return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 


Guide Authors:
Chris Hollister
& Tiffany Walsh
 

Last Updated: July 17, 2008





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Citing Sources

    
Citing Sources    

This guide provides information and examples for citing sources properly according to the following citation style manuals:

  • American Psychological Association (APA), 5th edition
  • Modern Language Association (MLA), 6th edition
  • Chicago Style, 15th edition
  • Council of Science Editors (CSE), 7th edition (formerly CBE)
How to cite sources


Journal articles

  • From printed journal
  • Article with multiple authors
  • From online-only journal
  • From online version of print journal
  • Full-text article from database


Newspaper articles

  • From printed newspaper
  • From online newspaper
  • Full-text article from database
  • From online news service


Primary sources

  • Letter
  • Interview
  • Motion picture (VHS/DVD)
  • Television program
  • Music recording


Conference proceedings, symposia & workshops

  • Proceedings, etc. (print)
  • Proceedings, etc. (CD-ROM/DVD)
  • Proceedings, etc. (online)

Magazine articles

  • From printed magazine
  • From online-only magazine
  • From online version of print magazine
  • Full-text article from database


Books

  • Book with single author
  • Book with two authors
  • Book with three or more authors
  • Electronic book
  • Chapter within book
  • Entry in encyclopedia (print)
  • Book review
  • Thesis or dissertation


Online sources

  • Web page
  • Online posting
  • Email message
  • Book review
  • Entry in encyclopedia (online)
  • Online (digitized) collection


Government documents, technical reports & patents

  • Government documents
  • Technical reports
  • Patents


Guides for other citation styles (off-site)
  • ACS (American Chemical Society)
  • AMA (American Medical Association)
  • Columbia
  • IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
  • Harvard
  • Turabian

Grateful ackowledgement is given to the Duke University Libraries. This site was originally developed from the design of their Citing Sources web guide.

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility