return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Media Study > Film Reviews
    
Film Reviews

This guide lists sources of information for finding film reviews. All of the sources listed can be found in the University at Buffalo's Arts & Sciences Libraries (ASL), or on the World Wide Web.

  • Getting Started
  • Books
  • Articles
  • Web Sites

Getting Started

NOTE: Materials shelved in reference collections must be used within the libraries. They do not circulate.

  • Film Literature Index
    Lockwood reference (indexes):
    AI 3 .A27
  • Film Review Annual
    Lockwood reference:
    PN 1995 .F463
  • Film Review Index
    Lockwood & UGL/SEL reference:
    PN 1995 F513
  • Guide to Critical Reviews: Part IV, The Screenplay
    Lockwood reference:
    Z 5782 .S342 pt. 4
  • Index to Critical Film Reviews in British and American Film Periodicals
    Lockwood reference:
    PN 1995 B64
  • International Index to Film Periodicals
    Lockwood reference (indexes):
    Z 5784 .M9 I54
  • Magill's Survey of Cinema: Foreign Language Films
    Lockwood reference:
    PN 1993.45 .M34
  • Media Review Digest
    Lockwood reference:
    Z 1219 .M85
  • New York Times Film Reviews
    Lockwood & UGL/SEL reference:
    PN 1995 .N4
  • Readers Guide to Periodical Literature
    Lockwood reference (indexes):
    AI 3 .R4
  • Selected Film Criticism
    Lockwood reference:
    PN 1995 .S426
  • Variety Film Reviews
    Lockwood & UGL/SEL reference:
    PN 1995 .V34
Return to Top


divider



Books

Finding Books in BISON (UB Libraries Catalog)
There are four basic ways of searching for books and other materials in BISON (the UB Libraries online catalog): by author, title, keyword, or subject heading. Each of these search methods are demonstrated below. For additional assistance, review the UB Libraries Web Catalog Help page, or Ask Us .

Sample AUTHOR search: maltin, leonard
Sample TITLE search: ecrits de cinema
Sample KEYWORD search: film and criticism
Sample SUBJECT search: motion pictures--reviews
Return to Top


divider



Articles

The periodical databases listed below are useful sources for finding film reviews and film criticism articles. Students can use these databases to search through thousands of newspapers, magazines, and journals all at once, and to find articles that are about their specific research topics. For additional searching assistance, review the ASL Finding Articles guide, or consult with a reference librarian .

UB Only AFI Catalog (American Film Institute)
Provides information on over 45,000 films, including more than 17,500 made in the early years of film from 1893 to 1910.
UB Only Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary periodical database that provides coverage from over 8,200 scholarly, trade, and general-interest publications.
UB Only JSTOR
Provides full-text coverage of Cinema Journal (1966-2001), Journal of the Society of Cinematologists (1961-1965), Film Quarterly (1958-2002), Quarterly of Film Radio and Television (1951-1957), Hollywood Quarterly (1945-1951), PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art (1998-1999), and Performing Arts Journal (1976-1997).
UB Only MLA International Bibliography
Provides citations to articles, books and dissertations on film criticism and interpretation.
UB Only Project Muse
Provides full-text coverage of Camera Obscura (2000-2004), Cinema Journal (1999-present), Film & History: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Film and Television Studies (2004-present), Film History: An International Journal (2005-present), The Moving Image (2003-present), Wide Angle (1996-1999), and other journals on drama, theater, and the performing arts.

NOTE: These databases are restricted to current UB students and staff. Current UB students and staff connecting off-network will be prompted for a user name and password.
Return to Top


divider



Web Sites

The following web sites were selected by librarians as being among the best Internet sources for film reviews. For additional web searching assistance, review the ASL Finding Web Resources guide, or consult with an ASL reference librarian.

  • Film.com
  • Internet Movie Database
  • IOFILM: Inside Out Film
  • Metacritic
  • MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
  • New York Times Film Reviews
  • Yahoo Movie Reviews
Return to Top


divider




 


 

divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility