return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Citing Sources > Primary Sources

    
Primary Sources    

See examples:

Letter  |  Interview  |  Motion picture (VHS/DVD)
Television program
|  Music recording

Letter

APA

[According to the APA Style manual, a letter is not considered recoverable data, and it should not be cited in the reference list. Instead, it should be cited within the text as a personal communication (section 3.102, p. 214)]

MLA

Wright, Frank Lloyd. Letter to Darwin D. Martin. Dec. 1908. Frank Lloyd Wright and
     Darwin D. Martin Papers. Special Collections, University Archives, U. at Buffalo
     Lib.

Chicago

Wright, Frank L., and Darwin D. Martin. Papers. Special Collections, University
     Archives, University at Buffalo Libraries.

CSE

Citation-Sequence:

Wright F. [Letter to Darwin D. Martin, 1908]. Located at: Special Collections, University Archives, Univ at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY.

Name-Year:

Wright F. 1908. [Letter to Darwin D. Martin]. Located at: Special Collections, University Archives, Univ at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY.

Return to Top

Interview

APA

[According to the APA Style manual, an interview is not considered recoverable data, and it should not be cited in the reference list. Instead, it should be cited within the text as a personal communication (section 3.102, p. 214).]

MLA McClure, Michael. Interview with Craig Frischkorn. Rec. 22 July 1992. Audiotape.
     Michael McClure Interview, Jamestown Community College, 7/22/92.
     Special Collections, Poetry Audiovisual Collection, U. Buffalo Lib.
Chicago

McClure, Michael. 1992. Interview by Craig Frischkorn. Tape recording, 22 July.
   Michael McClure Interview, Jamestown Community College, 7/22/92.    Special Collections, poetry Audiovisual Collection, University at Buffalo Libraries.

CSE

[No example provided in current edition.]

Return to Top

Motion picture (VHS/DVD)

APA

Valdes, D. (Producer), & Eastwood, C. (Producer/Director). (1992). Unforgiven
    
[Motion Picture]. Burbank, CA: Warner Brothers.

Perrin, J., & Barratier, C. (Producer/Directors).(2003). Winged Migration [Motion
     picture]. Culver City, CA: Columbia.

MLA

Unforgiven. Prod. David Valdez. Dir. Clint Eastwood. Perf. Clint Eastwood, Gene
     Hackman, Morgan Freeman, and Richard Harris. Videocassette. Warner Brothers,
     1992.

Winged Migration. Prod. Jacques Perrin and Christophe Barratier. Co-dir. Jacques
     Clusaud and Michel Debats. DVD. Columbia, 2003.

Chicago

Unforgiven. Produced by David Valdez and directed by Clint Eastwood. 131 min.
   Warner Brothers, 1992. Videocassette.

Winged Migration. Produced and directed by Jacques Perrin and Christophe Barratier.
   89 min. Columbia, 2003. DVD.

CSE

Citation-Sequence:

Unforgiven [videocassette]. Valdez D, producer. Eastwood C, director. [Burbank, CA]: Warner Brothers; 1992. 1 videocassette: 131 min, sound, color, ½ in.

Name-Year:

Valdez D, producer. Eastwood C, director. 1992. Unforgiven [videocassette]. [Burbank, CA]: Warner Brothers. 1 videocassette: 119 min, sound, color, ½ in.

Return to Top

Television program

APA

Kirk, M. (Writer and director). 2004, April 15). The man who knew [Television series
     episode]. Boston, In M. Kirk (Producer) Frontline. Boston, MA: WGBH Educational
     Foundation: Public Broadcasting Service.

MLA

The Man Who Knew. By Michael Kirk. Frontline. PBS. WGBH, Boston. 15 Apr. 2004.

Chicago Kirk, Michael. 2004. The Man Who Knew. Frontline. Television program. Boston, MA:
   WGBH Educational Foundation: PBS Video, 15 April.
CSE [No example provided in current edition.]

Return to Top

Music recording

APA

Dylan, B. (2005). No direction home: The soundtrack [CD]. New York: Columbia

Springsteen, B. (1973). Blinded by the light [Recorded by M. Mann]. On The
     roaring silence
[LP recording]. Burbank, CA: Warner Brothers. (1976)

MLA

Dylan, Bob. No Direction Home: The Soundtrack. Columbia, 2005.

Mann, Manfred. "Blinded by the Light." By Bruce Springsteen. The Roaring Silence.
     Warner Brothers, 1976.

Chicago

Dylan, Bob. No Direction Home: The Soundtrack. New York: Columbia, Legacy, 2005.

Springsteen, Bruce. 1976. Blided by the light. The roaring silence. Manfeed Mann.
   Warner Brothers.

CSE [No example provided in current edition.]

Return to Top

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility