return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Libraries & Collections
 
  star icon Arts & Sciences Libraries
  arrow_icon   Architecture & Planning
  arrow_icon   Lockwood Library
  arrow_icon   Government Documents
  arrow_icon   Polish Room
  arrow_icon   Undergraduate Library
  arrow_icon   Science & Engineering
  arrow_icon   Map Collection
  arrow_icon   Multimedia Center
  arrow_icon   Microform Collections
divider
  star icon Health Sciences Library
divider
  star icon Law Library
divider
  star icon Music Library
divider
  star icon Special Collections
divider
  star icon Digital Library Center
divider
  star icon Libraries Annex
 
 




 

 





Home > Libraries & Collections > ASL > Government Documents Information > Government Resources by Subject > Social Assistance & Entitlements


Social Assistance & Entitlements
  • General Sources
  • Medicare/Medicaid
  • Social Security
  • Welfare

General Sources

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
http://www.cfda.gov (current edition)
Lockwood Documents US PrEx2.20: (current edition)
A directory of federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide assistance or benefits to the American public. The catalog contains financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the federal government.

Green Book of Federal Entitlements
Lockwood Documents US Y4.W S36: 10-4 (1981-present)
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/wmprints/green/index.html (1996-present)
Also known as the Background Material and Data on Major Programs Within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means , the "Green Book" presents background material and statistical data on the major entitlement programs within the Committee's jurisdiction: Social Security, Medicare, Unemployment Compensation, Trade Adjustment Assistance, Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Child Support Enforcement, Supplemental Security Income, the Title XX Social Services Block Grant program, Child Welfare, Foster Care, Adoption Assistance, and Child Care programs.

Legal Information on Public Benefits
http://www.law.cornell.edu/topics/topic2.html#public benefits
The Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School provides links relating to public assistance.

GAO Reports and Testimony
http://www.gao.gov
The General Accounting Offices publishes reports of interest to Congress; these reports may contain research related to social assistance issues. The Congressional Universe database ( http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/cis.html ) contains Congressional research reports which may also be of interest (current UB username and password are required for Congressional Universe).

NYS Resources on Social Services
http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/ils/topics/social.htm
Links to various state programs for public assistance.

Stateline: Your Source for State News
http://www.stateline.org
Gives news and statistics on various social policy programs for states.

Return to Top


divider



Medicare/Medicaid

Some Medicare and Medicaid-related titles can be found in the Lockwood Documents collection under the SuDoc call number US HE 22. In addition, there are many Congressional hearings pertaining to these programs, which can be located in BISON: The UB Libraries Catalog with a keyword search.

Medicare
http://cms.hhs.gov/medicare
http://www.medicare.gov
Medicare is our country's health insurance program for people age 65 or older, certain people with disabilities who are under 65, and people of any age who have permanent kidney failure. It provides basic protection against the cost of health care, but does not cover all medical expenses nor the cost of most long-term care.

Medicaid
http://cms.hhs.gov/medicaid
Title XIX of the Social Security Act is a program which provides medical assistance for certain individuals and families with low incomes and resources. The program, known as Medicaid, became law in 1965 as a jointly funded cooperative venture between the Federal and State governments to assist States in the provision of adequate medical care to eligible needy persons. Medicaid is the largest program providing medical and health-related services to America's poorest people.

Return to Top


divider



Social Security

The Lockwood Documents collection contains selected publications from the Social Security Administration. Titles are listed in BISON: The UB Libraries Catalog and can be found through a keyword search for social security or an author search for United States Social Security Administration . These titles may also be browsed under the SuDoc call number US SSA. The Social Security Administration became an independent federal agency in 1995; older Social Security-related documents (1970-1994) can be found at the call numbers US HE 3.3-3.60. Social Security-related documents from 1938-1969 are classified under the call number US FS 3.3; most of these documents are in library storage. Consult the BISON catalog for individual titles.

Social Security Administration
http://www.ssa.gov/SSA_Home.html
The most requested information about the SSA is highlighted in the "Questions" feature on this page. There are also many links to various programs and regulations.

Social Security Handbook
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/handbook/ssa-hbk.htm (current edition)
Lockwood Documents US SSA 1.8/ 3: (1995-2001)
Lockwood Documents US HE 3.6/ 8: (1986-1993)
Summarizes information about the Federal Retirement, Survivors, Disability, Supplemental Security Income, Health Insurance, and Black Lung Programs.

Social Security Bulletin
http://www.ssa.gov/policy/docs/ssb (1999-current edition)
Lockwood Documents US SSA 1.22 (1997-current)
Lockwood Documents US HE 3.3 (1970-1996)
Lockwood Documents US FS 3.3 (1938-1969) In Storage--Request at Circulation Desk
Contains articles, statistical tables, and program summaries relating to Social Security.

Social Security Benefits Planner
http://www.ssa.gov/planners
Starting point to learn about a variety of benefits.

Return to Top


divider



Welfare

ACF Welfare Reform
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ofa/welfare/index.htm
Maintained by the HHS Administration of Children and Families. Contains links to documents, research and statistics about welfare reform.

Welfare Issues
http://aspe.hhs.gov/hsp/hspwelfare.htm
Collection of links to publications and reserach relating to welfare, maintained by the Human Services Policy branch of the Planning and Evaluation Division of HHS.

Welfare Reform: NYS Dept. of Education
http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/workforce/welfare/wfnet.html
Links to research groups and government agencies concerned with welfare reform.

Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility