return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Chris Hollister

Last Updated: 1 Apr 2008





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Careers > Researching Prospective Employers

    
Researching Prospective Employers

This guide lists sources of information to assist students who are researching prospective employers. All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries or on the World Wide Web.

  • Getting Started
  • Books
  • Databases
  • Web Sites


Getting Started

NOTE: Materials shelved in reference collections must be used within the libraries. They do not circulate.

The National Job Bank
UGL/SEL reference collection:
HF5382.5 U5 N34

Business First of Buffalo Book of Lists
UGL/SEL reference & Lockwood Library:
HC108.B8 B84

Summer Jobs in the USA
UGL/SEL reference collection:
HF5381.S8

Hoover's Masterlist of U.S. Companies
UGL/SEL reference collection:
HG4057.H66

International Job Finder
UGL/SEL reference collection:
HF5549.5.E45 L38

Job Search Handbook for People with Disabilities
UGL/SEL reference collection:
HV1568.5 R93

Return to Top


divider



Books

There are four basic ways of searching for books and other materials in BISON (the UB Libraries online catalog): by author, title, keyword, or subject heading. Each of these search methods are demonstrated below. For additional assistance, review the UB Libraries Web Catalog Help page, or Contact A Librarian.

Sample AUTHOR search: ryan, daniel
Sample TITLE search: guide to internet job searching
Sample KEYWORD search: jobs and information technology
Sample SUBJECT search: vocational guidance--united states

NOTE: To browse the library reference or circulating collections for books on prospective employers, go to the stacks that have call numbers ranging from HF5381-HF5382.5.
Return to Top


divider



Databases

The databases listed below are useful sources for exploring careers. Students can use these databases to search for professional organizations, or to search for articles about careers in newspapers, magazines, or journals. For additional searching assistance, review the ASL Finding Articles guide, or Contact A Librarian.

UB Only Business Source Complete
Indexes more than 4,100 journals, including 3,300 full-text titles, covering nearly all areas of business, management, economics, finance, accounting, and more. Also provides company profiles.
UB Only Hoover's Company Records
Provides profiles of approximately 15,000 of the largest public and private companies worldwide.
UB Only Reference USA
Online directory of over 12 million US public and private companies.

For additional databases, refer to the UB Libraries' Business page. NOTE: These databases are restricted to current UB students and staff. Current UB students and staff connecting off-network will be prompted for a user name and password.
Return to Top


divider



Web Sites

The following web sites have been selected by Librarians and Career Services Counselors as being the best Internet resources for information on career planning. For additional web assistance, review the Using Web Resources page, or Contact A Librarian.

  • BestJobsUSA.com
  • CareerBuilder.com
  • CareerOneStop
  • College Grad Job Hunter
  • Cost of Living Calculator
  • EmploymentGuide.com
  • FedJobs.com
  • I am Buffalo Niagara: Jobs
  • Idealist.org
  • IMDiversity.com
  • Indeed
  • InternJobs.com
  • Jobs.com
  • JobWeb
  • New York's JOBBANK
  • NonprofitEmployment.com
  • StudentJobs.gov
  • SummerJobs.com
  • US Department of Labor: Employment and Training Division
  • WorkZoo.com
Return to Top


divider

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility