Home > Resources > Resources by Subject > Computer Science >
Internet Resources
Computer Science
Internet Resources
This guide contains selected computer science resources freely available on the Internet. For more on Computer Science, visit the Computer Science and Engineering Department here at the State University of New York at Buffalo.
Meta-sites
- O'Reilly E-Books : Full text of selected O'Reilly books, and several out-of-print books as well.
- Online Books Page : Full text online books in computer science.
- NEC Research Index (CiteSeer) : Research Index is a scientific literature digital library that aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of scientific literature.
- Computer Science Bibliographies : Bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, updated weekly, contains over 2 million references.
- Virtual Museum of Computing: (with historical information)
- Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies : Bibliographies that include over 600,000 references with browse and search features and an FAQ.
- WWW Virtual Library of Computing links
- Intute Computing Gateway : Collection of computer science webpages.
- TechXtra : Meta search engine for various engineering, math, and computer science sources
- Richmond University Computer Science Resources : Has instructional resources and other information.
- Centre for Information and Computer Sciences : Links to various e-publications and book reviews.
Reference Data
- Software Engineering Glossary : By RSPA.
- Glossary of Internet Terms
- Glossary Of Java Technology-Related Terms
- Java & Internet Glossary : Technical terms, HTML-related data, color charts for Web developers, more.
- Whatis : Find out what each computing acronym or word means.
- Internet Acronym Server : Find the meaning of an acronym or submit one of your own.
- Numerical Recipes in C
- On-Line Dictionary of Computing : Searchable dictionary with links.
- Computing Quotes
- Programmer's Heaven
Technical Reports
- xxx.lanl.gov : e-print archive.
- Computing Research Repository : Full text technical reports, and submit your own papers.
- Virtual Tech Reports : Contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds. Some metasites are listed by subject categories, as well as by institution.
- World Technical Reports : Index to 45,000 technical reports from around the world sponsored by the New Zealand Digital Library.
- NCSTRL - Networked Computer Science Technical Report Collection : Based on the CS-TR and WATERS projects, NCSTRL is an international collection of computer science technical reports from computer science and industrial and government research laboratories.
- Center for Research on Parallel Computation (CRPC) On-line Technical Reports
- Hewlett-Packard Laboratories Technical Reports
Career-Oriented Websites
- TechCareers : Job openings, news and discussion forums.
- Career Information from the ACM : Getting an internship, interviewing tips and skill assessment.
- Information Professional's Career Page : Professional job postings and interviewing skills.
- Computerworld : Job listings, stories from the working world, career advice and workplace surveys.
- Women and Minorities in Science and Engineering : Organization, information and biography sites.
- Careers for Women in CS : Listing of groups relating to women in computer science/computing.
General Job Information and Leads
- NationJob Network : job listings.
- ComputerJobs : over 60,000 technical jobs by skill area and location.
- Computing Research Association : academic jobs.
- Dice.com : high tech jobs online with a resume posting service.
- Riley guide to Computing and Technology jobs : job, recruiting, professional society sites.
- ComputerWork.com : resume posting service and searchable job listings.
- Resumes : tips for writing an e-resume.
Professional Societies
- AAAI - American Association for Artificial Intelligence
- ACL - Association for Computational Linguistics
- ACM - Association for Computing Machinery
- AIS - Association for Information Systems
- ICCP - Institute for Certification of Computing Professionals
- IEEE Computer Society
- IFIP - International Federation for Information Processing
- ISOC - Internet Society
- SIM - Society for Information Management
Teaching & Education
- "Is Teaching Computer Science Different from Teaching Other Sciences?"
- Exciting ways and methods to teach computer science
- Computer Science Education
- ACM Special Interest Group on Education (SIGCSE)
- Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education
- Computer Science Teaching Center : contains lots of reviews and teaching resources .
Home