return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Citing Sources > Online Sources

    
Online Sources    

See examples:

Web page  |  Online posting  |  Email message
Entry in encyclopedia (online)  |  Online (digitized) collection

Web page

APA

Endangered Species Program. (2007, February 8). U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service.
     Retrieved February 28, 2007, http://www.fws.gov/endangered/

Roberto Clemente. (n.d.). National Baseball Hall of Fame. Retrieved February
     28, 2007, from http://www.baseballhalloffame.org/hofers_and_honorees/
     hofer_bios/Clemente_Roberto.htm

MLA

Endangered Species Program. 8 Feb. 2007. U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. 28 Feb. 2007
     <http://www.fws.gov/endangered/>.

Roberto Clemente. National Baseball Hall of Fame. 28 Feb. 2007
     <http://www.baseballhalloffame.org/hofers_and_honorees/hofer_bios/
     Clemente_Roberto.htm>.

Chicago

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. 8 February 2007. Endangered Species Program.
  
http://www.fws.gov/endangered/ (accessed February 28, 2007).

National Baseball Hall of Fame. "Roberto Clemente."
   
http://www.baseballhalloffame.org/hofers_and_honorees/hofer_bios/
   Clemente_Roberto.htm (accessed February 28, 2007).

CSE Endangered Species Program [Internet]. Washington: Fish & Wildlife Service (US); [updated 2007 Feb 8; cited 2007 Feb 28]. Available from: http://www.fws.gov/endangered/.

Return to Top

Online posting

APA Siemens, G. (2007, February 26). Connectivism: What's happening with content?
     Message posted to http://www.elearnspace.org/blog/
MLA Siemens, George. "Connectivism: What's happening with content?" Online posting. 26
     Feb. 2007. elearnspace Blog. 28 Feb. 2007
     <http://www.elearnspace.org/media/Calgary/player.html>.
Chicago

Siemens, George. 26 February 2007. "Connectivism: What's happening with
   content?" In elearnspace Blog [online discussion board].
   http://www.elearnspace.org/media/Calgary/player.html (accessed February 28,
   2007).

CSE Siemens G (Hospitality Department, Red River College, Winnipeg, MB, Canada). Connectivism: What's happening with content?. In: elearnspace Blog [discussion list on the Internet]; 2007 Feb 26 [cited 2007 Feb 28]. [about 2 screens]. Available from: http://www.elearnspace.org/blog/.

Return to Top

Email message

APA

Electronic discussion list:

Kearns, A. (2007, February 2). Freshmen courses and iPod tours. Message
     posted to ILI-L electronic mailing list, archived at http://lists.ala.org/wws/arc/
     ili-l/2007-02/msg00019.html

Personal communication:

[According to the APA Style manual, a nonarchived email message is not considered recoverable data, and it should not be cited in the reference list. Instead, it should be cited within the text as a personal communication (section 3.102, p. 214).]

MLA

Electronic discussion list:

Kearns, Andrew. "Freshmen Courses and iPod Tours" Online posting. 2 Feb.
     2007. ILI-L Discussion List. 1 Mar. 2007 <http://lists.ala.org/wws/arc/ili-l/
     2007-02/msg00019.html>.

Personal communication:

Widzinski, Lori . "RE: Bald Eagle Sighting." E-mail to Renee Bush. 1 Mar. 2007.

Chicago

Electronic discussion list:

[According to the Chicago Style manual, an email message posted to an electronic discussion list should not be cited in the reference list. Instead, it should be cited within the text as a personal communication (section 17.236, p. 714).]

Personal communication:

[According to the Chicago Style manual, a personal email message should not be cited in the reference list. Instead, it should be cited within the text as a personal communication (section 17.208, p. 706-707).]

CSE

Electronic discussion list:

[No example provided in current edition.]

Personal communication:

Widzinski L . RE: Bald Eagle Sighting [electronic mail on the Internet]. Message to: Renee Bush. 2007 Mar 1 [cited 2007 Aug 8].

Return to Top

Entry in encyclopedia (online)

APA

Humpback Whale. (2007). In Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved July  25, 2007,
     from Encyclopædia Britannica Online: http://www.search.eb.com/eb/article-
     9041510

String theory. (n.d.). Retrieved July 25, 2007, from Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia:
     
http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=String_theory&oldid=147042423

MLA

"Humpback Whale." Encyclopædia Britannica. 2007. Encyclopædia Britannica Online.
     25 July  2007  <http://www.search.eb.com/eb/article-9041510>.

"String theory." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 25 Jul 2007, 18:22 UTC.
     Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 25 Jul 2007 <http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title
     =String_theory&oldid=147042423>.

Chicago

"Humpback whale,"Encyclopædia Britannica,http://www.search.eb.com/eb/article-
   9041510 (accessed July 25, 2007).

Wikipedia contributors, "String theory," Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia,
  
http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=String_theory&oldid=147042423 (accessed July
   25, 2007).

CSE

[No example provided in current edition.]

Return to Top

Online (digitized) collection

APA

Thoroughly Modern Meiko: The Aventures of Muriel Orr-Ewing. Retrieved
     February 22, 2007, from University at Buffalo Libraries, University Archives
     Web site: http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/archives/exhibits/meiko/

MLA

Thoroughly Modern Meiko: The Aventures of Muriel Orr-Ewing. University      Archives, U. Buffalo Lib. 22 Feb. 2007
     <http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/archives/exhibits/meiko/>.

Chicago [No example provided in current edition.]
CSE

[No example provided in current edition.]

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility