Politics and Elections
Researching Elections
How to Research Elections . Fenton S. Martin and Robert U. Goehlert. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, c2000.
Lockwood Reference Collection JK1976.M37.2000Elections A to Z. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 2003. 2nd ed.
Lockwood Reference Collection JK1976.M57U.S. Elections -- Research Guide
University of Pennsylvania Library
http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/polisci/elections.htmlPolitical Science Resources -- United States Politics
University of Michigan
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/polisci.html
Election Boards and Results
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections
Lockwood Reference JK1967 .C662 2001
Volume 1 contains information regarding Presidential elections and political parties. Volume 2 concerns Congressional elections and gubernatorial elections.Federal Election Commission
http://www.fec.gov/
This independent regulatory agency was established by Congress to disclose campaign finance information; to enforce the limits, prohibitions and other provisions of the election law; and to administer the public funding of Presidential elections. Included with financial information about the parties, this site gives primary results by state. An alternative presentation for FEC data is given at the FECInfo site ( http://www.tray.com/FECInfo ), which gives a non-partisan presentation either by member or by donor.Electoral College
http://www.archives.gov/federal_register/electoral_college/
The U.S. National Archives provides a wide variety of information and statistics on presidential elections, past and present, including electoral votes by state for 1789 through the present day.Election Information: Office of the Clerk
http://clerk.house.gov/members/electionInfo/index.html
The Clerk of the House of Representatives has collected and reported on the vote counts for federal elections since 1920.New York State Board of Elections
http://www.elections.state.ny.us/
In addition to voter registration information and election laws, this site can be used to identify representatives, view district maps, locate voter statistics, and view electronic filings relating to campaign finances.Disclosure Links Chart
http://www.digitalsunlight.org/disclosurelinkschart.html
Direct links to election board web sites and campaign finance data disclosure information for other states.Election Results for Erie County
http://www.erie.gov/elections/
Contains limited voter statistics on county and local races. Only data from the most recent elections are available.
US Political Parties
American Reform Party
http://www.americanreform.org/Commmunist Party of the United States
http://www.cpusa.org/Consititution Party
http://www.constitutionparty.com/Labor Party
http://www.thelaborparty.org/Natural Law Party
http://www.natural-law.org/Socialist Party of the United States
http://sp-usa.org/Socialist Labor Party
http://www.slp.org/Democratic National Committee
http://www.democrats.org/Republican National Committee
http://www.rnc.org/Green Party of the United States
http://www.gp.org/Libertarian Party of the United States
http://www.lp.org/Reform Party of the United States
http://www.reformparty.org/
US Non-Partisan Sites
All Politics
http://allpolitics.com/
A site for political news and background information provided by CNN and Time magazine.Center for Responsive Politics
http://www.opensecrets.org/
The emphasis on this site is on political finances. The Registered Federal Lobbyist Database is part of this site. Also Federal Elections Commission data on campaign contributions can be searched by zip code, politican or donor. Information about a politician's personal financial disclosure statements, incumbent travel expenses, Political Action Committees, and topic-specific reports about money and politics are available at the site.Congress.org
http://congress.org/
Look up elected officials or information about current issues.Documents in the News
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/docnewsnew.html
News worthy policy issues under consideration by the federal government are listed here with links to information sources, both government and non-government.FDTF Government Information
http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/romans/fdtf/
"Elections" provides a list of frequently used sites related to elections and politics.League of Women Voters
http://www.lwv.org/
The "Voter Information" section provides information about candidates and political issues.Members of Congress: Selected Resources
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/congress_members.html
UB Libraries guide to directory, biographical, and political activity information for Congresspersons.National Journal Group's Policy Central
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/Policy-Central.html
The National Journal is the nation's premier weekly on politics, policy, and government. Published since 1969, it offers non-partisan coverage and analysis. Some of Washington's most insightful journalists contribute. Many special features are included on this site.Policy Sites on the Internet
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/gov_policy.html
UB Libraries guide to sites that cover public policy issues, which are often political. In addition to those on this list, also refer to the to the Documents in the News site listed above.Project Vote Smart
http://www.vote-smart.org/
This is an excellent site for obtaining information about a candidate running for re-election. Using zip-code to identify your elected officials, you can then obtain biographical information, campaign fund information, evaluations by special interest groups, and voting record.
Other Countries
Elections Canada
http://www.elections.ca/
Site of the federal agency that oversees Canadian elections.Great Britain Government and Politics
http://www.britannia.com/gov/index.html
This site gives a general introduction to the form and structure of British government plus provides links to a variety of official government sites, sites relating to Britain's political system, and commentaries about British politics.Political Resources on the Net
http://www.politicalresources.net/
Listings of political sites available on the Internet sorted by country, with links to parties, organizations, governments, media and more from all around the world.
Data Sets
Inter-university Consortium for Political Science Research (ICPSR)
http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/
See the "Special Topic Archive."National Election Studies (NES)
http://www.umich.edu/~nes/
Voting, public opinion, and political participation data.Road of American Democracy (ROAD)
http://www.hmdc.harvard.edu/ROAD/
Covers each state from 1984 through 1990.









