return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 


Edward Herman,
Modified May 29. 2009
lolherma@buffalo.edu

 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Freedom of Information


Freedom of Information
  • United States
  • State and Local
  • International

The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) gives the public the right to request government records from Executive agencies. Consult the Law Library's Freedom of Information subject bibliography page for additional information.

United States

Citizen's Guide on Using the Freedom of Information Act and the Privacy Act of 1974 to Request Government Records (U.S. Congress House. Committee on Government Reform)
http://www.fas.org/sgp/foia/citizen.pdf
Provides an excellent overview of the FOIA and Privacy Acts with sample letters for requesting information. The Privacy Act allows individuals to view and correct personal records the federal governments maintains about their lives and activities.

Freedom of Information Act Text (U.S. Department of Justice)
http://www.usdoj.gov/04foia/foiastat.htm
Reproduces the text of the Freedom of Information Act.

Principal FOIA Contacts at Federal Agencies (U.S. Department of Justice)
http://www.usdoj.gov/04foia/foiacontacts.htm
A directory to FOIA officers in federal agencies.  Contact the relevant FOIA officer when making information requests.  See http://www.usdoj.gov/04foia/other_age.htm for additional FOIA contacts.

Your Right To Federal Records: Questions and Answers on the Freedom of Information Act and Privacy Act (Published jointly by the U.S. Department of Justice and the U.S. General Services Administration)
http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/cic_text/fed_prog/foia/foia.htm
Lockwood Documents US GS 1.2: F 31/ 2/ 2004
Explains the history of FOIA, the application process, and the appeals process in the event of a denial.

Return to Top


divider



State and Local

Committee on Open Government (New York State)
http://www.dos.state.ny.us/coog/index.html
Provides information pertaining to New York State's Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) as well as the Open Meetings Law and the Personal Privacy Protection Law. Links pertain to advisory opinions; laws and regulations; publications; and frequently asked questions.

Freedom of Information Law Requests (University at Buffalo)
http://www.ub-judiciary.buffalo.edu/foi.shtml
Describes how to make a FOIL request for records held by the State University of New York at Buffalo. It includes a description of the available records, the request procedure, and the appeals process in the event of a denial.

Other State FOI Laws (National Freedom of Information Coalition (NFOIC))
http://www.nfoic.org/states
Links to descriptions about U.S. federal and state freedom of information statutes.

Return to Top


divider



International

Canada: Access to Information And Privacy (Canada. Department of Justice)
http://canada.justice.gc.ca/en/ps/atip/index.html
Links to information about the Canadian Access to Information and Privacy Acts.  Key links include:

  • Using the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act
    http://canada.justice.gc.ca/en/ps/atip/using.html.
  • Full text of Access to Information Act ( R.S., 1985, c. A-1 )
    http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/A-1/8.html

  • Access to Information Forms
    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/tbsf-fsct/tbsf-fsct_e.asp
  • Info Source Publications
    http://www.infosource.gc.ca/index_e.asp
    A directory of available records.

European Union: Openness and Access to Documents (European Commission)
http://europa.eu.int/comm/secretariat_general/sgc/acc_doc/index_en.htm
Links to the texts of legal acts pertaining to open access.  See also:

  • Citizen's Guide
    http://europa.eu.int/comm/secretariat_general/sgc/citguide/index_en.htm
    Describes how to access published and unpublished European Union documents, and provides a request form.

Other Countries: International FOI Laws (University of Missouri-Columbia. Freedom of Information Center)
http://foi.missouri.edu/internationalfoi/index.html
Links to the freedom of information statutes of countries worldwide.

Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility