return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Laws & Regulations


Laws & Regulations
  • U.S. Federal
  • New York State
  • Other State Legislatures
  • Canada
  • European Union
  • Other National Governments

U.S. Federal

U.S. Congress and Legislation
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/congress.html
This guide lists each of the types of congressional documents and notes how to obtain them. Access to information about the members of congress is also given.

Return to Top


divider



New York State

Compiling Legislative Histories for New York State in the Law Library (Pace Law School)
http://csmail.law.pace.edu/research/ny-legislative-histories.html
Covers getting started; codes, session laws, and bills; memoranda; legislative journals; hearings and debates; bill jackets; and guides to legislative history research.

Compiling the Legislative History of A New York State Law
http://unix2.nysed.gov/leghist/leghis.htm
Twelve basic, intermediate, and advanced steps take researchers through the process.

Gibson, Ellen. New York Legal Research Guide . 2nd ed. Buffalo, NY: William Hein and Company, 1998.
Law KFN5074 .G53 1998 or Lockwood Reference KFN5074 .G53 1998
Chapter 2 ("State Legislation: Legislative Process, Bills, Resolutions, and Session Laws") provides an overview of the process, and describes how to track bills and locate their texts. Chapter 5 ("Legislative History") also presents an overview; and also discusses bills, memoranda, bill jackets, debates and hearings, and other sources.

How a Bill Becomes a Law in New York State (Business Council of New York State)
http://www.bcnys.org/inside/sb/billlaw.htm
A brief introduction summarizes the process.

The Legislative History of a New York State Law: A Tutorial and Guide to Library Sources (New York State Library)
http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/leghist/
Describes twelve steps in compiling legislative histories of New York State laws.

Legislative Intent (New York State Library)
http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/legint.htm
Presents a brief overview of researching legislative intent of New York State bills. Coverage includes major sources and indexes to sources.

New York State Assembly
http://assembly.state.ny.us
Retrieve information about the State Assembly and its activities. Features include press releases; legislative reports; committee updates that cover press announcements and selected reports; Committee Chairs Report on the Governor's Vetoes; a description of the legislative process; a directory of members.

The Assembly's Legislative Information System ( http://assembly.state.ny.us/ALIS ) provides access to bills introduced in the current session; the Assembly Calendar that outlines daily agendas; public hearing schedules; and state laws.

New York State Legislative History Materials (Albany Law School)
http://www.als.edu/lib/editor.cfm?ID=245
Topics pertain to legislative intent; the legislative process and its documents; enacted statutes; the legislative digest; and the State Constitution .

New York State Senate
http://www.senate.state.ny.us
The Senate home page includes directories of members and committees; Senate rules; press releases and reports. Search for bills and resolutions; laws; and vetoes for the current legislative session at http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/menuf.cgi .

Return to Top


divider



Other State Legislatures

State Legislatures on the Internet via MultiState
http://www.multistate.com/site.nsf/state?OpenPage

USA.gov: State and Territorial Governments (U.S. General Services Administration)
http://www.usa.gov/Agencies/State_and_Territories.shtml

Return to Top


divider



Canada

Canadian Parliamentary Web Site
http://www.parl.gc.ca/common/index.asp?Language=E
Parliament is comprised of the elected members of the House of Commons and the appointed members of the Senate. Public policy and legislation is introduced in the House and debated and enacted through the house and senate. The "Chamber Business" section of this site includes debate transcripts for both the House and the Senate.

Library of Parliament Research Branch Publications
http://dsp-psd.pwgsc.gc.ca/dsp-psd/Pilot/LoPBdP/mat-e.html
Documents prepared for general distribution to Canadian Parliamentarians to provide background and analysis of issues that may arise in the course of their Parliamentary duties.

The Legislative Assemblies of Canada
http://www-2.cs.cmu.edu/afs/cs.cmu.edu/user/clamen/misc/Canadiana/legislatures.html
A list of links to federal, provincial and territorial legislative bodies and to the political parties that are represented.

Return to Top


divider



European Union

European Union: Law and Legal Information
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/eu-documents.html#law

Return to Top


divider



Other National Governments

Internet Links to National Parliaments
http://www.polisci.umn.edu/information/parliaments/index.html
Home pages for scores of foreign countries in every region of the world.

Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility