Geography & Maps: Internet Resources
Here are selected geography and map resources available on the Internet and in the UB Libraries. For more on geography, visit the Geography Department here at the State University of New York at Buffalo. For more on maps and mapping, visit the UB Libraries Map Collection.
Career Information
- GISCareers.com. Posted jobs and resumes online. Posting resumés is free.
- Careers in Geography. Site from Association of American Geographers. Also provides answers to questions on various careers in geography, as well as help on deciding what you might want to do for a career. Has a link: Job-Search and Internship Guide For Geographers.
- Departments of Geography in Canada. Listings for geography departments in Canadian universities.
- Earthworks links to jobs, degree programs, for related professions.
- Geography Departments Worldwide. Searchable database of geography departments around the world. Currently has links to 893 Departments in 78 Countries.
- Ryerson Polytechnic University. School of Applied Geography program.
- Syracuse University, Department of Geography.
- See also Professional Societies for more career-related materials.
Electronic Journals & Books
BooksJournals
- The American Practical Navigator: an epitome of navigation / originally by Nathaniel Bowditch; prepared and published by the National Imagery and Mapping Agency. Complete text of the latest edition online. To access: click on "Find...Publications" then select from "menu options" box at top.
- American Practical Navigator (1995 edition).
- Coordinates. (Coordinates: Online Journal of the Map and Geography Round Table, American Library Association) e-journal only. Articles on maps, geography, and map collections.
- Electronic Green Journal
- GeoWorld (available through GeoPlace.com)
- GPS World
- Network Newsletter
- Spatial Odyssey : is a collaborative effort to provide access to the full text of GIS conference proceeding articles.
Geographic Information Systems
Start with the UB Libraries guide ESRI Virtual Campus Course to begin using ArcView and related products. Online tutorials are offerred along with links to helpful resources.
Many GIS products and data sets are also available from US, state, and foreign government websites (see Maps: Government Resources ). For topographic and satellite maps see Map & Satellite Image Database. For GIS of WNY region, see Erie and Niagara County GIS.
GIS Sites and Resources
- Geographical Information Systems Basics (USGS). Good introduction to GIS, including: data input and how data layers are shown. This is a good page to show someone who does not understand GIS.
- GIS Dictionary. Database of terms, acronyms, and other GIS/cartographic words. (Association for Geographic Information, University of Edinburgh Dept. of Geography).
- GIS Glossaries. Additional glossaries/dictionaries of GIS and Cartographic terms.
- Arc-Info Introductory Tutorial. Not a tutorial but an introduction to working with Arc-Info.
- ArcView 3.2 Tutorial. Also links to ArcGIS 8.2 tutorial and related resources.
- Bird's Eye View GIS. GIS technology service with emphasis on "solving the world's mounting ecological, economic and social problems." Company's focus is on environment, nature, and human ecology.
- Boston Atlas. ( Boston Redevelopment Authority ). Excellent example of GIS. Boston maps and satellite imagery with layers for dates from early Boston to the present.
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics Mapping Center (US-DOT). Data sets on various aspects of transportation and infrastructure.
- County GIS Sites for New York State. County official GIS; added as they go online.
- Dictionary Of Abbreviations And Acronyms In Geographic Information Systems.
- Digital Map of the World (MapInfo format). Vector map of the world, in MapInfo TAB format based upon the 1:1,000,000 Operational Navigation Charts & DCW from the U.S. Department of Defense. DMW is the most detailed 1:1,000,000 world map in MapInfo format.
- Erie County GIS. Collection of GIS sites for Erie County, NY. Niagara County, NY is also available.
- ESRI (Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc.). The leading GIS company.
- Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative (ECAI). This site features cartographic tools for "visualizing and analyzing historical and cultural phenomena." Users may create "maps based on a theme, era and region." The "Projects" section provides examples, and the "Participating" section provides instructions. Also includes information about the underlying technology. Note: Access to some datasets requires a password. Sponsored by the University of California, Berkeley.
- Geo Directory of Products and Services (Geo Resources). Directory of organizations, agencies, commercial companies, GIS, mapping, and other products and services.
- Geologic map databases for the United States: Delaware, Maryland, New York, Pennsylvania, and Virginia (Open-File Report (2005-1325)). Geological maps, data, and metadata for 5 states. Useful for GIS applications with Arc Export, ArcView shapefiles, and Attribute Tables.
- Geographic Information and Analysis Laboratory. SUNY Buffalo.
- Geographic Resources Analysis Support System
- Geography Network provides GIS data, links to shared data sets, and all sorts of useful mapping assistance. Includes current event data and other special sets.
- GIS Data Depot. Provides FREE GIS data downloads from over a terabyte of GIS data and creates custom spatial data CD-ROMs as an alternative.
- GIS Gateway (U.S. Bureau of the Census). Offers connections to many Geographic Information Systems (GIS) resources available on the Internet.
- GIS Introduction. Class notes, including glossaries, instructional pages, concepts, and basics. Also has links to other GIS resources.
- GIS WWW Resource List. By several people in the Department of Geography in the University of Edinburgh, in collaboration with the Association for Geographic Information.
- GIS Resource Centre (UNIGIS). Loaded with instructional and other materials, data sets, more.
- GIS MGRS Grid Data layers and UTM zones in GIS Format. Shape files.
- Graphical Locater. Primarily for data on hydrologic regions (HUC), but also has data for most features. Using a map, locate geographical features and find coordinates, hydrologic data on the feature (and USGS topo map info).
- Great Lakes Information Network Maps and GIS page.
- Great Lakes Bathymetry (NOAA/NGDC). Data sets for each lake, plus other data, including ArcIMS Map Interface to Bathymetric Contours.
- HazardMaps.gov. (FEMA) GIS atlas of hazards and potential disasters in the U.S. Data sets and maps available for download.
- Mapquest
- National Gap Analysis Program (GAP). A G eographic A pproach to P lanning for Biological Diversity (USGS program). GIS system providing regional assessments of the conservation status of native vertebrate species and natural land cover types and to facilitate the application of this information to land management activities.
- New York GAP Analysis - Part of the GAP program. Involves mapping the distribution of animals and plants on land and in aquatic ecosystems. This site links to a variety of GAP Analysis Maps for birds , reptiles and amphibians , mammals , and land use and vegetation.
- National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis (University of California at Santa Barbara, University at Buffalo , and University of Maine).
- New York State Gazetteer & GeoData Collection. This UB Libaries page provides a gazetteer, along with the digital collection of downloadable USGS topographic maps, such as georeferenced Digital Raster Graphics (DRG's). These maps are suitable for both general use and GIS applications.
- New York State GIS Clearinghouse. The place to go for NYS data and related resources.
- New York State County GIS sites. County official GIS; added as they go online.
- Niagara County GIS. Niagara County site.
- Ontario Basic Mapping. View/create maps showing a variety of layers.
- Spatial Data Sources. Links to a wide range of GIS resources.
- SpatialNews. Commercial site, but has the latest news and developments in GIS.
- Tiger Database. U.S. Census. Offers GIS and various data sets on the Census reports.
- TOXMAP. A Geographic Information System (GIS) from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that uses maps of the United States to help users visually explore data from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory (TRI). TOXMAP maps show where chemicals are released on-site into the air, water, and ground, and identify the releasing facilities, single year releases, and chemical release trends over time. TOXMAP provides information/links from these databases:
- Perseus Atlas Project. A GIS for building and developing maps.
- USGS Maps and Aerial Photo Images Online. Compilation of links to selected USGS Business and Cooperative Research and Development Agreement partner sites where you may view USGS maps and aerial photo images from your Web browser.
- Digital GIS Data Websites (Stanford University Libraries). Links to data sets; well-organized. Federal, State, and International GIS sources. Key themes include: San Francisco and California, as well as, GIS data by topic (e.g., Meteorological Data, Archaeology, Business, Humanities, Marine Biology). See also their GIS Data Bookmarks for more.
Global Positioning System (GPS)
- GPS World - Home Page
- GPS Introduction page (Garmin). What it is, how it works, how to start working with GPS. Also has sections on advanced concepts, such as WAAS (Wide Area Augmentation System).
- GPS Tutorial (Trimble). GPS tutorial designed to provide a good basic understanding of the principles behind GPS without too much technical detail. More technical detail is also provided at this site
- How GPS Receivers Work. (HowStuffWorks.com). Basics with illustrations and diagrams showing the system. Also has more pages on specific details.
- Guide to GPS Resources. Links to a variety of GPS pages.
- GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System). (Formerly the International GPS Service) (IGS JPL-NASA), along with a multinational membership of organizations and agencies, provides GPS orbits, tracking data, and other high-quality GPS data and data products on line in near real time to meet the objectives of a wide range of scientific and engineering applications and studies.
- The Global Positioning System. GPS overview and bibliography by Peter H. Dana, The Geographer's Craft Project, Department of Geography, The University of Colorado at Boulder.
- FAA GPS Website. The Federal Aviation Administration site contains basics, technical aspects, regulations, and policies on use, among other resources. A valuable site.
- Global Positioning Systems (GPS) Resource Library (GPSy). Software applications, data sets, and other resources for GPS users.
- Geocaching - The Official Global GPS Cache Hunt Site. Become more efficient with your GPS while having fun at the same time. Provides additional data and learning activities
- Global Positioning System page (U.S. Forest Service). Not limited to Forest Service activities. Has reports and reviews of equipment, data sets, tests, more.
- Global Positioning System Primer. Teaches basics and more advanced principles of GPS and its uses. (Aerospace Corporation).
- GPS Map and Tour Guide Authoring Resources. Using GPS, create your own travel maps.
- Time Converter for GPS Seconds.
- GPS Glossary (Garmin).
- GPS Drawing. Global Positioning System drawing project. See GPS used to create art. Quite an interesting application.
- US Naval Observatory (USNO) GPS Operations. Technical data and information on the entire satellite system and how it is coordinated.
- GPS Utility (software). Computer program for handling GPS information.
- NMEA-0183 and GPS Information. Peter Bennett. GPS nautical and land data and applications.
- Xastir. The Xastir APRS/Mapping program now supports USGS DRG geotiff topo maps, which are available for most areas of the U.S. for free. The total number of map formats that this program can handle is up to 114. Xastir has compiled and run successfully on Solaris, FreeBSD, Linux, and Mac OS X to date. Sorry, we don't do Windows.
- Transverse Mercator Calculator. A useful tool for GPS users.
- See also: UTM and UTM Calculation
Maps and Mapping
- Topographic Maps. Introduction and links to resources and tutorials on how to read, interpret, and use topographic maps.
- Digital Backyard: Topographic Maps (USGS Terraserver). How to read topographic maps. Describes map symbols, projections, terms, and concepts.
- Relief maps. by Sadalmelik. Well-drawn relief maps of many countries in: Africa, Asia, Central & South America, Indonesia (some main islands), various Pacific islands and island groups, among others.
- Using the Latitude Longitude Coordinate System. Instructions and tools. Also links to using the UTM system.
- Cartography Resources: Commercial Mapping
- USGS Geography Educational Materials. For teachers and students. Lessons and exercises in geography, map reading and use, geological study, and other topics. Also has great links to additional student/teacher sites online.
- Geography (World Wide Web Virtual Library).
- Geology and Earth Science Hotlinks. Websurfer's Earth Science Review page. Links to Geography, mapping, GIS and related sites.
- Finding Your Way With Map and Compass. USGS publication on reading and using maps. USGS has other Factsheets on a variety of mapping topics, such as: How to Obtain Aerial Photographs, Map Accuracy Standards, Map Scales.
- Glossary of Terms for Fundamentals of Physical Geography.
- History of Cartography. Six-volume, online scholarly book, plus exhibits and other resources on the history of cartography from pre-historic maps to the present.
- How to Make a Map in Illustrator. Tutorial on making maps.
- Dictionaries and Glossaries of Geographic, Cartographic Terms (UB Map Collection). Lists best resources available. Also includes acronym dictionary.
- Map Cataloger's Tool Box. Complete source for catalogers of maps, atlases, and cartographic materials. Also includes explanations of map-related concepts, samples of different types of maps, and gazetteers, among other resources.
- Map Curator's Toolbox. An online source of information and help for map curators, librarians and archivists, sponsored by the Map Curators' Group of the British Cartographic Society.
- Maps Locator A megalinks listing of maps by the University of Iowa Center for Global & Regional Environmental Research.
- Map Transformation Calculator. Pick three widely-spaced sample points on the map (a broad triangle covering a large portion of the map is best), for which you know the precise geographical location, and tile coordinate.
- National Geographic Society. Covers all aspects of geography and maps, with links to additional major sources.
- National Mapping Program Standards (USGS).
- Celestial Navigation Resources (US Naval Observatory). All sorts of documents and resources.
- New York State Highways. Empire State Roads. (not a government site--uses NYS data). A website featuring satellite images of cities and towns across New York State. Also covers route markers, road information, and a great deal of material on infrastructure. Further NYS maps and routes resources are:
- Counties: Map showing boundaries and names for all 62 counties in New York State. Clicking on county will take you to the roads route listing for that county.
- County Highways. Lists road names/numbers for each county (e.g., Erie , Niagara )
- County Seats : Shows seat of government for each county.
- Cities : New York State has sixty-two Cities, shown here. They range in population from less than three thousand to over seven million, although most are between ten and thirty thousand. Cities are not the only large municipalities in the State: the largest Village, Hempstead, is more populous than all but twelve of the true Cities, and a few unincorporated places are larger still. Also a list of all Cities, arranged by population (1990 census).
- Villages : As of 1998 there are 554 incorporated Villages in New York. This map locates each with a dot (larger dots show Cities, smaller dots are used for villages in Rockland, Westchester and Nassau Counties because of scale).
- Towns : All of the land in New York State lies in either a Town or a City, never both. While not all counties contain Cities, all except the five boroughs of New York City do contain Towns, and these are outlined on the map.
- Official Road Map of Ontario (Ontario Ministry of Transportation). pdfs of the map in sections. Select a region and get the map.
- On-Line Resources for Land Surveying and Geomatics.
- Perseus Atlas Project
- Handbook of Magnetic Compass Adjustment (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency). Earth magnetic fields and how to compensate for navigation.
- Transportation Maps (Selected list)
- Subway Route Finder (Page & Moy travel agency). Subway route maps and information for major cities worldwide, including New York, Toronto, London, Paris, and others.
- Subway Maps [of world cities] (Amadeus Global Travel Distribution). Select maps for cities on five continents.
- Subway Page: Links to World Subway and Other Transportation Information Resources. Subway and various methods of transportation maps and data, for many cities around the world.
- See also: Transportation Maps at UB.
UTM and UTM Calculation
- UTM Grid Zones of the World. World map and explanation of how to determine UTM coordinates.
- Universal Transverse Mercator (UTM) Grid Fact Sheet 077-01 (August 2001). How to read UTM coordinates. (Also pdf version)
- How to Use UTM/MGRS Coordinates. Instructions and tools.
- UTM Grid Fact Sheet (USGS)
- UTM Utilities (National Geodetic Survey). Convert Lat/Long to UTM or UTM to Lat/Long.
- Converting Latitude/Longitude to Universal Transverse Mercator (UTM) (GPSy website). Converters that can also be used on a Mac or PC.
- UTM conversion library written in Perl
- UTM conversion library written in Python
- GIS MGRS Grid Data layers and UTM zones in GIS Format. Shape files.
- Converting UTM to Latitude and Longitude (Or Vice Versa) (University of Wisconsin-Green Bay. For math formulae and spreadsheets.
- GEOTRANS Geographic Translator (US National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency). Software and source code. GEOTRANS (Geographic Translator) is an application program for easy conversion of geographic coordinates among a wide variety of coordinate systems, map projections, and datums.
- Geographic/UTM Coordinate Converter. Simple converter for online conversion.
Map Collections
Map Collections (Directories)
- University at Buffalo Map Collection. On the collection, and: resources, maps and charts, links to local government and other map and geography sources, GIS, as well as special pages: Buffalo, New York Neighborhoods Map , Buffalo, NY in Maps , and others.
- Afriterra. Cartographic library assembling and preserving original rare maps of Africa.
- Alabama Maps (University of Alabama). Maps covering world, countries, states. Maps include: outline, historical, current, in pdf, jpeg, and Mr. Sid. Has: Historical Map Index; Contemporary Map Index.
- American Geographical Society Digital Map Collection (American Geographical Society Library). Historic and rare maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. The main library site leads to more map collections.
- American Memory Map Collections (Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress). Includes historic and other maps, with a variety of search indexes.
- American University Campus Maps. Locate campus maps online.
- Arctic and North Polar Region Maps (Rasmuson Library, University of Alaska Fairbanks). Collection of published and manuscript maps from the 19th century on.
- Arizona Electronic Atlas (University of Arizona Library). E-maps of: Natural Resources, People and Society, Business and Economics, and Environment and Population. The map and associated data can be printed or downloaded.
Bodleian Library Map Room- CIA World Factbook Reference Maps. Has digital maps of world nations and regions.
- Cornell University Map Collection. Includes collection descriptions (and some digital maps), GIS of state and regional topics, links to other map/cartographic resources.
- David Rumsey Historical Map Collection. Amazing digital collection of 10,000+ rare 17th-19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials, with additional historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa. Includes visual arts collections.
- Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative (ECAI). This site features cartographic tools for "visualizing and analyzing historical and cultural phenomena." Users may create "maps based on a theme, era and region." The "Projects" section provides examples, and the "Participating" section provides instructions. Also includes information about the underlying technology. Note: Access to some datasets requires a password. Sponsored by the University of California, Berkeley.
- Electronic Map Library at California State University, Northridge. Includes the Digital Atlas of New York City and many other unique maps.
- Geographica Library of Congress maps using the National Geographic Society Map Machine.
- Harvard Map Collection
- Hipkiss's Scanned Old Maps. Variety of scanned maps, travel maps, etc.
- Historic USGS Maps of New England & New York. University of New Hampshire, Dimond Library Digitized collection of topographic maps of New England states from the 1890s to 1950s. New York State is also available. See SAMPLE map.
- Historic Topographic Maps. (MapTech commercial site; some restrictions for use). Provides direct access to image files of historic topo maps for states, including: Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia.
- Historical Atlas of Europe. Interactive atlas covers Europe, by century, in two periods: Europe 1-1000 A.D.; 1100 to 2000. Samples: 1; Rome 100; 1000; 1500; 2000.
- Images of maps. (Web index). List of digitized maps of many nations, regions, islands, and other coverage. Listed by filename but may contain maps that are not readily found elsewhere.
- John R. Borchert Map Library. University of Minnesota (Twin Cities).
- Linguistic Maps (Mutur Zikin). Extensive collection of detailed maps showing languages spoken, by country, continent, and region. Also has regional linguistics maps for the United States.
- Lunar Topographic Orthophotomap (LTO) Series. Digital images of 1:250,000 scale maps produced by the Defense Mapping Agency. Other digital atlases of the Moon (and other planetary bodies) are available from the main site of the Lunar and Planetary Institute.
- Map And Geographic Information Center (MAGIC). University of Connecticut. GIS, aerial imagery, conventional maps. Emphasis on Connecticut, but has more.
- National Atlas of the United States. Interactive map of the United States allowing the user to "map more than 2 million geographic names" in a series of map layers.
- National Geographic Map Machine (National Geographic Society). GIS and maps. Has a variety of map types. There is also a Student Edition of the Map Machine.
- New York Public Library Map Division.
- NOAA Historical Map and Chart Collection. Office of Coast Survey collection of historical maps and charts in digital scanned form.
- Osher Map Library and Smith Center for Cartographic Education. University of Southern Maine, Portland. Collection includes rare and unique maps dating back to the 15th century.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection. University of Texas at Austin. This is one of the most comprehensive sources for digitized maps and for links to maps in other collections. Several feature pages to view are:
- Maps of Current Interest. Maps of places in the news.
- International Map Source. An excellent source of electronic maps of other countries and historical maps.
- State University of New York at Stony Brook Map Library. Includes: New York State Map Pathfinder. Digital images of maps of New York State (historic maps, panoramic maps, many other).
- Subway - Historical Maps of New York City's Subway system. Also go to main map page , which has route maps and related maps, as well as NYC Omnibus Corp. maps.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Collections. Sanborn maps for NYS and U.S.
- Temple University Libraries: Sanborn Digital Collection (Philadelphia). See the Paley Librarys Map Reference Collection. A diverse collection with many maps.
- University of Alabama Map Collection
- University of California at Berkeley Map Collection. Collections include, maps, atlases, aerial photos, and other materials. Has links to good collections, mapping Web resources.
- Earth Sciences & Map Library (UC Berkeley). Facsimiles and Reproductions of rare maps.
- University of Chicago Map Collection
- University of Georgia Libraries Rare Map Collection
- University of Victoria, British Columbia, Map Library. Collection with emphasis on Canada. Includes a aerial photo collections and links to the national aerial photo database.
- Water Resources of Europe (United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)). Maps of water usage, water resources, major watersheds, and other topics.
- World Mapper. An excellent source for maps of the World that show demographics, economics, and other statistical sets. Almost 400 maps that display data by varying the size of each country based on statistical data sets.
- Yale University Map Collection.
- Odden's Bookmarks: The Fascinating World of Maps and Mapping. Thousands of map collection links by a professor emeritus of the Universiteit Utrecht.
- Canadian Map Library & Archive Sites on the Internet
- Directory of U.K. Map Collections Online
- GIS in Canadian Libraries
- New York State Map Pathfinder. State University of New York at Stony Brook site. Links to digital images of maps of New York State (historic maps, panoramic maps, many other).
- Maps Locator A megalinks listing of maps by the University of Iowa Center for Global & Regional Environmental Research.
- Online Research Resources (UIUC Library).
Good directory of electronic map resources that are accessible to anyone.
Satellite Images, Aerial Photography, and Map Databases
These are websites that allow you to search for places, coordinates, and then see high resolution (down to 1 meter) images of those places. Uses USGS topographic map, GIS, and satellite imagery from other countries. Images can be downloaded or purchased (high-quality).
Western New York satellite images are available at the sites below; for local imagery, see: Western New York in Maps, Charts, and Images; and Aerial Photographs of Western New York.
United States Images
- Seamless System (USGS). US and Foreign GIS. control layers and move in to.3 meter resolution (in some cases).
- MyTopo.com. Create custom topo maps and aerial images from USGS base topos and satellite images. You can download copies or order high quality copies (prices are reasonable).
- Live Search Maps.Using USGS and other data, locate a fixed address or place, then navigate to see satellite or oblique (bird's eye) imagery. Covers US (data density based on area) and some World locations in various levels of completeness.
- National Air Photo Library (Natural Resources Canada). Extensive aerial and high-altitude images of Canada. Find digital copies of images and order photos. Also has resources on aerial photography, including: Introduction to Air Photo Interpretation , a page that explains how to 'read' these photographs.
- TerraFly Similar to TerraServer below. Enter an address or zip code and get a satellite view centered on that point. Then you can virtually "fly" over the countryside. The results show much more than an image, and you can select a point to obtain data on that point.
- TerraServer (Microsoft). Offers both USGS topographic maps, and corresponding high-altitude images (down to 1 meter). Read also an Article on Downloading and Using Terraserver Maps (USGS).
- TopoZone Web topographic map made with data from the USGS to create the Web's first interactive topo map of the entire United States. Similar to the TerraServer.
- USGS Maps and Aerial Photo Images Online. Has additional map and image sites, similar to the TerraServer.
- Satellite Views. Uses Google Maps for worldwide coverage, but has categorized views to pinpoint specific features (from country through city, and then specific smaller features).
- Intute Worldguide. Satellite images for countries and features in those countries. Also includes geographical data, maps, and other materials.
- California Aerial Photographs Collection (UC Berkeley). Mostly Northern California, but also has some non-California sites. Includes links to other California aerial collections.
Other Countries and Regions
- DigitalGlobe. Commercial GIS and mapping site (most imagery is fee-based). Has selection of satellite imagery of various countries, regions, and features available to view or download. Often posts places in the news. Search their database to see if sample high-res images exist for your area.
- Space.com. Commercial site but has some high-res images for free view. See Iraq examples. Often features places in the news, among other images. Search their database to see if sample high-res images exist for your area.
- Planet Observer.com. Beautiful images, some samples to view, but mostly for purchase.
- QuickBird Satellite Imagery Samples (on MapMart site). View samples of these for free and download large-size images.
- Tour Canada From Space (Canada Centre for Remote Sensing). Satellite and remote-sensing images of the country.
- WorldSat International. More beautiful images, some samples to view. Canadian emphasis. One special feature: 3-D satellite images are available!
- Search for satellite images worldwide. Odden's Map megasite search will show you a multitude of links for satellite images available free or for purchase.
- Map Library. Source of public domain basic map data concerning administrative boundaries in developing countries. The data is broken down into manageable chunks to make it easier to download. Has image files and ESRI-GIS useable files. Current coverage: Africa, Central America.
- Satellite Image Map of Antarctica. USGS website for images of this continent.
- Earth Images and Data. NASA Earth Observing System. Collection has images covering a variety of fields. Many images are high-resolution, while most also offer lower resolution images. Most of these images are copy-free so no permission is needed to use, as long as the guidelines are followed. Several examples are shown below:
- Earth Science Images. Includes: Saharan dust storm in February 2000. (Scroll down page to locate. Click on main image to see animated images of the storm's progress).
- Global Tectonic Activity Map of the World, 1999. Digital map of the entire World showing activities in relation to one another.
- Snow Activity on the East Coast, January 2000
- Gateway to Astronaut Photography of Earth (GAPE). Photos taken from Space trips. Well displayed views, with location info. Search by clicking on World map, or by place name, mission, or other fields. A selection of images but contains many unique locations (e.g., Galapagos Islands ).
Quick Tools & Maps (for Travel, Directions, Measuring, etc.)
- Cartographic Reference Resources (Univ. of Texas at Austin, P-C Library). Links for Distance Calculators, Gazetteers, Glossaries, Guides, Map Scale, etc.
- Elevations and Distances in the United States (USGS). Quick tables, with elevation references for various topics (e.g., U.S. cities and their elevations).
- CyberRouter TM. Site by DeLorme ; Create maps of locations by place name, zip, coordinates, etc.
- How far is it? Site calculates the distance between two points.
- Distance Calculator (InfoPlease). Simple distance calculation between two named cities.
- Google Maps Distance Calculator. Select a starting point, find ending point and mark, then distance (mi. or km) is displayed.
- Distance Calculator. Start on a spot, then using the Google map, track course. Once you click the button, the distance (in km) is presented.
- Great Circle Calculator. Calculates Great circle distance, course & bearing between locations entered via a map or latitude & longitude. Includes magnetic declination calculator, animated course plot and 390 cities.
- Great Circle Distance & Calculator. Brief description of concepts. Gives formulae for calculating great circle distances given lat/long. of points.
- Latitude/Longitude Distance Calculation. Enter coordinates for distance between (statuate or nautical mi. or km).
- Map Crow. Find the distance (as the crow flies) between cities. Presently limited selection of cities, however list is growing.
- Map Scale Calculator. For finding scale on a map or for converting map scale.
- Map Blast ! Enter two locations and get directions and map.
- Map Maker: Show Off Where You've Been. Select a base map, then select all countries or states that you have visited, push the button and get an image showing your selections. Also good for making simple maps showing any country-specific data (e.g., countries that produce a specific product).
- Multi-Map Online Atlas. Find maps and satellite images up to a resolution of 1:200,000 for any area of the world. Works similar to most 'Map Quest" style systems. Shows land mass and terrain; roads and infrastructure included, more for urban areas.
- via Michelin.Michelin worldwitde maps power this system, similar to Map Blast and others. Has interface for many different languages.
- MapQuest World Atlas World and country maps, as well as links to address mapping and road trip planning.
- Maps On Us Get maps for an address, city, state, or zip code.
- World Time Zones Map (US Naval Observatory).
Geography Resources
- World Wide Web Virtual Library: Geography. Has links to sources of geographic data, as well as some maps or links to mapping sources.
- Geographer Contact List for North America. List of trained geographers in all fields, compiled by the Association of American Geographers.
- Interactive Map of Geography Departments in the United States and Canada. Select from a map; provides links to departments with programs, sorted by Bachelor's, Master's, and Doctorate levels.
- Digital Diplomacy for Students. Geography learning site by the U.S. State Department. (K-12 level, but useful for all). See also: Foreign Affairs for Young People.
- Cave and Karst Terminology Glossary of terms and meanings. Mainly for geologists, but is useful for map users as well.
- Geography Network provides GIS and map data, links to shared data sets, and all sorts of useful mapping assistance. Includes current events and special maps.
- Glossaries of Geographical Terms. Also has GIS glossaries.
- Map Projections. Pages devoted to map projections, from basics to designing and software.
- Painting With Maps. Start with a map, then paint over it historic landmarks and features to visualize what came before.
- World Population maps. Gridded Population of the World (GPW). Maps showing population distribution, from UN and world government data sets.
- Links to other Geography Websites. List maintained by Syracuse University, School of Geography.
- World Sites Atlas. Find simple political and physical maps of countries, states, and provinces, along with basic geographical information.
- Xpeditions. Geography site by National Geographic Society. A diverse collection of materials.
Map Resources
- Historic Urban Plans, Inc. Publishers of attractive and historically important maps, plans, and views. The maps are exact facsimiles of original engravings, lithographs, and manuscript drawings from major museums, libraries, archives, and private collections.
- Outline Maps. Links to outline map websites.
Professional Societies
- AAG (Association of American Geographers)
- ACMLA (Association of Canadian Map Libraries and Archives)
- ACSM (American Congress on Surveying & Mapping)
- AGI (Association of Geographic Information)
- AGS (American Geographical Society)
- AMC (Australian Map Circle Inc.)
- APA (American Planning Association)
- ASPRS (American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing)
- BCS British Cartographic Society
- CCA (Canadian Cartographic Association)
- GIS (Geoscience Information Society)
- GISCI (GIS Certification Institute)
- GITA (Geospatial Information & Technology Association)
- GSA (Geological Society of America)
- IAG (International Association of Geodesy)
- ICA (International Cartographic Association)
- IFS (International Federation of Surveyors)
- IGU (International Geographical Union)
- IHO (International Hydrographic Organisation)
- ISPRS (International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing)
- MAGERT (Map and Geography Round Table, American Library Association)
- MELA (Middle East Librarians Association). American association for the education and improvement of Middle East map collections.
- NACIS (North American Cartographic Information Society)
- NCEES (National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying)
- NEMO (North East Map Organization)
- RSGS (Royal Scottish Geographical Society)
- SC (Society of Cartographers)
- SLA/GMD (Geography and Map Division, Special Libraries Association) Select Geography and Map Division from pull down.
- URISA (Urban and Regional Information Systems Association)
- WAML (Western Association of Map Libraries). Includes useful page, Map Librarian's Toolbox.
- Washington Map Society Washington, D.C. area.
- Map Library Organizations page (produced by WAML). Listing of organizations throughout the world).
Software
- DIY Map: Visualize your information. DIY Map is a clickable, zooming map written in Flash and colored by data from an external text file. Plot data on a state map. Create a geographic interface.
- Epi Info ™ ? (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Epi Info? (free download) allows, epidemiologists and other professionals to develop a questionnaire or form, customize the data entry process, and enter and analyze data. Epidemiologic statistics, tables, graphs, and maps are produced with simple commands. Epi Map displays geographic maps with data from Epi Info?. Page has data downloads for created studies, help, and other materials. See their page: Resources for Creating Public Health Maps.
- ESRI Virtual Campus Courses. Learn to use mapping software, including ArcView, available at UB.
- GEOTRANS Geographic Translator (US National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency). Software and source code. GEOTRANS (Geographic Translator) is an application program for easy conversion of geographic coordinates among a wide variety of coordinate systems, map projections, and datums.
- How to Make Your Own Google Maps (Google). Official information and help page for creating custom maps using Google Maps.
- HOW-TO: Make your own annotated multimedia Google map. Advice and instructions on using Google Maps system.
- Make Your Own Maps.Based on a book, this page has text from book, links to mapping and GPS software, and to other geography-related software.
- Project GeoSim - Geography Education Software.
- Smart Draw. Draw maps; templates included.
- Your Sky Celestial Chart creator (Fourmi Lab). Enter coordinates and time, get a map. If you choose a specific city, you get a by-product of exact coordinates for that city.
- See also: Geographical Information Systems for GIS-related software.
Blogs (Selected)
- Digital Earth weblog
- Google Maps Mania. Unofficial Google Maps blog tracking the websites, mashups and tools being influenced by Google Maps.
- edparsons.com
- GeoCarta
- Geography 2.0: Virtual Globes
- Cartography (Canadian Geographic Association).
- Map of Strange. Strange things that occur in Google Maps.
- Mapperz: Mapping News Blog. Map and GIS News finding blog. Mission is to provide the newest, fastest, cleanest and most user friendly maps available online.
- Mapping Hacks.
- Strange Maps. Carto-curiosities, geo-spatial concepts, and a variety of creative ideas turned into maps.









