return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Presidential Materials (U.S.)


Presidential Materials (U.S.)
  • Presidential Documents
  • Presidential Biographies and Libraries
  • Miscellaneous

The Business & Government Documents Center collection contains official presidential publications, such as the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents . In addition, unofficial sources for materials relating to a particular presidency may be found by searching BISON: the UB Libraries Catalog.

  • To locate materials written by a particular President, conduct an Author search for (last name, first name).
  • To locate materials written about a particular President, conduct a Subject search for (last name, first name).

Presidential Documents

American Presidency Project (University of California, Santa Barbara)
http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu
Provides access to 3 key Presidential resources in a single searchable database:

  • Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington- Taft (1789-1913)
  • Public Paperes of the Presidents: Hoover to Bush (1929-1993)
  • Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Cliinton - G.W. Bush (1993-present)

Features include 4 links:

  • Data covers relations with Congress, requests for legislation, vetoes, seats in Congress gained or lost in mid-term elections, popularity, public appearances, growth of the Executie branch, charts about inaugural addresses, and Presidential disability.
  • Documents include convention speeches, party platforms, Presidential debates, radio addresses, Executive orders and proclamations, signing statements, and statements of administration policies.
  • Elections summarizes voting in Presidential elections from 1828-2004.
  • Media reproduces Presidential interactions with the press in multimedia format.

Executive Orders 1933-
http://www.archives.gov/federal_register/executive_orders/executive_orders.html
Contains tables with summary information about, but not the text of, Executive Orders beginning with those signed by Franklin D. Roosevelt, arranged according to Presidential administration and year of signature. Executive Orders since 1993 are linked to their full text in the Federal Register .

Federal Register
Lockwood Documents US AE 2.106:66/1 (current administration, includes indexes)
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html (1994-present)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/lexisnexis.html (1980-present, current UB users only)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/law/eresources/heinonline.html (1936-1991, current UB users only; select "Federal Register Library")
The Federal Register, which is published daily, contains all presidential proclamations and orders in Title 3.

Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents
http://www.bartleby.com/124/index.html
Contains the full text of each inaugural address since George Washington. Part of the Bartleby Archive is maintained by Columbia University.

Presidential Directives and Executive Orders
http://www.fas.org/irp/offdocs/direct.htm
This site is part of the Federation of American Scientists' "Intelligence Resources Program" and focuses on national security issues. Lists documents from selected time periods with some linked to the full text.

Presidential Documents on NARA Web Sites
http://www.archives.gov/federal_register/presidential_documents/website_guide.html
Access to many of the documents noted in this guide are found on the National Records and Archives Administration site. For more information about archival resources, visit the ASL subject guide for Archives, Manuscripts and Historic Records ( http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/archives.html ).

Public Papers of the Presidents
Lockwood Documents US AE 2.114: (1929-present)
http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/pubpaps/srchpaps.html (1992-present)
Compilations of all the public statements made by a president during a term of office.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/wcomp/index.html (1993-present)
Lockwood Documents US AE 2.109 (1985-present)
Lockwood Documents US GS 4.114 (1965-1985)
This publication contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week. At the end of the President's term of office, all of the weekly publications are compiled into a volume of the Public Papers of the Presidents .

The White House
http://www.whitehouse.gov/
Contains the full text of the President's press releases, executive orders, and major speeches, as well as significant executive documents.

 

Return to Top


divider



Presidential Biographies and Libraries

American Presidents: Life Portraits
http://www.americanpresidents.org
Provides links to the birthplaces and grave sites of the presidents, as well as "Life Facts" and portraits.

Internet Public Library: POTUS
http://www.ipl.org/div/potus
For each president there is a page that gives quick facts about the president including political and personal facts, as well as links to other sites.

Presidential Libraries
http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/liblinks.html
Links to the official sites of Presidential Libraries from Herbert Hoover to the previous administration.

Presidential Preview
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/presprvw/prsprvw.html
The Library of Congress is embarking on digitizing and placing online several of the manuscripts from the papers of the 23 presidents held by the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. The site includes of photos and manuscripts.

Presidential Sites Resources
http://www.ibiblio.org/lia/president/pressites/PresidentS-res.html
Links to biographies of each President as well as Presidential estates, libraries, and archives.

The Presidents of the United States
http://www.whitehouse.gov/history/presidents/
Biographies of all United States Presidents, along with links to related Web sites.

 

Return to Top


divider



Miscellaneous

JFK Assassination Records Collection
http://www.archives.gov/research_room/jfk/index.html
Information about this special collection within the National Archives is available along with an electronic index to the records.

Presidential Debates Bibliography
http://poynteronline.org/content/content_view.asp?id=1220
Links to sites that concern presidential debates in general as well as specific debates, beginning with the 1858 Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations
http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/cfr-table-search.html
Title 3 defines the office of the President.

 

Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility