return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Citing Sources > Magazine Articles

    
Magazine Articles    

See examples:

From printed magazine  |  From online-only magazine  
From online version of print magazine
 |  Full-text article from database

From printed magazine

APA

Hall, T.D. (2007, February). Race & place: A personal account of unequal access.
      American Libraries, 38(2), 30-33.  

Wielenberg, E. (2006, October 16). I think, therefore I am misunderstood.
      Newsweek, 148(16), 22.

MLA

Hall, Tracie D . "Race & Place: A Personal Account of Unequal Access." American
      Libraries Feb. 2007: 30-33.

Wielenberg, Erik. "I Think, Therefore I Am Misunderstood." Newsweek 16 Oct. 2006:  
      22.

Chicago

Hall, Tracie D. 2007. Race & place: A personal account of unequal access. American
    Libraries,
February.

Wielenberg, Erik. 2006. I think, therefore I am misunderstood. Newsweek, October 16.

CSE

Citation-Sequence:

Hall T. Race & place: a personal account of unequal access. American Libraries 2007 Feb: 30-33.

Name-Year:

Hall T. 2007 Aug. Race & place: a personal account of unequal access. American Libraries: 30-33.

Return to Top

From online-only magazine

APA Rosen, J. (2007, February 16). God and man at American Idol. Slate. Retrieved
      February 21,2007, from <http://www.slate.com/id/2158332/fr/flyout>.
MLA

Rosen, Judy. "God and Man at American Idol." Slate 16 Feb. 2007. 21 Feb. 2007
     <http://www.slate.com/id/2158332/fr/flyout>.

Chicago Rose, Judy. 2007. God and man at American Idol. Slate, February 16.
    http://www.slate.com/id/2158332/fr/flyout (accessed February 21, 2007).
CSE Rose J. God and man at American Idol. Slate [serial on the Internet]. 2007 Feb 16 [cited 2007 Aug 8]. [about 7 paragraphs]. Available from: http://www.slate.com/id/2158332/fr/flyou.

Return to Top

From online version of print magazine

APA Kluger, J . (2007, January 29). The new map of the brain. [Electronic version]. Time,
     169(5),
58-59.
MLA

Kluger, Jeffrey. "The New Map of the Brain ." Time 29 Jan. 2007. 22 Feb. 2007
      <http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1580416,00.html>.

Chicago

Kluger, Jeffrey . 2007. The new map of the brain. Time, January 29.
    http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1580416,00.html.

CSE

[No example provided in current edition.]

Return to Top

Full-text article from database

APA Ferguson, N. (2007 Jan./Feb.). A war to start all wars. Atlantic Monthly, 299(1), 27-
      30. Retrieved February 21, 2007 from the Academic Search Premier database.
MLA

Ferguson, Niall. "A War to Start all Wars." Atlantic Monthly Jan./Feb. 2007: 27-30.
      Academic Search Premier. EBSCO. U. of Buffalo Lib., Buffalo, NY. 21 Feb. 2007
     <http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/>.  

Chicago

Ferguson, Niall. A war to start all wars. 2007. Atlantic Monthly 299, no. 1.  In Academic
    Search Premier [database online]. Available from University at Buffalo Libraries,
    http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries (accessed February 21, 2007). 

[Note: The 15th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style does not provide examples of this type of citation. The example above is adapted from the 14th edition (p. 634), and from The Chicago Manual of Style Online, http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html (accessed February 21, 2007).]

CSE Ferguson N. A war to start all wars. Atlan Mon 2007 Apr;2007. In: Academic Search Premier [database on the Internet]. Ipswich (MA): Ebsco; c2007 [cited 2007 Aug 8]. [about 2 screens]. Available from: http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/search?vid=1&hid=108&sid=147fd66d-c702-4398-a6a6-954c3a010dad%40sessionmgr102.

Retu



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility