return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Chris Hollister

Last Updated: 20 Nov 2006





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Current Events / News > Current & Controversial Issues

    
Current & Controversial Issues

This guide lists sources of information to assist students in researching current and controversial issues. All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries or on the World Wide Web.

  • Getting Started
  • Books
  • Articles
  • Web Sites

 

Getting Started

The sources listed below are useful starting points for the research process. They are databases that provide encyclopedic information on the facts, events, and opposing arguments of current and controversial issues.

UB Only CQ Electronic Library
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/cq.html
UB Only Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/viewpoints.html

NOTE: These databases are restricted to current UB students and staff. Current UB students and staff connecting off-network will be prompted for a user name and password.

Return to Top


divider



Books

Finding Books in BISON (UB Libraries Catalog)
There are four basic ways of searching for books and other materials in BISON. One can search by author, title, keyword, or subject, each of which is demonstrated below. Each of these search methods are demonstrated below. For additional searching assistance, review the UB Libraries Web Catalog Help page, or consult with a reference librarian.

Sample AUTHOR search: rushdie, salman
Sample TITLE search: opposing viewpoints
Sample KEYWORD search: marijuana and controversy
Sample SUBJECT search: whaling--japan

Book Series
The following titles are series dedicated to current and controversial issues. The books contained in these series are not shelved in any one location. Instead, they are shelved by their individual titles, according to the Library of Congress Classification System , which allows for easy browsing of the library collection. NOTE: To browse the books published in these series, search the UB Libraries Catalog by series title.
  • At Issues Series
  • Contemporary Issues Companion
  • Current Controversies
  • Opposing Viewpoints
  • Opposing Viewpoints Digest
Return to Top


divider



Articles

The periodical databases listed below are specific and general sources for finding refereed and popular literature on current and controversial issues. Students can use these databases to search through thousands of newspapers, magazines, and journals all at once, and to find articles that are specifically about their research topic. For additional searching assistance, review the ASL Finding Articles guide, or consult with a reference librarian.

UB Only Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary periodical database that provides coverage from over 8,200 scholarly, trade, and general-interest publications.
UB Only Lexis-Nexis (Academic Universe)
Provides full-text articles and reports from more than 6,000 magazines, newspapers (including the New York Times), wire services, legal resources, reference books, and government publications from around the world.

NOTE: These databases are restricted to current UB students and staff. Current UB students and staff connecting off-network will be prompted for a user name and password.
Return to Top


divider



Web Sites

For additional web searching assistance, review the Using Web Resources and Thinking Critically About Discipline-Based WWW Resources guides, or consult with a reference librarian.

  • Homework Center Directory of information sources on controversial social issues.
  • Hot Paper Topics Links to statistics, laws, court decisions, research, and other information on controversial topics.
  • Yahoo! Issues and Causes Directory of controversial issue links.
  • Nationalissues.com Non-partisan site that presents both sides of major national issues.
  • Public Agenda Online Source for public opinion and policy analysis.
  • YouDebate.com Source for pro and con debates on controversial issues.
Return to Top


divider

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility