return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Citing Sources > Journal Articles

    
Journal Articles    


See examples:

From printed journal  |  Article with multiple authors  |  From online-only journal
From online version of print journal
 |  Full-text article from database

From printed journal

APA

Welch, C. (1993). Human rights and African women: A comparison of protection      under two major treaties. Human Rights Quarterly , 15(3), 549-574.

MLA

Welch, Claude. "Human Rights and African Women: A Comparison of Protection under
      Two Major Treaties." Human Rights Quarterly 15.3 (1993): 549-574.

Chicago

Welch, C. 1993. Human rights and African women: A comparison of protection under
   two major treaties. Human Rights Quarterly 15 (3):549-574.

CSE

Citation-Sequence

Welch, C. Human rights and African women: A comparison of protection under
two major treaties. Hum Rights Quart. 1993;15(3):549-574.

Name-Year

Welch, C. 1993. Human rights and African women: A comparison of protection under
two major treaties. Hum Rights Quart. 15(3):549-574.

[The CSE Manual (Scientific Style and Format), 7th edition, recommends that journal titles be abbreviated. A list of authoritative sources for abbreviation can be found in Appendix 29.1 at p. 569. One source is ISI Journal Abbreviations Index found at http://library.caltech.edu/reference/abbreviations/]

Return to Top

Article with multiple authors

APA Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., & Shrader, B. (2007). Toward
     large scale assessment of information and communication technology literacy:
     Implementation considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR: Reference
     Services Review
, 35(1), 8-20.
MLA Sommerville, Mary, Lynn Lampert, Katherine Dabbour, Sallie Harlan, and Barbara Shrader.
     “Toward Large Scale Assessment of Information and Communication Technology
     Literacy: Implementation Considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument.” RSR:
     Reference Services Review 35.1 (2007):8-20.
Chicago

Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., & B. Shrader. 2007. Toward
   large scale assessment of information and communication technology literacy:
   Implementation considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR: Reference
   Services Review
35 (1) : 8-20.

CSE

Citation-Sequence

Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., Shrader, B. Toward
large scale assessment of information and communication technology literacy:
Implementation considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR. 2007;35(1):8-20.

Name-Year

Sommerville, M., Lampert, L., Dabbour, K., Harlan, S., Shrader, B. 2007. Toward
large scale assessment of information and communication technology literacy:
Implementation considerations for the ETS ICT literacy instrument. RSR. 35(1):8-20.

[The CSE Manual (Scientific Style and Format), 7th edition, recommends that journal titles be abbreviated. A list of authoritative sources for abbreviation can be found in Appendix 29.1 at p. 569. One source is ISI Journal Abbreviations Index found at http://library.caltech.edu/reference/abbreviations/]

 

Return to Top

From online-only journal

APA Hill, G.E., Mennill, D.J., Rolek, B.W., Hicks, T.L., & Swiston, K.A. (2006). Evidence
     suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers (Campephilus principalis) exist in
     Florida. Avian Conservation and Ecology, 1(3). Retrieved February 20, 2007, from
     http://www.ace-eco.org/vol1/iss3/art2/
MLA Hill, Geoffrey, Daniel Mennill, Brian Rolek, Tyler Hicks, and Kyle Swiston. "Evidence
     Suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers (Campephilus principalis) Exist in
     Florida." Avian Conservation and Ecology 1.3 (2006). 20 February 2007
     <http://www3.oup.co.uk/mind/>.
Chicago Hill, G.E., Mennill, D.J., Rolek, B.W., Hicks, T.L., and K.A. Swiston. 2006. Evidence
   suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers (Campephilus principalis) exist in Florida.
   Avian Conservation and Ecology 1, no. 3 (December), http://www.ace-eco.org
   /articles/78.html (accessed February 20, 2007).
CSE Hill, G.E., Mennill, D.J., Rolek, B.W., Hicks, T.L., Swiston, K.A. Evidence suggesting that Ivory-billed Woodpeckers (Campephilus principalis) exist in Florida. Avian Conserv Ecol [Internet]. 2006 [cited 2007 Feb 20];1(3). Available from: http://www.ace-eco.org/articles/78.html.

 

Return to Top

From online version of print journal

APA Lelke, I. (2002). Demonstration of the exponential decay law using beer froth [Electronic
     version]. European Journal of Physics , 23(1), 21-26.
MLA

Lelke, Ina. "Demonstration of the Exponential Decay Law Using Beer Froth." European
     Journal of Physics 23.1 (2002). 21 February 2007
     <http://ej.iop.org/links/rMhiCx9Kt/MAg1baPC2xGxh77Sav5vpA/ej2104.pdf>.

Chicago

Lelke, I. 2002. Demonstration of the exponential decay law using beer froth. European    Journal of Physics 23, no. 1 (January), http://ej.iop.org/links/
   rMhiCx9Kt/MAg1baPC2xGxh77Sav5vpA/ej2104.pdf (accessed February 21, 2007).

CSE
Lelke, I. Demonstration of the exponential decay law using beer froth. Eur J Phys. [Internet]. 2002 [cited 2007 Feb 21];23(1). Available from: http://ej.iop.org/links/rMhiCx9Kt/MAg1baPC2xGxh77Sav5vpA/ej2104.pdf

 

Return to Top

Full-text article from database

APA Einstein, A. (1945). A generalization of the relativistic theory of gravitation. The Annals
     of Mathematics
, 46(4), 578-584. Retrieved February 21, 2007, from JSTOR
     database.
MLA

Einstein, Albert. "A Generalization of the Relativistic Theory of Gravitation." The Annals
     of Mathematics 46.4 (1945): 578-584. JSTOR. U Buffalo Lib., Buffalo. 21 February
     2007 <http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/jstor.html>.

Chicago

Einstein, Albert. A generalization of the relativistic theory of gravitation. 1945. The
   Annals of Mathematics
46, no. 4. In JSTOR [database online]. Available from
   University at Buffalo Libraries, http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries (accessed February
   21, 2007).

[Note: The 15th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style does not provide examples of this type of citation. The example above is adapted from the 14th edition (p. 634), and from The Chicago Manual of Style Online, http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html (accessed February 21, 2007). ]

CSE Einstein, A. A generalization of the relativistic theory of gravitation. Ann Math 1945 Oct;46(4):578-584. In: JSTOR [database on the Internet]. New York: JSTOR; c2000-2007 [cited 2007 Feb 21]. [about 7 pages]. Available from: http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0003-486X%28194510%292%3A46%3A4%3C578%3AAGOTRT%3E2.0.CO%3B2-1.

 

Return to Top



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility