return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




Edward Herman,
Modified January 23, 2007
lolherma@buffalo.edu
 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Education


Education

Additional data can be found on the Resources by Subject - Education website.

  • US Federal
  • New York State
  • NYS School Districts
  • All School Districts
  • Data About Children
  • International

US Federal Government Information

Browse Topics: Education (Oklahoma State University)
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/educatn.html
Links to key federal government Web sites covering all aspects of education. Browse Topics is a good starting point for education research.

Browse Topics: Education Statistics
http://www.library.okstate.edu/govdocs/browsetopics/edustats.html
Both Browse Topics sites link to key sources of education and educational statistics in multiple federal agencies.

Bureau of the Census: Education
http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/education.html
Topics relate to educational attainment; fields of training; educational costs; enrollment; and school districts.

Education Resource Organizations Directory (U.S. Department of Education)
http://www.ed.gov/Programs/EROD/
A directory to organizations and groups that provide information and assistance on a broad range of education-related topics.

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) (U.S. Department of Education)
http://www.eric.ed.gov/
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/eric.html

ERIC is a database of journal articles and other documents covering all aspects of education from 1966 to 2004. The University Libraries own the majority of journals that ERIC indexes. Most other documents are available on microfiche in the Capen Multimedia Center at MicFiche LB 1028 .U485. See the ERIC Microform Profile ( http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/microforms/eric-doc.html ) for more information about locating ERIC documents on microfiche in the UB Libraries.

Federal Department of Education
http://www.ed.gov
Learn about the Department, funding opportunities, and access full texts of key publications. Though a bit old, An Orientation to the U.S. Department of Education's Web Site ( http://www.ed.gov/Wel come/tour/ ) is still a good introduction to Education Department activities.

Financial Aid (U.S. Department of Education)
http://www.ed.gov/finaid/landing.jhtml?src=rt
Information includes finding, applying for, and repaying financial aid for education. Additional sources cover news and information for financial aid professionals.

Free Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (U.S. Department of Education)
http://www.ed.gov/free/index.html
A compilation of educational materials produced by 30 federal agencies.

Institute of Education Sciences (U.S. Department of Education)
http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ies/index.html?src=mr
Congress created the Institute to advance education research. It includes three agencies:

  • National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance (NCEE)
    http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ies/ncee/index.html
  • National Center for Education Research (NCER)
    http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ies/ncer/index.html
  • National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
    http://nces.ed.gov/

Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) Peer Analysis System (U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics)
http://nces.ed.gov/ipedspas/index.asp
Compare data about colleges and universities and their peer institutions.

International Archive of Education Data (IAED) (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social
Research (ICPSR) and the US Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics)
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/IAED/
IAED collects, archives, and makes available to the public numeric data covering all aspects of education. Download data files for use with statistical packages or use the online data analysis system (DAS) to analyze information. Note : use of these raw data require a bit of statistical sophistication.

National Center for Education Statistics
http://nces.ed.gov/
The statistical producing agency within the Education Department. Examples of key sources are:

  • The Condition of Education
  • The Digest of Education Statistics
  • Projections of Education Statistics
  • Indicators of School Crime and Safety

Use the NCES Electronic Catalog and On-line Library ( http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/ ) to locate publications and data products through customized searches.

Social Sciences Statistics Briefing Room-Education (U.S. Office of the President)
http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/education.html
Provides links to popular, newsworthy education statistics. Topics pertain to educational achievement; dropout rates; academic progress; and higher education.

Return to Top


divider



New York State Government Information

New York State Department of Education
http://www.nysed.gov/
Contains a wealth of information about education issues in New York State. Use Topics A to Z ( http://usny.nysed.gov/topics/home.html ) to retrieve information about specific subjects.

New York State Resources on Education and Training (New York State Library)
http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/ils/topics/educate.htm
A compilation of educational resources prepared by various New York State agencies including the Education Department, the Department of State, the State University, the Higher Education Services Corporation, and the Legislature.

Office of Elementary, Middle, Secondary, and Continuing Education (New York State Education Department)
http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/
Administers programs for elementary, secondary, and continuing education programs in New York State. Topics cover curriculum; learning standards; general education and Regents diploma requirements; funding opportunities; school district data, management, and budget issues; and school violence. Separate sections provide information for citizens; people with disabilities; licensed professionals; parents; school administrators; students; and teachers.

Return to Top


divider



New York State School Districts

Buffalo Public School District
http://www.buffaloschools.org/

NYS School Report Cards (New York State Department of Education. Office of Elementary, Middle, Secondary, and Continuing Education)
http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/irts/reportcard/
School District Report cards describe student performances on standardized tests.

School District Information (New York State Department of Education. Office of Elementary, Middle, Secondary, and Continuing Education)
http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/deputy/Documents/schinfo.htm
Topics cover administrative salaries in public schools; the New York City public schools; public school directory; directories of public and nonpublic school administrators; school report cards; state aid to school districts; and statistical profiles of public schools.

Education & Schools (University at Buffalo. Regional Institute)
http://rkn.buffalo.edu/topicChoices.cfm?Topic=4
Covers statistics, maps, and directories to schools in Western New York.

Return to Top


divider



All School Districts

Information on Public School and School Districts in the United States (U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics)
http://nces.ed.gov/ccd/search.asp
View statistics about individual school districts and schools based upon the federal government's Common Core Data (CCD) survey. Information collected covers names and addresses of schools and school districts; numbers of students; student teacher ratios; racial and ethnic compositions; special education statistics; numbers of graduates; and educational finance.

School District Demographics (U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics)
http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/sdds/

Create tables that measure school district demographics. Sources include the 1990 and 2000 censuses and mid-decade estimates.

Return to Top


divider



Related Data About Children

ChildStats.gov (U.S. Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics)
http://childstats.gov
Provides access to federal and state statistics about children and families. Topics pertain to family characteristics; economics; health; behavior and social environment; education; international comparisons; and directories to further information. The annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being , is a key publication produced by the Forum. ( http://childstats.gov/americaschildren/ )

Return to Top


divider



International

Education (Statistics Canada)
http://www40.statcan.ca/l01/ind01/l2_1821.htm
Summary statistics cover graduates; educational attainment and enrollment; finances; and employment and earnings of teachers.

For additional information about Canadian government resources, visit http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/canada_docs.html.

UNESCO Education Information Service
http://www.education.unesco.org/main_idx.htm
The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization is the UN body that promotes education, literacy, and culture. Links lead to information about learning materials; early childhood; e-learning; poverty eradication; primary, secondary, and higher education; science and technology; vocational education; child labor; and sustainable development. Consult http://www.unesco.org/unesdi/ for a directory to UNESCO information sources.

United Nations CyberSchoolBus (United Nations)
http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/index.html
The CyberSchoolbus attempts to promote education about international issues affecting the UN. The teaching materials and activities are intended for primary, intermediate, and secondary school levels. Data includes summary statistics for nations; flags; art; resources for classrooms; and files for downloading.

Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility