Home > Libraries > Arts & Sciences Libraries > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Census

Census

The U.S. Bureau of the Census is one of the most prolific statistical publishers in the world. It does far more than merely count people every ten years. Statistics the Census Bureau publishes cover wide arrays of topics from income, poverty, and housing characteristics to computer use. Other federal agencies regularly contract with the Bureau of the Census to conduct surveys on their behalf. Examples include the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the National Center for Health Statistics.

Getting Started

Bureau of the Census
http://www.census.gov
Several sections of the Bureau of the Census home page facilitate access to statistics.

  • FAQS (Question & Answer Center)
    https://ask.census.gov/cgi-bin/askcensus.cfg/php/enduser/std_alp.php
    Enter keywords or questions to retrieve ready-reference type answers that link to appropriate information published by the Census Bureau and others.
  • Publications
    http://www.census.gov/prod/www/titles.html
    Reproduces in PDF format Bureau of the Census publications. Organization is by broad topics, including agriculture; business and economic census; construction and housing; foreign trade; reference materials; government; population; Statistical Abstracts ; transportation; and technical documentation and methodological papers. Consult US Census Bureau Catalog and Guide for information about earlier census publications covering 1995-1998. ( http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/catalogs.html ) Additional Bureau of the Census publications catalogs are in print format.

    Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972
    Lockwood Documents USC3.163/3-2:790-972
    Two sections cover 1790-1945 and 1946-1972.

  • Bureau of the Census Catalog
    Lockwood Documents US C3.163/3:year (1973-1998)

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
    Lockwood HA 202 (1894+ with gaps; 1946+ with gaps in Reference)
    Lockwood Documents US C3.134: (1970+ with gaps)
    CD-ROM available on Lockwood Reference computer
    Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche HA195 .U5 1972 fiche 3095-96 (1878-1945)
    The Statistical Abstract is the single most significant reference source that summarizes U.S. statistics. All tables are well documented enabling users to easily refer to the original sources for further information. The Web version is comparable to the printed copy. Use the CD-ROM version to access the identical tables, plus enhanced spreadsheet files and links to agency home pages.
  • Subjects Index
    http://www.census.gov/main/www/subjects.html
    An alphabetical list of hundreds of topics on which the Census Bureau publishes information. When appropriate, links lead to other agencies.

Census of Population and Housing

Census 2000 (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/census2000.html
UB librarians recommend what they consider the best sources about the 2000 Census of Population and Housing.

Census Geography and Maps (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/geog_maps.html

Current statistics (Quick links) (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/quick.html
Links to ready-reference statistics.

Demography-Selected Handbooks and Encyclopedias (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/handbooks
Provides comprehensive coverage of demographic handbooks, guides, encyclopedic materials and selected data sources.

Historical Census Data (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/historical.html

International Population Data (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/international.html

Local Data (NYS and Local Areas) (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/local.html

Public Use Microdata Samples (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/pums.html

Other Censuses

Census of Agriculture (U.S. Department of Agriculture. National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS))
http://www.nass.usda.gov/Census_of_Agriculture/index.asp
NASS conducts the Census of Agriculture every 5 years ending with 2 and 7 (e.g., 1997, 2002). Organization of data are by states and counties. Consult the Agriculture subject guide prepared by UB librarians for additional information. ( http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/agriculture.html )

Census of Governments (U.S. Bureau of the Census. Governments Division)
http://www.census.gov/govs/www/
The Bureau of the Census conducts the Census of Governments every 5 years ending with 2 and 7 (e.g., 1997, 2002). Selected topics cover government organization; public employment and payrolls; finances; public employee retirement systems; tax collections; expenditures of state and local governments, and school districts. See Government Budgets, Finances, Expenditures, and Employment , a subject guide prepared by UB librarians, for additional data about government revenues and expenditures. ( http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/finances.html )

Current Surveys (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census/surveys.html
Describes selected periodic surveys conducted by the Bureau of the Census.

Economic Census (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/census-economic.html
Presents background to the Economic Census, links to online resources, and provides titles and call numbers of printed documents held in Lockwood Library. See also: