Home > Resources > Resources by Subject > Chemistry > Internet Resources
Chemistry
Internet Resources
This guide contains selected chemistry resources freely available on the Internet. For more information on chemistry, visit the State University of New York at Buffalo Chemistry Department.
Books, Journals, Open Access
- BookFinder.com - One of the best & largest meta-search site for new & used books.
- Chemical Abstracts Core Journal List - Journals indexed cover-to-cover; includes standard ACS title abbreviations.
- ChemSpider - Searches vast Internet compound collection, patents (from SureChem), and open access journal articles by keyword, element, substructure, molecular formula, and properties.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (Lund Univ.) - Over 2,700 peer reviewed, freely available journals, the most comprehensive directory on the Web.
- Directory of Open Access Repositories -OpenDOAR (Univ. of Nottingham) - an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
- Index Translationum (UNESCO) - 1.3 million translated books
- Journal Info (Lund University) - Basic data and interesting statistics for open access and subscription journals worldwide.
- Journal-Ranking.com (Andrew Lim, Hong Kong Univ. of Science & Technology) - Free iinteractive journal ranking service allowing users to choose ranking parameters. Alternative to ISI journal impact factors.
- OAIster (Univ. of Michigan) - Digital, open access/archive resource directory
- Publish or Perish (Anne-Wil Harzing) - a downloadable, free program analyzing Google Scholar citations to an author's publications. Reports statistics such as ave. cites per paper and h-index & related metrics. Disclaimer: Google Scholar citation data is very noisy & includes non-peer reviewed citing documents. Citation variations likely inflate number of papers & citations.
- Scientific Commons (Univ. of St .Gallen) - Over 19 million open access articles and other documents
- SciVee (Univ. of California, San Diego) - Allows scholars to post articles along with a video presentation. Sponsored by NSF & Public Library of Science.
- WNY Libraries Virtual Union Catalog - WNY area libraries holdings
Career Information
- Chemical & Engineering News Chemjobs (ACS)
- Naturejobs (Nature Magazine)
- PhDs.org: Science, Math & Engineering Career Resources (Geoff Davis) - aims at Ph.D. candidate & job seekers. Includes school rankings at Find the Graduate School That's Right for You.
- Science Careers (Science Magazine)
- Woman-Related Sites in Science & Technology (Joan Korenman)
Compound/Reaction Databases
- Chembank (Harvard Medical School/NCI) - Small molecules bioactive database
- Chemical Structure Lookup Service (NCI CADD Group) - metasearch of over 27 million compounds in over 80 internet chemical databases
- Chemical Thesaurus Reaction Chemistry Database (Meta-synthesis, Inc.) - Open access synthetic route information. Database can be downloaded
- ChemDB - Very large public database of small molecules and related chemoinformatics resources
- ChemFinder - A substructure-searchable small-molecule database
- ChemIDplus (NLM Toxnet) - Structure searchable chemical dictionary
- Lite Version - Name and registry number searching only
- Advanced Version - Additional search features including substructure searching
- ChemSpider (ChemZoo) - Searches Internet compound collections and over 50,000 open access journal articles by keyword, element, substructure, molecular formula, and properties.
- eMolecules Search Engine - 16 million compounds searchable by structure, name, or CAS Registry Number
- Generated Database of Chemical Space of Small Molecules (Jean-Louis Reymond, Univ. of Bern) - downloadable database of all molecules up to 11 atoms (26.4 million compounds) under chemical stability & synthetic feasibility constraints.
- NCI-3D - 2-D & 3-D structure database
- NIST Chemistry WebBook - Most extensive physical property/spectra site on free Web
- PubChem (NLM) - Chemical compound and bioassay public database
- Reciprocal Net (NSDL) - Database of 3-D molecular structures compiled by crystallographers
- ZINC (Univ. of California, San Francisco) - Free database of over 4.6 million commerically available compound designed virtual screening. Entire database is downloable.
Conferences and Meetings
- Chemistry.org Meeting Locator (Maintained by ACS)
- Conferences & Events (Chemistry) (Maintained by RSC)
- MInd: The Meetings Index (InterDok)
- NatureEvents (Nature Magazine)
- Science Meetings and Events (Science Magazine)
Dictionaries, Periodic Tables, & Aids
- Acronyms Database (Indiana University)
- Acronyms and Abbreviations (Wiley Interscience)
- ACS Style Guide, a quick guide to citing (Nan Butkovich, Penn State Univ.)
- CAS Standard Abbreviations and Acronyms
- IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology - Free, online version of the authoritative, classic IUPAC Gold Book
- Periodic Table of Comic Books (Holler & Selegue, Univ. of Kentucky)
- Quick guide to Citing using the ACS
- Symbols.com - Over 2,500 Western signs and ideograms with a unique graphic description search, e.g. symmetric vs. non-symmetrical
- Visual Elements (RSC) - Graphical interpretation of elements
- WebElements (Univ. of Sheffield)
- The Wooden Periodic Table (Theodore Gray) - Has many images of actual elements
Educational Materials & Web Courses
- The ChemCollective (Carnegie Mellon/NSDL) - Virtual labs and scenario-based learning
- Chemistry Textbooks in Print Index (Journal of Chemical Education)
- Clearinghouse for Chemical Information Instructional Materials (Indiana Univ.)
- How Products Are Made (Advameg) - Scores of detailed descriptions from accordions to zirconium. Reliability of information difficult to verify.
- Science Animations (North Harris Community College) - Directory of animations, movies, and interactive tutorial links available on the web.
- Science Education Games & Puzzles (Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility)
- SciTalks: Smart people on cool topics (Lee Vodra) - Excellent science videos, many by propminent researchers. Caution: Videos are self posted. Copyright & accuracy uncertain.
- What's That Stuff (ACS) - Chemical composition of everyday items like Silly Putty and cheese whiz
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students (Penn State Univ.) - a particularly useful and comprehensive guide to good scientific writing.
General Portals and Directories
- About.com Chemistry Directory
- ACS Directory of Graduate Education - Each edition since 1999
- Chemie.de Information Service - Commercial portal & search engine
- Chemical Industry Directory (ChemIndustry.com) - Suppliers, Equipment, Services, Software
- Chemical Information Sources (CHEMINFO) (Indiana University)
- Chemweb Portal (Elsevier) - Free registration
- Federal Research In Progress Database (National Technical Information Service)
- General Chemistry Online (Fred Senese) - Extensive helps for students
- National Science Digital Library (NSDL) - Funded by major NSF grant
- NIST Data Gateway - Access to all databases available from NIST's Standard Reference Data (SRD) collections.
- Science.gov - "FirstGov for Science" gateway
- Scientific and Technical Information Network (DOD Defense Technical Information Center)
- Scirus (Elsevier) - One of largest and best search engines for scientific information
- Virtual Chemistry Center - Martindale's Reference Desk
- WorldWideScience.org - Open access portal & federated search engine covering over 15 countries
- WWW Virtual Library - Chemistry (Univ. of Liverpool)
History of Chemistry
- Chemical Heritage Foundation - History of chemistry with online exhibits
- Chemsoc Timeline (RSC) - Exploration of key history of science events, emphasis on chemistry
- Citation Classics: The human side of scientific papers (Eugene Garfield)
- Museum of the History of Science Image Library (Oxford Univ.) - Over 8,500 images of scientific instruments, manuscripts, portraits, historic photographs, & engravings
- Scientific Timeline: Inventions & Discoveries (Cylive) - Searchable, social collaboratively built listing or 'wiki'. Recommend verifying information in other sources.
- Selected Classic Papers from the History of Chemistry (Le Moyne Univ.)
- Timelinescience
Software
- Data & Property Calculation Web sites (Univ. of Illinois at Chicago)
- Estimation Program Interface (EPI) Suite (U.S. EPA) - Physical/chemical property and environmental fate estimation model calculations
- Journal of Chemical Education:Software - Purchase required
- OSRA: Optical Structure Recognition - converts graphical structures in electronic documents like journal .pdf files into SMILES notation.
- Protein Explorer, formerly RasMol
- The Scientific Web - Aid for locating scientific software
Analytical Chemistry
See also Spectra and Spectral Data (UB Guide)
- Chrom-Ed Series on Chromatography (R. P. W. Scott)
- Elemental composition calculation software (Univ. of Utah)
- Molecular Expressions - Optics & Microscopy (Florida State Univ.) - Fantastic collection of images
- Molecular Formula Generator from M.W. (Cambridge Univ.)
Inorganic/Organometallic Chemistry
- The PGM Database - platinum group metals and their alloys (Johnson Matthey)
Material/Polymer Chemistry
See also Properties Data for Chemicals and Materials (UB Guide)
- The A to Z of Materials (Azom) - Searchable database by keyword, application, and property values
- The Plastics Web (IDES) - Includes pricing, industry directories, data sheets and property information. Some content requires a paid subscription
- Polymer Tradename Index (MatWeb)
- SpecialChem Materials Databases - Separate databases cover cosmetics, coatings & inks, adhesives & sealants, polymer additives & colors, bonding & fastening, and plastics & elastomers
Medicinal Chemistry/Toxicology
See also Compound Databases Section and Resources by Subject: Toxicology (UB Guide) - Many listed databases are freely available.
- AIDSInfo Drug Database (NLM)
- BindingDB (Univ. of Maryland) -30,000 measured affinities to proteins for over 15,000 small molecule ligands
- BioCyc Database - Pathway/Genome Databases
- BRENDA Enzyme Database (Cologne Univ.) - Free to educational institutions
- Chemical & Engineering News Safety Letters (ACS) - Hazardous reactions reported to C&E News
- DAIN Metadatabase of Internet Resources for Environmental Chemicals (Univ. of Kassel)
- DrugBank (Genome Canada/Univ. of Alberta) - Combines detailed data on over 4,300 drugs with comprehensive drug target information
- HazDat Database (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry)
- Human Metabolome Project (Genome Alberta) - Information on over 2,500 molecules produced by metabolic reactions in the body.
- MEDPHYT, The Medicinal Plant Database (Beilstein Institute)
- The Merck Manuals - Medical and drug information
- Protein Data Bank (Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics)
- TOXNET (NLM) - Over a dozen top notch toxicology databases
- ToxSeek (NLM) - meta-search engine that enables simultaneous searching of many Internet toxicology resources including TOXNET, NLM, NIH, WHO, & other U.S. & international governmental agencies.
Organic Chemistry
- Organic Chemistry Portal -includes NMR shift predictions (Reto Muller)
- Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide - educational, directory, search engine metasite
- Organic Syntheses Monograph Series - Wiley (requires free ChemDraw plug-in)
Physical Chemistry
- Atomic Reference Data for Electronic Structure Calculations (NIST)
- Fundamental Physical Constants (NIST)
- Isotopes Project Nuclear Structure & Decay (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab)
- Radiation Chemistry Data Center (Notre Dame Univ. )
Home