return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Environment


Environment
  • Domestic Policy Issues
  • International Policy Issues
  • New York State
  • Data Relevant to Specific Sites
  • Kids' Stuff / Teacher Materials
  • Indexes and Guides to Further Information

Consult the following for additional technical information:

  • Ecology & Environment
    http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/infotree/resourcesbysubject.asp?subject=Ecology+%26+Environment
  • Environmental Resources
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/environment/
  • Science & Engineering Library
    Capen Hall
    Maintains a large collection of documents published by the Environmental Protection Agency in paper, microfiche, and CD-ROM formats.

The Law Library prepared three guides to environmental law.

  • Environmental Law
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/law/remotesites/environment.html
  • Federal Environmental Law
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/law/guides_handouts/Envt.pdf
  • New York Environmental Law
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/law/guides_handouts/NYEnvironmental.pdf

Consult UB GREEN: Campus Environmental Stewardship ( http://wings.buffalo.edu/services/recycling ) for a description of the University at Buffalo's environmental policy.

Domestic Policy Issues

Community Planning and Development: Environment (U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Office of Community Viability)
http://www.hud.gov/offices/cpd/environment/index.cfm
Provides data about Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) programs that promote the urban environment. Topics include compliance, laws, and regulations; links to environmental resources; a nationwide directory of HUD's environmental staff; and selected environmental subjects. These cover flood and wetland areas; sustainable development; brown fields; historic preservation; toxins; and environmental justice.

Congressional Research Service Reports (National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE))
http://www.ncseonline.org/NLE/CRS/index.cfm
Reproduces reports prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) about policy issues that effect the environment. CRS is a section of the Library of Congress that prepares background reports for Congress and its committees. Most topics are timely and newsworthy. This site is part of the larger National Library of the Environment .

Environment Laws and Regulations (U.S. Business Advisor).
http://www.business.gov/topics/business_laws/environment/index.html
Reproduces laws and regulations about the environment and provides access to several EPA databases. US Business Advisor attempts to offer one stop access to federal information for business people.

Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov
Provides links to popular environmental topics in the news; press releases; environmental tips; educational and information resources; and programs dealing with air, pesticide, chemical, and water pollution, and wastes and recycling. Specific sections of this large Web site deserve special mention.

  • Browse EPA Topics Industry
    http://www.epa.gov/epahome/topics.html
    Provides basic information about approximately 50 popular environmental topics. Data cover policy issues, as well as technical areas.
  • Business and Industry (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency).
    http://www.epa.gov/epahome/business.htm
    Provides basic data for business people. Separate sections cover programs and initiatives; small business; regulations and compliance; doing business with EPA; and links to related sites.
  • Concerned Citizens
    http://www.epa.gov/epahome/Citizen.html
    Reproduces documents concerned citizens are likely to view. Data covers the community's right to know about environmental hazards; protecting children; safety tips about the home; transportation; the workplace; global concerns; and environmental emergencies.
  • Federal Register - Environmental Documents and the Unified Agenda
    http://www.epa.gov/fedrgstr/search.htm
    Search environmental documents in the Federal Register and the Unified Agenda of Federal Regulations , sometimes called the Regulatory Agenda . The Federal Register is a newspaper published Monday through Friday that includes rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal executive branch agencies. See also the semiannual Unified Agenda or Regulatory Agenda that summarizes agency plans for issuing future regulations. ( http://www.epa.gov/fedrgstr/unified.htm )
  • Publications
    http://www.epa.gov/epahome/publications.htm
    Provides access to full texts of EPA publications, catalogs, and online order forms.
  • Small Business (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency).
    http://www.epa.gov/smallbusiness
    Separate sections cover general information; environmental assistance and technical help; contacts; laws and regulations; saving money; and frequently answered questions.

Gateway to Global Change Data and Information System (GCDIS) (Sponsored by multiple U.S. government agencies).
http://globalchange.gov/
GCDIS provides global change data to scientists and researchers, policy makers, educators, industry, and the public at large. This multidisciplinary information pertains to atmospheric science, ecology, and oceanography, as well as economics and sociology. Select the Dataset Search Form to view a wide variety of datasets.

Internet Law Library: Environmental, Natural Resources and Energy Law
http://www.lawguru.com/ilawlib/101.htm
Links connect to international conventions and treaties; federal laws; state laws; and related documentation, such as articles and materials prepared by interest groups. The House of Representatives maintained the Internet Law Library through 1999. Since then, several commercial concerns assumed responsibility for it, but currency cannot be guaranteed.

National Library of the Environment (National Council for Science and the Environment)
http://www.ncseonline.org/NLE/
Includes in-depth discussions about environmental issues; links to population and environment sites; and copies of related laws and treaties. Congressional Research Service reports are among the items covered.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Home Page
http://www.nrc.gov
Separate sections describe the agency and what it does; nuclear reactors; nuclear materials; radioactive waste; public involvement; and the Electronic Reading Room. Use the Site Map at http://www.nrc.gov/site-help/site-map.html to navigate through this large site.

Key NRC pages are:

  • Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS)
    http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html
    Provides access to all documents made public by the NRC since November 1, 1999 and to bibliographic records (some with abstracts and full text) issued prior to that date. System administrators add several hundred new documents daily. ADAMS permits full text searching and the ability to view document images, download files, and print.
  • Citizen's Guide to U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Information
    http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/nuregs/brochures/br0010/br0010v4.pdf
    Sci/Engr Documents US Y 3.N 88: 8 C 49/ 2003
    Describes types of materials published by the Commission and provides tips about acquiring them.
  • Document Collections
    http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/
    Provides access to full-text document collections. Topics cover nuclear wastes; Commission memoranda and other documentation; Congressional materials; enforcement; reports of events; fact sheets; regulations; and news releases.
  • Index to All Frequently Asked Questions Pages
    http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/faqlist.html
    Topics pertain to the Agency Document Access and Management System (ADAMS); emergency responses; nuclear material controls; licenses; maintenance; NRC careers; the environment; NRC's 9/11 response; public meetings; reactor decommissioning; and transportation.
  • News and Information
    http://www.nrc.gov/what-we-do/media.html
    Provides access to news releases; commission documents; Congressional documents; current reports; brochures and fact sheets; and regulations.
  • Occupational Radiation Exposure Information
    http://www.reirs.com/
    Presents data and related regulations about reporting occupational exposure to radiation at facilities licensed by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.
  • ROP List of Assessment Reports/Inspection Plans
    http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/listofasmrpt.html
    Lists Assessment Reports and Inspection Plans for specific power generating plants.

USGS Fact Sheets (U.S. Geological Survey).
http://h2o.usgs.gov/public/wid/indexlist.html

Fact sheets summarize USGS research, investigations, and activities in each state. Selected topics relate to the environment; natural hazards; and information management.

Return to Top


divider



International Policy Issues

Database of Canada's International Environmental Commitments (Canada. Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade)
http://pubx.dfait-maeci.gc.ca/A_Branch/AES/Env_commitments.nsf/VEWelcome/Homepage
Summarizes basic information about Canada's international agreements that affect the environment. Retrieve data by titles; subjects; regions; and departments responsible for administering the agreements.

Environment: United Nations System Pathfinder (U.N. Dag Hammarskjöld Library)
http://www.un.org/Depts/dhl/pathfind/frame/start.htm
Select the Environment option along the left column to view citations to key United Nations documents. Although most titles are not online, many are still available in the Law Library and in the IIS Microfiche Library (Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche HA 154 I542) . Use the Statistical Universe database or the Index to International Statistics printed index to locate materials in the IIS Microfiche collection.

GEO Data Portal (United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP))
http://geodata.grid.unep.ch/
An online database provides access to statistics measuring water; population; forests; emissions; climate; disasters; health; and gross domestic product for countries and regions throughout the world. Display data on statistical tables, maps, or graphs.

Green LaneTM on the Information Highway (Environment Canada).
http://www.ec.gc.ca/envhome.html
Links cover a wide array of topics that affect the Canadian and international environments. Green Lane received the 1995 Best Canadian Government Site award.

Linkages: A Multimedia Resource For Environment and Development Policy Makers (International Institute for Sustainable Development: IISD).
http://www.iisd.ca/linkages
Links connect to major UN documentation. Data include references to sustainable development; climate; biodiversity; chemical management; and forests and deserts. Special features include updates on international environmental negotiations and a link to a search engine for the Earth Negotiations Bulletin ( http://www.iisd.ca/linkages/voltoc.html ), a newsletter that provides daily coverage of UN environmental issues.

World Bank
http://www.worldbank.org/environment/
Menu options link to World Bank strategies to combat environmental hazards; key topics; publications and data; regional information; brief project descriptions; and educational resources.

World Resources Institute
http://www.wri.org/
An environmental think tank that hopes to create practical ways to protect the planet. Its goals are to increase access to information; reverse damages to the ecosystems; expand participation in environmental decision making; and avert global warming. Links lead to research topics; earth trends--an online compilation of data about environmental and socioeconomic trends; press releases; and publications. Its key annual publication is:

  • World Resources
    Lockwood HC10 W827 (1986+ with gaps; most recent in reference)
    Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche Z7554 .U5 S8 no. R9455-1 (1986+ with gaps)
    An annual publication about the environment and world development. Data cover large amounts of text and statistical tables. The editors include charts and graphs; photographs; and footnotes.
Return to Top


divider



New York State

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Home Page
http://www.dec.state.ny.us
Provides an overview of Departmental of Environmental Conservation services and programs. Key parts of the Web site include the:

  • Guide to DEC Programs and Phone Numbers
    http://www.dec.state.ny.us/website/dpae/pubs/gdec.html
    Provides a directory to contacts and program summaries.
  • Publications and Reports
    http://www.dec.state.ny.us/website/dpae/pubs/index.html
    Cites selected technical reports; compliance guides for business people; public relations materials; and information about subscriptions.
  • Site Map
    http://www.dec.state.ny.us/website/site/subject.html
    Presents a detailed description of the kinds of information available.

West Valley Site Management Program (U.S. Department of Energy. Ohio Field Office and New York State Energy Research Development Authority)
http://www.wv.doe.gov/
The U.S. Department of Energy in cooperation with the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority operate the West Valley Demonstration Project (WVDP). Data include background information, plus information about environmental projects; safety; waste management; and technology.

Return to Top


divider



Data Relevant to Specific Sites

Envirofacts Data Warehouse (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency).
http://www.epa.gov/enviro
Offers single point access to data from multiple EPA databases. Use the Quick Start option to retrieve data by zip codes; cities; counties; and states. Topics cover wastes; water; toxic substances; air; land; radiation; and compliance. An additional option enables users to create maps.

Selected EPA databases include:

  • AIRS Facility Subsystem (AIRS/AFS)
    http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/airs/airs_query_java.html
    Contains air pollution data on approximately 150,000 facilities.
  • Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Information System (CERCLIS)
    http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/cerclis/cerclis_query.html
    Provides information about superfund hazardous waste sites and their remediations.
  • Envirofacts Master Chemical Integrator (EMCI)
    http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/emci/emci_query.html
    Lists chemicals reported in EPA databases.
  • Grants Information and Control System (GICS)
    http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/gics/gics_query.html
    Contains data for all EPA grant programs.
  • Permit Compliance System (PCS)
    http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/pcs/pcs_query_java.html
    Provides data on over 75,000 water-discharge permits.
  • Resource Conservation and Recovery Information System (RCRAInfo)
    http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/rcris/rcris_query_java.html
    Tracks waste handler permits; closures; compliance with federal and state rules; and cleanup activities.
  • Toxic Release Inventory (TRI)
    http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/tris/tris_query.html
    Tracks releases of toxic substances by over 33,000 entities.

A chart located at http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/efovw.html illustrates relationships among the databases.

Right to Know Network (RTK NET)
http://www.rtk.net/rtkdata.html
Provides access to environmental databases by database names and types. Search each database individually or use the master index that covers all RTK databases. RTK is a nonprofit group supported by charitable contributions.

Scorecard (Environmental Defense Fund)
http://www.scorecard.org
Enter a zip code to retrieve data about toxic chemical releases from manufacturing plants; air quality information; and agricultural pollution, plus related health affects of the pollutants.

Where You Live (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
http://www.epa.gov/epahome/whereyoulive.htm
A compilation of databases and other resources that examine the environment throughout the nation.

Return to Top


divider



Kids' Stuff / Teacher Materials

Environmental Kids Club (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency).
http://www.epa.gov/kids/
Provides games, word puzzles, and coloring books designed for use by younger children.

EPA Kids, Students and Teachers (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency).
http://www.epa.gov/epahome/students.htm
Separate sections cover resources for teachers and different age groups from pre-school through high school.

Return to Top


divider



Indexes and Guides to Further Information

Congressional Universe (LexisNexis)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/cis.html
An index to current and historical Congressional committee publications. Many items are available in the University Libraries. Consult the Libraries Catalog or speak to a reference librarian.

Statistical Universe (LexisNexis)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/statuniv.html
Indexes statistical publications of the U.S. government, American non-government sources, such as trade associations and professional groups, and international organizations, such as the United Nations and the World Bank. The full texts of most documents are in the IIS Microfiche Library (MicFiche HA 154 I542). Two printed sources index the same information:

  • American Statistics Index ( ASI )
    Lockwood Reference Z1223 .A22
    Indexes U.S. documents. Most are cited in the Libraries Catalog or are reproduced in the American Statistics Index Microfiche Library (Capen Multimedia Center HA195 .A8).
  • Index to International Statistics ( IIS )
    Lockwood Reference HA 154 .I544
    Indexes publications of intergovernmental organizations, such as the United Nations or the World Health Organization. Microfiche copies of these items are at Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche HA154 I542.

World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Environment (University Library System, University of Pittsburgh).
http://www.library.pitt.edu/subject_guides/westeuropean/wwwes/environment.disc.html
Links connect to government and non-government servers that deal with biodiversity; ecology; energy; environmental law; earth science; forestry; and oceanography.

Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility