return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Fred Stoss
Last Updated: 2 Dec 2007

 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Ecology & Environment > The Great Lakes

The Great Lakes

Meta-Sites University at Buffalo Libraries

  • EPA's Great Lakes National Program Office (GLNPO) - GLNPO brings together federal, state, tribal, local, and industry partners in an integrated, ecosystem approach to the protection, maintenance, and restoration of the chemical, biological, and physical integrity of the Great Lakes. Highlights of the GLNPO website include:
    • Great Lakes Environmental Indicators
    • Visualizing the Great Lakes, including:
      The Great Lakes: An Environmental Atlas and Resource Book
    • Profile of Lake Erie
    • Profile of Lake Ontario
    • Ecopage: Great Lakes Ecological Protection and Restoration
  • UB Great Lakes Program - The mission of the Great Lakes Program is to develop, evaluate, and synthesize scientific and technical knowledge on the Great Lakes ecosystem in support of public education and policy formation.
    • Great Lakes Legislators' Database
  • International Joint Commission (IJC) - IJC is a bilateral agency representing the interests of Canada and the U.S. under the 1909 Boundary Waters Treaty. Of primary interest are the issues involving the boundary and other transboundary waters, including those of the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement. IJC's interests include water and air quality issues. IJC issues a variety of reports, including 1997-1999 Priorities and Progress Under the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement, as well as the news magazine Focus, with online coverage beginning in 1995.
  • Great Lakes Commission - The Great Lakes Commission was created in 1955 to serve a steward for the environmental quality of the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence region. The Commission addresses a variety of issues involving "environmental protection, resource management, transportation and economic development, and provides services ranging from policy development and regional advocacy, to communications, coordination and research."
  • Great Lakes United - Great Lakes United is an international coalition dedicated to preserving and restoring the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence River ecosystem. It is made up of member organizations representing environmentalists, conservationists, hunters and anglers, labor unions, community groups, and citizens of the United States, Canada, and First Nations and Tribes.
    • The Road to Zero? U.S. Federal and State Regulatory Support for the Great Lakes Binational Toxics Strategy, January 1999
    • The Fate of the Great Lakes: Sustaining or Draining the Sweetwater Seas? February 1997
  • Great Lakes Information Network (GLIN) - GLIN is a cooperative project of agencies and organizations in the U.S. and Canada. Its purpose is to provide a single place for people to find information related to the environment and economy of the world's largest freshwater system. Its web pages contain a wealth of data and information about the environment and the economy of the Great Lakes region.
  • The Great Lakes: Hydrology, Areas of Concern, Fish, Water Quality, Facts and Figures, etc.
  • Great Lakes Newsletters
  • Buffalo District of the Army Corps of Engineerings - This site provides a wealth of technical data and information on hydrology, emergency operations, regulatory, and contractual information concerning water resources and water quality, and waste remediation efforts in the Lake Erie and Lake Ontario jurisdiction of the Buffalo District.
  • The Great Lakes - Extensive inventory of Great Lakes Web sites. Many of them provide environmental, ecological, or other scientific and technical information, including several electronic maps.
Return to Top

Zebra Mussel Information Resources

Selected Internet Sites

  • Great Lakes Information Network Overview of Zebra Mussels , including an animated map showing national zebra Mussel distribution.
  • Great Lakes Panel on Aquatic Nuisance Species, with access to position papers, newsletter, annual report, meeting summaries, and listserv.
  • Sea Grant National Aquatic Nuisance Species Clearinghouse, providing access to an extensive technical library of publications related to the spread, biology, impacts, control of the zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha and Dreissena bugensis).
  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineer's Zebra Mussel Research Program, with links to research reports and technical notes.
  • USGS Zebra Mussel Information Resources; includes a year-to-year (1988-1999) list of maps that trace the spread of zebra mussels from the Great Lakes to the Mississippi River and the entire eastern part of the U.S.
  • Invasive Species Internet resources via the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) website.
  • Purdue University's Sea Grant Zebra Mussel (Dreissena polymorph) website, with links to the abstracts of an interactive bibliography of research reports and papers related to biological and ecological aspects of the zebra mussel.
  • Wayne State University's Zebra Mussel Page, includes a zebra mussel slideshow, glossary, and FAQ.

Selected SEL Books

    Zebra Mussels: the Great Lakes' Latest Menace, by Suzanne Kehn Turner, Albany, N.Y. : The New York State Senate Majority Task Force on Zebra Mussels, 1990.
    SEL QL430.7.D8 T87 1990

    The Zebra Mussel Dreissena Polymorpha: Ecology, Biological Monitoring and First Applications in the Water Quality Management, edited by Dietrich Neumann and Henk A. Jenner, Stuttgart ; New York : G. Fischer, 1992.
    SEL QL430.7.D8 Z43 1992

    Zebra Mussels and Aquatic Nuisance Species, edited by Frank M. D'Itri; Boca Raton, Fla. : Lewis Publishers, 1997.
    SEL QL430.7 .D8 Z44 1997

    Zebra Mussels: Biology,Impacts, and Control, edited by Thomas F. Nalepa, Donald W. Schloesser, Boca Raton, FL : Lewis Publishers, 1993.
    SEL QL430.7.D8 Z45 1993

    Practical Manual for Zebra Mussel Monitoring and Control, by Renata Claudi and Gerald L. Mackie, Boca Raton, FL : Lewis Publishers, 1994.
    SEL TD427.Z43 C58 1994

Return to Top

Data Files

  • Great Lakes Geological and Geophysical Data, including depth profiles and lakefloor topography.
  • Great Lakes Wind and Wave Data
  • New York Surface Water Conditions, including current and historical surface water levels collected by or on for the U.S. Geological Survey for Lake Erie, the Niagara River, Lake Ontario, and the St Lawrence River.
Return to Top
divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility