Defense
The Government Documents collection in Lockwood Library contains selected titles in print and electronic formats from the United States Department of Defense. These titles may be accessed through BISON: The UB Libraries Catalog with an author search for United States Dept of Defense or a keyword search for department of defense. These titles may also be browsed in the Lockwood Documents shelves under the SuDoc call number US D.
In searching for military-related Web sites, the metasearch engine SearchMil ( http://www.searchmil.com ) returns only results from United States military addresses (i.e., those ending in the .mil suffix). This can be useful for filtering out unofficial Web sites.
Department of Defense
Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP) (U.S. Department of Defense. Defense Technical Information Center)
http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/aulimp/index.html
Indexes articles, news items, and editorials in English language journals relating to military and aeronautical affairs.Defense and Security: GPO Access (U.S. Government Printing Office in cooperation with Oklahoma State University)
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/defense.html
Annotated links to defense-related web sites.Department of Defense DefenseLINK (U.S. Department of Defense)
http://www.defenselink.mil
DefenseLINK is the Department of Defense's official Web site, and a good starting point for locating defense data. DoD Web Sites ( http://www.defenselink.mil/sites/a.html ) is an alphabetical list.Defense Technical Information Center (U.S. Department of Defense)
http://www.dtic.mil
Collects and disseminates unclassified scientific and technical information for the Department of Defense.Foreign Military Studies Office (U.S. Department of Defense. Army. Ft. Leavenworth Joint Reserve Intelligence Center (JRIC)
http://fmso.leavenworth.army.mil
Provides full-text publications on regions and topics, as well as research links.JCS Link: The Joint Chiefs of Staff
http://www.jcs.mil/
Contains current news, text of speeches, and publications such as National Defense Strategy and National Military Strategy .National Security Agency
http://www.nsa.gov
The federal government's cryptologic organization provides speeches and briefings, as well as a history of NSA activities and OPENDOOR, a bibliographic index to declassified documents.NIMA: National Imagery and Mapping Agency (U.S. Department of Defense. National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency)
http://www.nima.mil
The agency responsible for geospatial intelligence, NIMA features fact sheets, news, and product information. Many NIMA documents and maps can be found in the Science & Engineering Library's documents collection and Map Room. Search the BISON catalog for national imagery and mapping agency .Public STINET (Scientific and Technical Information Network) (U.S. Department of Defense. Defense Technical Information Center)
http://stinet.dtic.mil/
Provides citations and selected full text access to unclassified Department of Defense reports.
United States Armed Forces
Army National Guard
http://www.arng.army.milU.S. Army
http://www.army.milU.S. Army War College
http://carlisle-www.army.milU.S. Navy
http://www.navy.milU.S. Air Force
http://www.af.milU.S. Marine Corps
http://www.usmc.mil
Foreign and International
CFSP: Common Foreign and Security Policy (European Union)
http://europa.eu.int/pol/cfsp/index_en.htm
Provides links, documentation, and legal texts and policies.Department of National Defence (Canada)
http://www.forces.gc.ca/site/home_e.asp
Provides history, key documents, and brief overviews of current operations.External Relations (European Union)
http://europa.eu.int/comm/external_relations/index.htm
Provides country overviews, strategy papers, and legislation texts for various countries and regions.Federation of American Scientists (FAS)
http://www.fas.org
Provides a good overview of U.S. and international defense issues. The Strategic Security section includes information about the U.S. chain of command; arms trade; biological,chemical and nuclear weapons; intelligence; terrorism; American and foreign weapons systems; and space weapons.International Military and Defense Encyclopedia ( IMADE ) (Maxwell Macmillan)
Lockwood Reference U 24 I58 1993 6 volumes
A comprehensive encyclopedia to military and defense information.Military Balance (Institute for Strategic Studies)
Lockwood UA15 L652 year (1966/1967+ with gaps; most recent 2 editions in Reference)
Accesses military forces and expenditures in 169 nations. Topics for each country pertain to manpower and equipment by branches of service; and deployments. The most recent years have special sections on non-state forces.Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
http://www.sipri.org/
An independent institute that researches issues affecting peace and conflict. Significant SIPRI resources include:
- SIPRI Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmament and International Security
Lockwood UA 10 S69 ( 1969+ with gaps; most recent in Reference)
Includes informative essays about current conflicts and arms transfers.Several SIPRI databases provide informative information:
- Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST)
http://first.sipri.org/
Topics cover armed forces; conventional and nuclear weapons; arms trade; conflict and peacekeeping operations; basic country indicators; government memberships in organizations and participation in agreements; military expenditures; and current news for countries throughout the world.- SIPRI Military Expenditure Database
http://www.sipri.org/contents/milap/milex/mex_database1.html
Covers 168 nations since 1988. Users must register at no cost.- SIPRI Arms Transfers Database
http://www.sipri.org/contents/armstrad/at_data.html
Tracks transfers of conventional weapons since 1950.United Nations Peacekeeping (United Nations. Department of Peacekeeping Operations)
http://www.un.org/Depts/dpko/dpko/home.shtml
Provides documents, statistics, and overviews of both current and past UN peacekeeping operations.
Home