcd/naics02/ . Ask Dr. NAICS at http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/drnaics.htm answers frequently asked questions.
1997 and 2002 Economic Censuses: Data Sources
2002 Economic Census
http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/
Provides selected data and links to documents in PDF format. A chart at http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/guide/g02sch3.htm#START illustrates the types of reports available, their publication media (i.e., PDF, Web, DVD), types of geographies covered, and expected dates of publication. Selected publications in PDF format are also at http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/2002.html .The following describes selected key segments of the 2002 series:
- Industry Reports corresponding to the 18 2-digit NAICS Codes
http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/guide/INDSUMM.HTM- Geographic Area Series
http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/guide/geosumm.htm
Fifty state reports cover metropolitan areas, counties, and selected cities in the respective geographies. Selected volumes were not yet published as of June 2005.- Subject Reports
http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/guide/subsumm.htm
Provides national and, in some cases, state data on special topics. Most volumes were not yet published as of June 2005.- ZIP Code Statistics
Provides number of establishments by employment size and by sales size by NAICS code for 5-digit ZIP Code. Data cover selected industry sectors. The Bureau of the Census will publish the data in late 2006.- Nonemployer Statistics
http://www.census.gov/epcd/nonemployer/2002/us/US000.HTM
The only source for information about nonemployers. Statistics cover 16 million small businesses not included in other census reports.- Survey of Business Owners
Covers businesses owned by Blacks, Hispanics, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asians, Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders, and women. This data will be published in 2006.Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) at http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/faq.htm describes how to navigate this site; download data; rank industries with geographic areas; and locate related information in other sources. Much of this information is equally as relevant to 1997 as 2002.
1997 Economic Census
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/econ97.html
Provides selected data and links to documents in PDF format. More detailed data copied from CD-ROMs are on a reference computer in Lockwood Library's Reference Department. A guide to navigating the menus is at http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/faq.htm . Publications in PDF format are also at http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/1997.html.The following describes key segments of the 1997 series:
- Industry Reports corresponding to the 18 2-digit NAICS Codes
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/econ97.html#1997- Geographic Area Series
http://www.census.gov/epcd/ec97/us/US000.HTM
- ZIP Code Statistics
http://www.census.gov/epcd/ec97zip/us/US00000.HTM- Nonemployer Statistics
http://www.census.gov/epcd/nonemployer/1997/us/US000.HTM- Survey of Business Owners
http://www.census.gov/epcd/mwb97/us/us.htmlAmerican FactFinder (US Bureau of the Census)
http://factfinder.census.gov
The Bureau of the Census developed FactFinder as a dissemination tool for the 2000 Census of Population and Housing, but it now includes the 1997 and 2002 Economic Censuses. A guide to using the Economic Census with FactFinder is at http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/g97aff.htm. Although intended for use with the 1997 data, the guide is still very helpful for those interested in 2002.
Earlier Economic Censuses
Electronic Versions
1992 Economic Census
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/92result.html
Links to PDF files. The CD-ROMs are at Capen Multimedia Center US CD-ROM C 3.277: CD-EC/ 92- .1987 Economic Censuses
Capen Multimedia Center US CD-ROM C 3.277: EC 7/ 987/
Paper and Microfiche
The following Economic Censuses are available in the Lockwood Documents collection. Note:
- Titles may vary from census to census.
- Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) numbers may vary a bit.
- Selected items may be on microfiche.
- Census of Manufactures
Covers establishments that mechanically or chemically transform materials or substances into new products. Information is for the nation, states, metropolitan areas, counties, places, and zip codes. Example: the food processing industry transforms fresh fruit into the canned product. Data for the fruit itself, the raw material, are part of the Census of Agriculture . ( http://www.nass.usda.gov/census/ )
1927, 1929, 1931, 1933, 1939, 1947, 1954, 1958, 1963, 1967, 1972, 1977, 1982, 1987, and 1992 (Lockwood Documents US C3.24).- Census of Mineral Industries
Covers establishments that extract minerals, prepare them on site as necessary, and explore and develop mineral properties. Statistics are for the nation, states, and counties. Example: mining establishments dig for tin from which cans are manufactured.
1963, 1967, 1977, 1982, 1987, and 1992 (Lockwood Documents US C3.216)
1972 (Lockwood Documents US C56.236/6:)- Census of Wholesale Trade
Covers establishments that sell to retailers; to commercial, industrial, farm, and institutional users; and to other wholesalers. Information covers the nation, states, metropolitan areas, counties, and places of greater than 2,500 population. Example: wholesalers sell tin cans made by metal manufacturers to the food processing industry. They also sell canned products supermarkets and restaurants.
1972 (Lockwood Documents US C56.252/5:)
1977, 1982, 1987, 1992 (Lockwood Documents US C3.256/2:)
1997 (Lockwood Documents US C3.277/2).
Click here for reference to earlier information published in the Census of Business .- Census of Retail Trade (Lockwood Documents US C3.255)
Covers retail establishments that sell merchandise for personal or household consumption. Coverage is for the nation, states, metropolitan areas, counties, and places of greater than 2,500 population. Example: covers sales of department stores. However, as with retail trade, we cannot determine how many shirts department stores sold. The data measure sales of all products in department stores. The basis of these data are types of establishments, not products. Click here to consult the very important distinction between retail establishments and value of shipments.
1977, 1982, 1987, 1992, and 1997 (Lockwood Documents US C3.227/2:)
1972 (Lockwood Documents US C56.251/6:)
Click here for reference to earlier information published in the Census of Business .- Census of Service Industries
Includes establishments providing services for individuals, businesses, governments, and other organizations. Information covers the nation, states, metropolitan areas, counties, and places. Example: establishments offering recreation and amusement services. Click here to consult the very important distinction between service establishments and value of shipments.
1977 (paper and MicFiche), 1982, 1987, and 1992 (Lockwood Documents US C3.257:)
1972 (Lockwood Documents US C56.253/5:)
Click here for reference to earlier information published in the Census of Business .- Census of Business
Included parts of what became the Censuses of Wholesale Trade, Retail Trade, and Service Industries.
1933 and 1935 (Lockwood Documents C3.120/1:)
1939 (Lockwood Documents US C3.940-5:B96 1939)
1930, 1948, 1954, 1958, 1963, and 1967 (Lockwood Documents US C3.202/5:)- Census of Financial, Insurance, and Real Estate Industries
Covers establishments providing financial, insurance, and real estate services. These data are available for the first time in 1992. Statistics deal with the nation, states, and metropolitan areas. Example: establishments offer accounting and insurance services to other companies
1992 (Lockwood Documents US C3.291:)- Census of Transportation, Communications, and Utilities
Traditionally covers trucking, warehousing, water transportation, transportation services, and truck inventory and use. For the first time, the 1992 Census includes communications, electric and gas utilities, sanitary services, buses, airlines, and pipeline transportation. Data are for the nation, states, and metropolitan areas. Example: food warehouses and shipping food to supermarkets and restaurants.
1963, 1967, 1977 (MicFiche), 1982, and 1987 (Lockwood Documents US C3.233/5:)
Other titles include:
- Census of Transportation and Warehousing
1992 (Lockwood Documents C3.292:)
1997 (Lockwood Documents C3.277:)- Census of Transportation, Communications, and Utilities
1992 (Lockwood Documents C3.292:)- Census of Transportation. Truck Inventory and Use Survey
1977, 1982, 1987, and 1992 (Lockwood Documents C3.233/5:)
1972 ( Lockwood Documents C56.246/3:.)- Census of Construction Industries
Covers establishments engaging in construction of new homes and other buildings; heavy construction, such as highways; and special trades, such as plumbing and electrical work. Construction undertaken by homeowners or by non-construction businesses are excluded. Selected data cover metropolitan areas, but most statistics deal with the nation and states. Additional information about the Census of Construction Industries and links to related programs are at http://www.census.gov/ftp/pub/econ/www/co0100.html .
1930 (Lockwood Documents US C3.202/5:)
1967, 1977, 1982, 1987, and 1992 (Lockwood Documents C3.245:)- Enterprise Statistics
Regroups establishment-based data to show characteristics of owning or controlling firms.
1958, 1963, 1967, 1972, and 1987, (Lockwood Documents US C3.230:)
1977 and 1992 ( Capen Multimedia Center US MicFiche C3.230:)- Minority and Women Owned Business
Describes characteristics of businesses owned by Blacks, Hispanics, Asian Americans, American Indians, other minorities, and women.
- 1972 (Lockwood Documents C56.260:)
- 1977 and 1987 (Lockwood Documents C3.258:)
- 1977, 1982, and 1992 Capen Multimedia Center US MicFiche c3.258:)
- 1997 (Lockwood Documents C3.277/3:









