return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




Edward Herman,
Modified Augus 19, 2009
lolherma@buffalo.edu
 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > European Union


European Union
Lockwood Library is a depository for European Union publications and documents. This guide highlights selected resources in both print and online format. Titles in the Library's collection are listed in the BISON Catalog.


  • General Information
  • Institutions and Agencies
  • Statistical Sources
  • Business and Banking
  • Law and Legal Information
  • Catalogs and Indexes
  • Miscellaneous

General Information

A to Z Index of European Union Web Sites
http://www.eurunion.org/infores/euindex.htm
Quick links to everything from an EU abbreviations dictionary to the Standing Committee on Zootechnics.

Essential European Union Web Sites
http://www.eurunion.org/infores/besteuwebsites.htm

EUROPA: Gateway to the European Union
http://europa.eu/index_en.htm
Offers broad access to European Union press releases, constituent institutions, documents, legal texts, and policies.

Europe in 12 Lessons
http://ec.europa.eu/comm/publications/booklets/eu_glance/22/index_en.htm
Topics cover how the EU works; economic and monetary union and the euro; freedom, security, and justice; the EU in world affairs; and the EU's future.

European Communities Encyclopedia and Directory 1999
Lockwood Reference HC 241.2 E8334 1999
Contains a guide to common abbreviations, an EU timeline, and a directory of agencies and institutions.

The European Union: A Guide for Americans
http://www.eurunion.org/infores/euguide/euguide.htm
A guide to understanding the European Union, available in both HTML and PDF.

European Union: Annual Review of Activities
Lockwood Reference HC 241 J65 (1994-present)
A special issue of the Journal of Common Market Studies which provides articles with citations relating to EU developments within the past year.

European Union - Delegation of the European Commission to the United States
http://www.eurunion.org
Administered by the European Union Delegation of the European Commission to the United States.

European Union Documents
http://europa.eu/documents/index_en.htm
A guide to documents pertaining to EU law and institutions.

Return to Top




Institutions and Agencies

Agencies of the European Union
http://europa.eu/agencies/index_en.htm
Lists EU member agencies with links to their Web sites.

EU Institutions and Other Bodies
http://europa.eu/institutions/index_en.htm
Lists EU constituent organizations with links to their Web sites. Examples include the European Commission, the Council of the European Union, the European Court of Justice, the European Parliament, and the European Ombudsman.

Press Releases RAPID (European Commission. Spokesman's Service)
http://europa.eu/rapid/
Indexes daily press releases of participating European Union institutions.

Return to Top




Statistical Sources

Eurostat Electronic Library
Capen Multimedia Center CD-ROM 97: HA1107 .A15 (2001-2006)
The Eurostat CD-ROM series is an off-line archive of the Eurostat web site.

Eurostat Index
Lockwood Reference Z 7165 E8 R35 1992
A detailed keyword subject index to the statistical publications of the European Union.

Eurostat: Statistical Office of the European Communities
http://europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat
Provides data produced by member nations in a compatible format. Efforts include press releases; statistical news; and links to data resources.

Eurostat Yearbook: A Statistical Eye on Europe
Lockwood HA1107.5 .E88 (1983+ with gaps; current issue in Reference)
Capen Multimedia Center US CD-ROM 159: HA1107.5 .E88 (1991/2001-1992/2002)
Presents a general perspective for end-users on statistics of the European Union over a ten-year period. Most statistics are derived from Eurostat, but are supplemented by other sources.

LexisNexis Statistical
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/statuniv.html
Indexes statistical publications produced by the U.S. and state and governments, non-government entities, and international governmental organizations (IGOs), such as the European Union.

The Index to International Statistics ( IIS ) is a comparable printed index. (Lockwood Reference (Index Area) HA 154 I544 (1983-2004)) Nearly all titles indexed in IIS are available on microfiche through the IIS Microfiche Library ( http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/microforms/iis.html ). (Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche HA154 I542)

Return to Top




Business and Banking

Europa: Gateway to the European Union (European Union)
http://europa.eu/index_en.htm
Select the Activities tab to view a wide range of topics pertaining to business. Examples include competition; customs; economic and monetary affairs; employment; enterprise; internal and external markets; and taxation. Each option links to key sites; and copies of relevant documentation, summaries of legislation, and legal texts.

Essential European Union Business Web Sites
http://www.eurunion.org/infores/bestbussites.htm

European Business: Facts and Figures (Title varies)
Lockwood HC 241.2 P313 (1989+ with gaps; most recent in Reference)
Presents overviews with statistics for almost 200 manufacturing and service sectors in the European Union, using data from 1990-2000.

European Central Bank
http://www.ecb.int
Provides press releases, key speeches, statistics, and changeover issues and news related to the Euro. It also has links to EU Central Banks and Monetary Financial Institutions (MFIs).

European Investment Bank
http://www.eib.org
An autonomous body dating back to 1958, set up to finance capital investment in European integration.

Return to Top




Law and Legal Information

Court of Justice Home Page
http://curia.eu.int/index.htm
The Court ascertains that the treaties establishing the European Union and related legislation are interpreted correctly.

Directory of Community Legislation in Force (Title varies)
Lockwood JN 30.R34 (1970+ with gaps)
Provides subject and numeric access to legislation. Produced every June and December from the CELEX legal database and includes an analytical register, and chronological and alphabetical indexes. NOTE Limitations: : Member nations sometimes neglect to inform CELEX administrators about new national legislation.

Essential European Union Law Web Sites
http://www.eurunion.org/infores/bestlawsites.htm

EUR-Lex: The Portal to European Union Law
http://eur-lex.europa.eu/en/index.htmindex
Indexes European Union legal documents and includes links to treaties, legislation, and case law.

Guide to EC Court Decisions
Lockwood KZZ 1 G83 1982
Lockwood KZZ 1 G83 Supplement 1983-1989
Indexes Court of Justice decisions. Data include: citations and annotations to the cases.

Guide to EEC Legislation
Lockwood KZZ 1 G84 1983
Lockwood KZZ 1 G842 1988-1989
This guide organizes EU legislation by subjects. Entries provide brief summaries of the legislation and cite Official Journal references. The legislation includes regulations (laws that member nations must abide by) and directives (goals which member nations must meet).

Official Journal of the European Communities ( OJ )
The authoritative source for EC legislation and agreements with third countries. Issues published since 1998 are within the EUR-Lex system. Consult the Libraries Catalog for print, CD-ROM, and DVD versions of the Official Journal covering earlier time periods.

Return to Top




Catalogs and Indexes

Documents Annual Catalog
Lockwood Reference Z 7165 E8 C66 (1983-2000 with gaps)
Published by the Office for Official Publications of the European Communities (OOPEC). This catalog contains a classified and an alphabetical index of subject terms. The 1983, 1984, and 1987 volumes also include a Numerical Index to locate COM Document microfiche numbers.

ECLAS, the Commission libraries’ union catalogue
http://ec.europa.eu/libraries/doc/catalogues/index_en.htm
The EU Central Library catalog provides citations to European Union documentation.

European Access
Lockwood Reference HC 241.2 E854 (1989-2002)
Indexes both official documents and commercial sources that cover European Union affairs. European Access is one of the best starting points for research. The editors also include articles on timely topics that affect European integration.

European Communities Index ( EC Index )
Lockwood KJE 901 E25 (1984-1986)
In-depth indexing of the full range of EC publications and documents. The best source for the few years it existed.

General Catalogue of Publications (Title varies)
Lockwood Reference Z 7165.E8 P799 (1982-2001 with gaps)
Lockwood Reference Z7165.E8 P8 (1964-1986 with gaps)
Arranged in broad subject categories, this index includes a subject, title and series index to both monographic and serial publications.

Return to Top




Miscellaneous

Archive of European Integration
http://aei.pitt.edu/
An online repository of free, full-text EU-related research materials such as conference papers and pre-prints.

Community Research and Development Services (CORDIS)
http://www.cordis.lu/en/home.html
Gateway to current research; funding sources; partnership information; licensing; news; programs; projects; and publications related to Research and Development in the European Community.

European Communities Studies Association (ECSA)
http://www.ecsanet.org
International association for the study of the European Union.

Information Society Directorate-General
http://europa.eu.int/comm/dgs/information_society/index_en.htm
Attempts to facilitate electronic services for individuals and enterprises.

ISTweb: Information Society Technologies Home Page
http://www.cordis.lu/ist/
Promotes information technology and information literacy within the European Union.

United States Mission to the European Union
http://useu.usmission.gov/
The home page of the United States diplomatic service in the European Union.

Return to Top





return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility