Policy Sites
The World Wide Web offers many opportunities to keep up to date on policy issues and current events. The sites listed here offer links to editorials, background information and position papers from think tanks, advocacy groups, research organizations and the government. Defense, education, energy, foreign affairs, health, welfare, the environment, technology and immigration are some of the topics covered. Many of the sites have a search engine.
Databases
- National Journal Group's Policy Central (UB patrons only)
- http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/Policy-Central.html
The National Journal is the nation's premier weekly on politics, policy, and government. Published since 1969, it offers non-partisan coverage and analysis. Some of Washington's most insightful journalists contribute. Read the information accessible from this link for a lists of features and capabilities.CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) (UB patrons only)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/ciao.html
A source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes working papers from research institutes, conference proceedings, NGO papers, foundation-funded projects, policy briefs, journal literature, and economic indicators.Congressional Universe (UB patrons only)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/cis.html
Congressional Information Service, Inc. provides access to background articles on Congress and federal policy-making. Check out the list under Hot Bills/Topics. For additional background information on various issues and on proposed and enacted legislation, seeCQ Electronic Library (UB patrons only)
http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/cq.html
Web Sites
Almanac of Policy Issues
http://www.policyalmanac.org/- Neutral backgrounders on many controversial issues (death penalty, campaign finance reform, abortion, etc.), including links to news, articles, directories, and associations on either side of the issue.
Congress.org
- http://www.congress.org/congressorg/home/
- Informarion on recent bills and votes. See the feature "Issues & Action" on the left menu. Select issues from a pre-selected list. "Congress.org, [is] a free public service of Capitol Advantage, [it] is a 'one-stop-shop' where one can identify . . . Congressional representatives; research Congressional voting records; learn about the issues of the day; and send e-mail directly to Congress." A good source for diverse views and news alerts.
Global Policy Forum
http://www.globalpolicy.org/- Global Policy Forum monitors policy making at the United Nations. It promotes accountability for global decisions, strives to educate and mobilize global citizen participation, and advocates on vital issues pertaining to peace and justice. Financial and economic and social issues are among topics covered..
- Moving Ideas, Electronic Policy Network
http://movingideas.org/- Provides online analysis of policy and trends. While the site is registered to the liberal magazine American Prospect, itsmembership includes nonpartisan groups.
Policy Library.com
http://www.policylibrary.com/US/Access is provided to papers on a wide range of topics. British and European materials are well represented. Search by author, title, subject, publishing organization and country.
Policy Research Watch
http://www.nira.go.jp/ice/libe/prw/index.htmlThis " is a web-based project that has grown out of NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks (NWDTT).* The project's objective is to gather and provide access to comprehensive bibliographic information on the periodicals and occasional papers of selected public policy research institutes."
Public Agenda Online
http://www.publicagenda.org/- Public opinion, policy analysis and citizen education provided by specific issue guides. Each guide contains an overview, a news digest, background data, various perspectives and analysis of opinion polls.
- Stateline.org
http://www.stateline.org- News of state governments and reports on public policy developments on a number of issues.
Townhall
http://townhall.com/- Townhall brings together American conservative thinkers, foundations, and publications.
- Yahoo
http://dir.yahoo.com/Government/Politics/Political_Issues/.- The popular Yahoo directory reveals a list of basic policy topics. Select United States to view a list of issues.









