return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Cindy Ehlers

Last Updated: 28 Nov 2006





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Children > Children's & Young Adult Literature

    
Children's & Young Adult Literature



   Starting Points
UB Only Literature Resource Center
An excellent first stop for identifying books or authors, or finding critical information. Includes full articles from journals and reference books, and links to suggested websites. Search by a specific title or author, of browse the "Authors by Type" feature and then limit to genres for children or young adults. Select "Research Guide" to learn more about the literary research process.

BISON: The UB Libraries Catalog
Search BISON by keyword or subject to identify materials in the UB Libraries. Sample searches:

Subject: childrens literature
Subject: young adult literature
Subject: young adult fiction
Subject: children-books and reading
Subject: teenagers-books and reading
Subject: preteens-books and reading
Keyword: juvenile and criticism

Browse the subheadings and related subjects to locate additional information. Subheadings like "Bibliography" and "History and Criticism" are very useful.

Print The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English
LOCKWOOD Reference PR 990 .C36 2001
An A-to-Z Reference of children's books written in English from pre-Norman times to 2000. Entries are included for authors, titles, topics and technical terms.

Print The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference PN 1008.5 .C66 2001

Includes over 1,200 biographical and critical entries and nearly 100 articles by experts in the fields of children's and young adult literature. Covers 150 years of literature from around the world.

Print Many Peoples, One Land: A Guide to New Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 1232 .H45 2001
The successor to This Land Is Our Land (LOCKWOOD Reference Z 1037 .H38 1994), this guide covers books of fiction, oral tradition and poetry published from 1994 through 1999.

Print Something About the Author (SATA)
LOCKWOOD Reference PN 451 .S6 1971 to present

Print Something About the Author, Autobiography Series
LOCKWOOD Reference PN 451 .S64 1986 - 1998

Browse in the PN 1008, PR 990, Z 1037 and Z 1200 sections of the LOCKWOOD Reference collection to locate additional materials.

 

Return to Top


divider



Books

The Juvenile Collection - UB Arts & Sciences Libraries

The majority of UB Libraries' books selected for children and young adults are located in the LOCKWOOD Juvenile Collection on the Basement level of Lockwood Memorial Library. Award-winning books are added to the collection regularly and are available for browsing by all library users, and for borrowing by UB students, faculty and staff. Search BISON - UB Libraries Catalog by author or title to locate specific books or try keyword searches to identify titles. Sample searches:

Title: goodnight moon
Author: hodgson frances burnett
Subject: picture books
Keyword: <subject or topic> and juvenile, Examples:
biography and juvenile
anne frank and juvenile
Keyword: picture books and juvenile
Keyword: juvenile fiction


The Goldsman Collection of Literature for Boys - Special Collections, University Libraries

A gift to Special Collections from Beverly Goldsman, this collection contains approximately 550 monographic and serial publications issued in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Included in the collection are the Frank Merriwell, Nick Carter, Rover Boys and Ted Strong adventure stories; the Horatio Alger, Jr., series; and long runs of many adventure story publications issues in serial format. Search BISON - UB Libraries Catalog by author using "Goldsman Collection of Literature for Boys" to see the complete list of titles in the collection. Materials are available in the University Libraries Special Collections department for in-house use. See the University Archives website for hours and other information.


Books about Children's and Young Adult Literature

BISON - UB Libraries Catalog
Search by subject or keyword to locate books of criticism or about the history of children's and young adult literature. Most of the books are located in the LOCKWOOD Book Collection.

Books on the Internet

Digitized Juvenile Literature Collection
http://diglib.lib.fsu.edu/ebind/docs/
A project of the Florida State University Libraries offering access to a small collection of English-language children's books from the early 20th century.

International Children's Digital Library
http://www.icdlbooks.org/
Designed for children ages three to thirteen, this online library is an ongoing, grant-funded project of the University of Maryland offering access to published children's books from around the world. Children are participants are involved in selecting materials for and helping to design the site.

Return to Top


divider



Articles and Reviews

UB Only

Literature Resource Center

UB Only Education Full-Text
UB Only Library Literature & Information Science Full-Text
  Booklist
http://www.ala.org/booklist/
Print Book Review Index
LOCKWOOD Reference (Index Area) Z 1219 .B6 1965 to present
Print Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
LOCKWOOD Periodicals Z 1037 .A1 C4 1958 - 1964, 1966 to present (Current issues arranged by title in LOCKWOOD Current Periodicals area) ASL Multimedia Center Microform Z 1037 .A1 B8 1964 - 1966
  Children's Bookwatch Index (Midwest Book Review)
http://www.midwestbookreview.com/cbw/index.htm
Print Children's Literature Review
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 1037 .A1 C5 1976 to present
Print The Horn Book Guide to Children's and Young Adult Books
LOCKWOOD Reference Z 1037 .A1 H67 1989 to present

 

Return to Top


divider



Additional Websites

These websites offer a wide range of information about children's and young adult literature, including award winners, criticism, compilations, recommendations, reviews and commentaries.

The Children's Literature Web Guide
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/

ISLMC Children's Literature & Language Arts Resources
http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/childlit.htm

Young Adult Literature
http://theliterarylink.com/yalink.html

Association for Library Service to Children (American Library Association)
http://www.ala.org/alsc/

Beyond Nancy Drew: Girls' Literature in the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture

http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/women/beyond-nancy-drew.html

Carol Otis Hurst's Children's Literature Site
http://www.carolhurst.com/

Children's and Young Adult Literature and Culture Links
http://staff.mwsc.edu/~cadden/

Children's Books Central
http://www.eleanorsbooks.com/

Children's Literature
http://www.childrenslit.com/

Children's Literature Publishers
http://acqweb.library.vanderbilt.edu/pubr/child.html

Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
http://www.lib.muohio.edu/pictbks/

Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature

http://www.dawcl.com

Internet Public Library: KidSpace: Reading Zone
http://www.ipl.org/kidspace/browse/rzn0000

Internet Public Library: Teen Space: Good Reads
http://www.ipl.org/div/teenread/

Vandergrift's Children's Literature Page
http://www.scils.rutgers.edu/~kvander/ChildrenLit/index.html

Vandergrift's Young Adult Literature Page
http://www.scils.rutgers.edu/~kvander/YoungAdult/index.html

Young Adult Library Services Association (American Library Association)
http://www.ala.org/yalsa/

YALSA Booklists and Book Awards: http://www.ala.org/ala/yalsa/booklistsawards/booklistsbook.htm


divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility