Home > Resources > Resources by Subject > Genealogy Research in the UB Libraries

Genealogy Research in the UB Libraries

This guide will highlight specific resources available in the University at Buffalo Libraries that might aid your genealogical research. The scope of the guide is Buffalo and the Western New York area. The library does not have a separate section for genealogy, nor do we have a genealogist on staff, but our reference librarians are available to answer questions for you.  The Buffalo and Eire County Historical Society Research Library posts a list of researchers for hire.

Basics

The UB Libraries own many books about conducting genealogical research. Use BISON – Catalog to do a subject search for Genealogy or United States —Genealogy. Many of these titles will be located in Lockwood Library and have call numbers beginning with CS.

Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
This site provides thousands of links to genealogical related materials. The sites are categorized and cross-referenced. It contains general as well as locale-specific links.

New York County and Regional Histories and Atlases
Capen Multimedia Center MicFilm F119 N49
A collection of 116 reels of microfilm of county histories of New York. Most histories contain maps, listing of businesses, churches, schools, biographies, and illustrations. The index to the collection is Reel Index to the Microform Collection of New York County and Regional Histories and Atlases. Capen Multimedia Center Reference F 119.N49 Reel Index

Return to Top

Census Records

Schedule of the Federal Population Census, Erie County , New York 1820-1880, 1900-1930
Capen Multimedia Center MicFilm F 127 E6 S2
These are the Federal census records. The Libraries own the 1820-1880 and 1900-1930 federal census records for Erie County , City or Buffalo and some surrounding counties. Details are at Federal Population Census Rolls Microform Profile .

Buffalo & Erie County : Buffalo & Town Census Records 1855-
Capen Multimedia Center MicFilm F 127 E6 B8
These are the State census records. The Libraries own 1855, 1865, 1875, 1892, 1905, 1915, and 1925. Details are at StateCensus Rolls Microform Profile .

1890 New York Census Index of Civil War Veterans or their Widows
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche E 494 D583 1984 Fiche 1-4

This is often used as a substitute for the lost 1890 Federal Census.

City, County, Town and Township Index to the 1850 Federal Census Schedules
Lockwood CS 65 P37
Helps to determine the county location of cities and towns (census schedules are arranged by county.)

Free Black Heads of Households in New York State Federal Census, 1790-1830
Lockwood Reference E 185.93 N56 E37; Lockwood E 185.93 N56 E37

Heads of families at the first census of the United States taken in the year 1790. New York
Lockwood Documents US C 3.11: N 42y
Also available online at http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS48015

Index to the 1800 Census of New York
Capen Multimedia Center Reference F 118 A76 1984

Map Guide to the US Federal Censuses, 1790-1920
Lockwood Reference G 1201 F7 T5 1987
Shows U.S. county boundary maps for the census decades superimposed on modern county boundaries. Use to determine which county census you need. This information is also online as County Formation Maps.

New York in 1800; An Index to the Federal Census Schedules of the State of New York , with other Aids to Research
Lockwood Reference F 123 M159

Union List of Federal Population Census Schedules on Microfilm in Western New York Libraries
Lockwood Reference and Capen Multimedia Center Reference Z 7554 U5 S64 1986
Lists all the federal census microfilms owned by several nearby libraries.

Buffalo and Erie County Public Library owns copies of additional census records and indexes; see Genealogy and Heraldry, BECPL.

The UB Libraries have microfilm of federal census schedules for some additional counties. Do a subject search in BISON for NEW YORK STATE —CENSUS to locate them.

Return to Top

City Directories

City directories list residents, business, houses of worship, etc, by address, by telephone number, and alphabetically.

Buffalo City Directory (title may vary)The libraries own a number of city directories, both Buffalo and suburban. The holdings are described on the Help A-Z InfoPage City Directories .

City Directories of the United States through 1860 (segment I)
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche: E 154.5 D4
        All U.S. directories, including Buffalo , up to 1860.

City Directories of the United States , 1861-1881 (segment II)
Capen Multimedia Center MicFilm: E154.5 D41
Only the following cities are included:
Albany N.Y. , Brooklyn , N.Y. , Buffalo N.Y. , New York N.Y. , Philadelphia P.A.,
Pittsburgh P.A., Rochester N.Y. , Syracuse N.Y. , and Troy N.Y.

City Directories of the United States , Buffalo N.Y. 1861-1935
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche: E154.5 D412For detailed information about the microform collection, see City Directories Microform Profile.The public library also has old city directories, see http://www.buffalolib.org/ebranch/askus/faq.asp#gro

BuffaloResearch.com has a page of information about city directories and links to some digitized directories.

Return to Top

Newspapers

The Libraries have Buffalo area newspapers on Microform in the Capen Multimedia Center . The most popular for genealogical research will be:

Buffalo News (title varies) MicFilm AN 256 B84 1881-1925, 1958-present
Courier Express (title varies) at MicFilm AN 256 B832 1842-61, MicFilm AN 256 C6 1979-82.

 Details are in the guide: Newspaper Collections

If you need an obituary from a Buffalo newspaper, but do not have the date of death, try the SSDI (Social Security Death Index ) .

Return to Top

Tax Rolls

Buffalo City Tax Rolls
This microfiche collection reproduces tax rolls for the city of Buffalo for some of the years between 1846 and 1866. Property owner's name is included. For details, see Buffalo City Tax Rolls Microform Profile .

See Buffalosearch.com's Vital and Original Records page for additional information about local tax records.

Return to Top

Web Sources

Return to Top