return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Nancy Schiller

Last Update: 28 July, 2008





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Properties Data > Properties Data for Chemicals & Materials


Properties Data for Chemicals & Materials

  • Best General Sources
  • Property Resource Directories
  • Chemicals
  • Metals & Alloys
  • Polymers & Plastics
  • Other Materials (Ceramics, etc.)
  • Environmental & Toxicological Properties
  • Phase Diagrams
  • Semiconductors


Best General Sources

UB Only Knovel E-Books: Science and Engineering
This database provides full-text access to an online collection of over 800 science and engineering reference books, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Mark's Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. Many of the books are enhanced with interactive tables, graphs, and equation plotters that allow you to manipulate and customize the data.

UB Only CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
This classic handbook contains hundreds of tables of the critically evaluated data most frequently needed by scientists. The handbook is revised annually. Coverage includes analytical chemistry, astronomy, atomic & molecular physics, biochemistry, constants & units, electrochemistry, isotopes, fluid properties, geophysics, health & safety information, materials properties, nuclear & particle physics, polymer properties, and thermochemistry.

Public
NIST Chemistry WebBook
This database contains high quality data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Up to 45 thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics properties are available for over 40,000 compounds. Included is reaction thermochemistry data and a variety of spectra, when available. The database is predominantly organic with a few small inorganic compounds. To browse other high quality NIST databases, visit the NIST Data Gateway which provides information for over 94 NIST databases (note: some are not free.)

Public MatWeb: The On-line Materials Information Resource
MatWeb provides free materials property data for over 25,400 materials. Included are polymers, metals, alloys, superalloys, ceramics, glass, fibers, composites, semiconductors and aerogels. Up to 75 properties are available for each material. Searching can be done by material type, trade name, specification number, manufacturer, up to three different property ranges, and alloy composition ranges. For a small subscription fee, additional features and search options are available.

Public ChemFinder
This is the largest free property site on the Web (over 75,000 compounds). It provides the structures, synonyms, CAS registry numbers, and up to nine physical properties directly for each compound. Beyond this, ChemFinder is a metasearch engine, searching over 350 web sites and displaying direct links to these sites. The links are arranged into several categories including biochemistry, health, MSDS, physical properties, regulations, and usage. A full listing of all sites searched is available.

Print

Thermophysical Properties of High Temperature Solid Materials
This major multi-volume set covers specific heat, thermal expansion, viscosity, thermal diffusivity, thermal radiative properties, thermal conductivity, and thermal expansion for a wide range of materials. Available in print only in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Capen Hall under the call number UGL/SEL REF QC173.397.P87.

UB Only SciFinder Scholar
Created by Chemical Abstracts Service, this database system provides detailed access to the properties of chemicals and many other types of substances via the largest substance database in the world and a very large database of references to journal and patent literature. Substance records now contain a long list of calculated and experimental properties.

Print

Landolt-Bornstein Numerical Data & Functional Relationships in Science & Technology is currently available only in print in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection (call number: UGL/SEL REF QC61.L3).

  • LB-Comprehensive Index 1996 - Also available in print (Call number: UGL/SEL REF QC61 .L332 Index) and on CD-ROM in the Capen reference area.
  • Substance/Property Index (Univ. of Hamburg) - Searchable by chemical name, formula, elements, element system, substructure, and CAS registry numbers
  • Table of Contents

Return to Top


divider



Property Resource Directories

SEL Materials Properties Locator Database : This database helps to identify handbooks and other reference sources in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection that contain specific material properties data. The online database can be searched by keyword or combinations of keywords and phrases. The records in the database describe the scope and organization of each reference work, the materials and properties covered, and the call number for the book in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection.

10 Tips for Finding Property Data : This web site, created by Linda Shackle of the Noble Library at Arizona State, focuses on the process for finding property information rather than being a list of databases and other resources.

Thermodynamic Data and Property Calculation Sites on the Web
: Extensive "meta-site" maintained by the Thermodynamics Research Laboratory at the University of Illinois-Chicago. The following directories and guides prepared by other university librarians whose holdings will not exactly match the print and electronic resources available to UB patrons. To check if the UB University Libraries owns a particular resource cited in the directories below, search for it by title in BISON the UB Libraries Catalog . Thermodex: An Index of Selected Thermodynamic Data Handbooks : Developed by the General Libraries at the University of Texas at Austin, this database contains records for over 120 printed handbooks and compilations of thermodynamic and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and will return a list of handbooks that might contain this data.

Arizona State University Index to Physical, Chemical, and Other Property Data : This web page starts with a brief, but well chosen, list of general reference sources and then provides a list of over 400 properties with live web links or print citations.

Duke University Chemical & Physical Properties in the Library : The Duke University properties page focuses on local print sources for 69 properties. However, some good web links are also provided.

Indiana University CHEMINFO SIRCh Physical Properties : Any one spending any time in the field of chemical information quickly becomes familiar with this premier scientific information web site maintained by Gary Wiggins of Indiana University . Though annotations are limited, the page is well organized. Of special value is the ability to keyword search across the entire CHEMINFO site and a back-of-the-book alphabetical index to the site.

Vanderbilt University Finding Chemical & Physical Properties : Extensive and easy-to-navigate web directory arranged by over 100 physical properties. Free and subscription web sources are included along with the print sources under each property.


Return to Top


divider



Chemicals (See also Environmental & Toxicological Properties Section )

Beyond the resources listed in the Best General Resources Section .

UB Only Chemical Properties Handbook: This online handbook, available to the UB community through Knovel, contains properties data for both organic (C1 to C28) and inorganic (Ag to Zn) substances for a range of temperatures and conditions. All tables are interactive, and most also contain live equations for easy calculation and plotting of the properties. Also available in print in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Capen under the call number UGL/SEL REF TP200 .Y35 1999.

UB Only Beilstein CrossFire: This database is the single, most complete properties data file covering over 9 million organic and natural product chemical compounds compiled from nearly 2 million literature and patent references. In most cases, the actual property values are provided, not just a literature reference to the data. Included are physical, pharmacological, and ecological property data and spectra literature references.

Print

Gmelin's Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry (print only) is an extensive multi-volume collection of data information equivalent to Beilstein for inorganic and organometallic compounds. The print volumes are available on the 1st floor of Capen under call number UGL/SEL REF QD 151.G63. The print edition ceased publication at the end of 1997; however UB's subscription ended in 1993, though a few post-1993 volumes have been acquired. Though many of the volumes are in German, English table of contents and section headings in the page margins are provided for all but the very oldest volumes.

Public

ChemExper Chemical Director: This web site provides a metasearch of over 70,000 chemicals from more than 20 supplier catalogs. The directory can be searched by registry number, molecular formula, chemical names, physical and chemical characteristics, and substructure. Links are provided to the supplier's web site and to 16,000 MSDS, mostly from Acros. Only the basic properties are directly provided: density, melting point, boiling point, and flash point. However, links to the full-text of the MSDS will usually provide some additional properties.

Public

CODATA Key Values for Thermodynamics: The Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) has established internationally agreed upon values for the thermodynamic properties of key chemical substances. Use of these recommended, internally consistent values is encouraged in the analysis of thermodynamic measurements, data reduction, and preparation of other thermodynamic tables.

UB Only

International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (National Research Council/Knovel) and Knovel Critical Tables - The International Critical Tables, a classic source for physical properties, has now been extended by Knovel.

Public

IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database: This database contains mutual solubility and liquid-liquid equilibrium data tables for 4,400 systems of up to 4 components. The data is taken from selected volumes of the IUPAC Solubility Data Series originally published by Pergamon Press. The complete set of the print volumes are found under various call numbers in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Capen Hall. Simply search the BISON Catalog by the series titles, Solubility Data Series.

Print The Dictionary of Organic Compounds (Chapman & Hall) is available in print (call number UGL/SEL REF QD251.D49 1982 ) and as a CD-ROM near the UGL/SEL Reference Desk on the 1st floor of Capen Hall. Basic properties are given for a large number of chemicals.

Print The Merck Index is available in print (call number UGL/SEL REF RS356.M524) and as a structure-searchable CD-ROM near the UGL/SEL Reference Desk on the 1st floor of Capen Hall. In addition to basic properties, includes a concise history of the preparation and use of nearly 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.

Public

The TRC Comprehensive Index on CD-ROM provides a master index to a little known, but superb set of data compilations by the Texas Engineering Experiment Station. Thermodynamics Research Center. The CD-ROM is mounted on a workstation opposite the UGL/SEL Reference Desk on the 1st floor of Capen Hall. The index entries reference a number of printed loose-leaf sets on the reference shelves.

Public WebElements: An interactive periodic table containing property data for all known chemical elements.

Return to Top


divider



Metals and Alloys

Beyond the resources listed in the Best General Resources Section.

UB Only ASM Online Handbooks: Online access to the full text of the 21-volume ASM Handbook series as well as the multi-volume ASM Engineered Materials Handbook and the ASM Metals Handbook - Desk Edition. Coverage includes metals as well as nonmetallic structural materials including plastics, ceramics, and composites, with detailed information on materials properties, processes, performance, manufacture, and selection. The print edition of the ASM Handbook is shelved in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Capen Hall under the call number UGL/SEL REF TA459 .A5 10th.

UB Only Aluminum Alloy Database: This database, available through our subscription to Knovel, provides physical, mechanical, and chemical properties of both wrought and cast aluminum alloys.

UB Only Smithells Metals Reference Book (7th ed): This classic handbook, available online through UB's subscription to Knovel, contains information on the technology and science of metallic materials including physical, chemical, electrical, mechanical, and magnetic properties of metals. A print copy of the 8th edition is available in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection under the call number UGL/SEL REF TN671 .S55 2004.

UB Only Metallic Materials Properties Development and Standardization: The 2003 Metallic Material Properties Development and Standardization (MMPDS) Handbook is the replacement document for MILHDBK- 5. It is recognized internationally as a reliable source of aircraft materials data for aerospace materials selection and analysis, with sections on steel, aluminum, magnesium, titanium and their alloys as well as other, miscellaneous alloys and hybrid materials.

Public The PGM Database: Created by Johnson Matthey, this database provided detailed properties of platinum group metals and their alloys including phase diagrams.

Return to Top


divider



Polymers & Plastics

UB Only Polymer Data Handbook: This handbook provides concise information in tabular format on the syntheses, structures, properties, and applications of polymeric materials. This resources is also available in print in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Capen Hall, call number UGL/SEL REF TA455 .P58 P675.

Print

Engineered Materials Handbook: Engineering Plastics , Vol. 2 : This print handbook, shelved in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Capen Hall under the call number UGL/SEL REF TA403.E497 1987 v.2, includes physical, electrical, optical, thermal, mechanical, and chemical properties for all forms of engineering plastics. Each section is arranged by polymer class and covers all aspects of the technology.

UB Only

Polymer Handbook: This handbook contains over 70 tables with data and constants for polymers. Tables are divided into eight sections: nomenclature rules; polymerization and depolymerization; physical properties of monomers and solvents; physical data of oligomers; physical constants of important polymers; solid state properties; solution properties; and abbreviations of polymers. Also includes phase diagrams. The print edition is shelved in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection under the call number UGL/SEL REF QD388.P65.

Public

Plastics Additives Database: Specialchem operates a set of free information services to link users and suppliers of plastic additives. A 9,500 product database from about 260 suppliers can be searched by additive function, base polymer, trade name, supplier, and keywords. The search can be limited to additives approved for food contact. Technical articles, datasheets, links to supplier web sites, and Web forms for requesting quotations, technical data, or samples are available. Free registration is required to display much of the information.

Public

Plastics Technology Materials Database: Plastics Technology Magazine provides information on over 13,190 grades of plastics. They are searchable by about 60 properties, supplier name, resin family, descriptive terms like color, and price ranges. As expected, properties related to processing and use of plastics such as cure time, melt viscosity, impact strength, and flammability are emphasized.

UB Only CRC Handbook of Thermodynamic Data of Aqueous Polymer Solutions
CRC Handbook of Thermodynamic Data of Copolymer Solutions
CRC Handbook of Thermodynamic Data of Polymer Solutions at Elevated Pressures
Set of three handbooks available to the UB community through the University Libraries' subscription to CRC Press' e-books service ENGnetBASE.

UB Only Fatigue and Tribological Properties of Plastics and Elastomers: This handbook, available through the UB Libraries' subscription to Knovel, represents a collection of test results for over 100 plastics and elastomers for various fatigue and tribological properties. Results are presented in textual, graphical and tabular formats.

Return to Top


divider



Other Materials

Beyond the resources listed in the Best General Resources Section .

Public

Biomaterials Properties Database : Tables of property data provided as a service by the University of Michigan-NIDR Materials Science Research Center at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry.

UB Only Handbook of Biomaterial Properties : This handbook, available through the UB Libraries' subscription to Knovel, provides materials data for both implantable biomaterials and natural tissues, organs, and fluids.

Print Food Properties Handbook : This print handbook contains a variety of properties data for food. It is shelved in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection under the call number UGL/SEL REF TX541 .F67 1995.

Public
NIST Ceramics WebBook : This resource consists of two searchable databases, High-Temperature Superconductors (WebHTS) and Structural Ceramics (WebSCD) , and one browsable collection of property data summaries ( WebPDS ) for six categories of ceramics. The superconductor database provides evaluated thermal, mechanical, and superconducting properties for oxide superconductors. Materials are searchable by chemical family, informal name, structure type, and desired property. The structural database provides evaluated data for a wide range of structural, engineering, and fine ceramics.

Public

NIST Heat Transmission Properties of Insulating and Building Materials : This database contains thermal conductivity data from over 2,000 measurements covering materials typically used in building construction including concrete, fiberboard, plastics, thermal insulation, and rubber. The data cover a temperature range corresponding to most building applications.

Public Solv-DB : Sponsored by the National Center for Manufacturing Sciences (NCMS), at least 224 solvents can be searched by eight different parameters including solvent name, CAS registry number, molecular formula, and chemical category. Nine different properties are range searchable including flash point, vapor pressure, density, and surface tension. Up to 33 more properties can be displayed for each solvent. Extensive information is provided for each solvent with display of health, safety, regulatory, and environmental fate data.

Return to Top


divider



Environmental & Toxicological Properties

Public TOXNET : Created by the National Library of Medicine, TOXNET is a set of high quality databases that provides extensive summary information on the environmental and toxicological properties of substances. One of the best TOXNET databases to start with is the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB ), which is a carefully reviewed summary of 4,700 compounds with all information on each compound appearing in a single, well-structured record.

UB Only Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Chemicals : Compiled by Karel Verschueren and available via Knovel , this reference work contains extensive information related to environmental effect and fate of organic chemicals. It is also available in the 2-volume print edition on the first floor of Capen Hall under the call number UGL/SEL REF TD196 .O73 V47 2001.

UB Only Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects : This 2005 electronic version of the original seven-volume reference work published by the Royal Society of Chemistry is available to the UB community through the University Libraries' subscription to Knovel. It contains information on approximately 5,300 chemicals and their impact on the environment. Includes detailed information about the toxicity of the chemicals, physical properties and regulatory requirements. The information can be accessed through a live summary table that links to the detailed summaries or by browsing the table of contents for a specific chemical.

UB Only Handbook of Hazardous Chemical Properties : This book, available via Knovel, provides chemical specific information pertinent to safe handling and transportation of chemicals, worker protection, emergency response information to address spills, explosions on fire situations, and chemical stability/reactivity data.

UB Only

Environmental Contaminant Reference Databook: This three-volume book, available via Knovel, focuses on the environmental effects of potentially dangerous, federally regulated chemicals as well as those chemicals of special interest to safety professionals. Includes physical, chemical, and biological properties of environmental chemicals and mixtures.

Public

Physical Properties Database - PHYSPROP : The Syracuse Research Corporation has developed a series of environmental chemistry databases containing chemical structures, names, and physical properties for over 25,250 chemicals. Some of the values are estimated rather than experimental. Up to eight physical properties are provided: m.p., b.p., water solubility, octanol-water partition coefficient, vapor pressure, pKa (acidity), Henry's law constant, and OH rate constant in the atmosphere.

UB Only Patty's Toxicology (5th Edition) : This new 5th edition offers toxicological data on industrial chemicals that pose potential health hazards to workers. Patty's is available to UB faculty, students, and staff through our subscription to Knovel.

UB Only Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials (10th Edition) : Includes comprehensive hazard information on substances encountered in the workplace. Available to the UB community through the UB Libraries' subscription to Knovel.

UB Only Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens (4th Edition) : The electronic version of the fourth edition of this classic title, available via Knovel, is the most complete reference available providing information on almost 1,400 of the most heavily used, transported, and regulated chemical substances of occupational and environmental concern.

Print Illustrated Handbook of Physical-Chemical Properties and Environmental Fate For Organic Chemicals (Lewis Publishers) compiled by Donald MacKay is an extensive collection of data contained in a multi-volume set. These volumes are shelved in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Capen Hall under the call number UGL/SEL REF TD196.O73 M32 1992.

Return to Top


divider



Phase Diagrams

Print Phase Diagrams for Ceramists, National Institute of Standards & Technology, 12 vols. plus index UGL/SEL Ref QD501 .L592.

Print Phase Diagrams: A Literature Source Book, J. Wisniak, 2 vols., 1981 + 1986 Supplement UGL/SEL Ref QD503 .W575

Print Binary Alloy Phase Diagrams, T. Massalski, 3 vols., 2nd ed., 1990 SEL UGL/Ref TN690 .B528

Print Ternary Alloys, G. Petzow & G. Effenburg, 6 vols., 1988-1993 UGL/SEL Ref TN690 .T438

Print Handbook of Ternary Alloy Phase Diagrams, American Society for Metals, 10 vols., 1997 UGL/SEL Ref TN690 .V493

Return to Top


divider



Semiconductors

UB OnlyThrough the UB Libraries' subscription to Knovel, UB has online access to the following titles in the INSPEC EMIS Datareview Series, which provide selected properties data:

Properties, Growth and Applications of Diamond
Properties of Aluminum Gallium Arsenide
Properties of Amorphous Carbon
Properties of Amorphous Silicon and its Alloys
Properties of Crystalline Silicon
Properties of Gallium Arsenide
Properties of Indium Phosphide
Properties of Lattice-Matched and Strained Indium Gallium Arsenide
Properties of Lithium Niobate
Properties of Narrow Gap Cadmium-based Compounds
Properties of Porous Silicon
Properties of Silicon Carbide
Properties of Silicon Germanium and SiGe: Carbon
Properties of Wide Bandgap II-VI Semiconductors


Return to Top


divider

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility