return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Chris Hollister

Last Updated: 29 Nov 2007





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Fairy Tales, Folklore & Mythology

    
Fairy Tales, Folklore & Mythology

This guide lists sources of information to assist students in researching fairy tales, folklore and mythology in literature.All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries or on the World Wide Web. For more information Contact A Librarian.

  • Getting Started
  • Books
  • Articles
  • Web Sites

Getting Started

NOTE: Materials shelved in reference collections must be used within the libraries. They do not circulate.

  • Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend
    UGL/SEL reference collection:
    BL303 M45 1988

  • Encyclopedia of Folk Heroes
    UGL/SEL reference collection:
    GR35 S4 2001

  • Funk & Wagnalls Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology, and Legend
    UGL/SEL reference collection:
    GR35 F82 9 (2-volume set)

  • Index to Fairy Tales, 1987-1992
    Lockwood Library reference collection:
    GR550 S67 1994
  • Index to Fairy Tales, 1973-1977, Including Folklore, Legends, and Myths in Collections
    Lockwood Library reference collection:
    GR550 I73 1979

  • Index to Fairy Tales, Myths, and Legends
    Lockwood Library reference collection:
    GR550 E2 1926

  • Mythologies
    UGL/SEL reference collection:
    BL311 D513 1991 (2-volume set)

  • Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
    Lockwood Library reference collection:
    PN3437 O94 2000
Return to Top


divider



Books

There are four basic ways of searching for books and other materials in BISON (the UB Libraries online catalog): by author, title, keyword, or subject heading. Each of these search methods are demonstrated below. For additional assistance, review the BISON Help page, or Ask Us.

Sample AUTHOR search: zipes, jack david
Sample TITLE search: hero with a thousand faces
Sample KEYWORD search: fairy tales and grimm
Sample SUBJECT search: fairy tales--history and criticism

Browsing for Books
All books in the Arts and Sciences Libraries are shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification System , which assigns a specific sequence of call numbers for each academic discipline. This allows for easy browsing of the library collection. To look through the books about fairy tales, folklore and mythology, go to the reference or circulating collections in Lockwood Library or in the Undergraduate Library, and find the shelves with call numbers that correspond to the subject matter that is listed below:

For books about... Call numbers begin with...
Fairy tales PN
Folklore GR
Legends GR
Mythology BL
Return to Top


divider



Articles

The periodical databases listed below are specific and general sources for finding refereed and popular literature on fairy tales, folklore and mythology. Students can use these databases to search through thousands of newspapers, magazines, and journals all at once, and to find articles that are specifically about their research topic. For additional searching assistance, review the ASL Finding Articles guide, or Ask Us .

UB Only Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary periodical database that provides coverage from over 8,200 scholarly, trade, and general-interest publications.
UB Only JSTOR
Full-text periodical database that provides coverage from over 450 scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes art and art history, folklore, language and literature, and other areas related to the arts and humanities.
UB Only Literature Online
Provides full text of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, criticism and reference materials.
UB Only Literature Resource Center
Provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers over 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
UB Only MLA International Bibliography
Contains citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations published on literature, modern languages, linguistics, and folklore.
UB Only Project Muse
Provides full-text online editions of over 100 scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

NOTE: These databases are restricted to current UB students and staff. Current UB students and staff connecting off-network will be prompted for a user name and password.
Return to Top


divider



Web Sites

The following web sites were selected by librarians as being among the best Internet resources for information on fairy tales, folklore and mythology. For additional web assistance, review the Using Web Resources page, or Ask Us.

  • Web Sites
    • Aesop's Fables
    • Classic Fairy Tales.com
    • Encyclopedia Mythica
    • Fairy Tales: University of Maryland
    • Fairy Tales: Online
    • Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
    • Grimm Fairy Tales Menu
    • Jean Hersholt: The Complete Andersen
    • Legends - Fairy Tales
    • Mythology
    • Myths & Legends
    • Tales of Wonder: Folk and Fairy Tales from Around the World
  • Online Journals & Zines
    • Fables: Folklore and Speculative Fiction
    • Marvels & Tales
Return to Top


divider

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility