return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Grants > Grants & Grantmaking


Grants & Grantmaking


Here are selected resources for identifying grant and other funding support. Materials listed include: reference books owned by the University Libraries, other University and Western New York resources, and links to grant resources on the Internet. Although selected government sources are included, emphasis is on non-government resources. See Grants-Government Resources for additional links to government information, and Grants and Grantmaking in the Sciences for science-specific links

Reference Books

Annual Register of Grant Support: A Directory of Funding Sources . Wilmette, IL.: National Register Publishing Co., 1969-annual
LML Ref LB 2338 .G68.
Lists nearly 3,000 foundations that offer non-repayable financial assistance. Topical chapters cover multiple special purpose giving, humanities, international affairs, special populations, urban affairs, education, science and technology, and social sciences. Entries include names, addresses, phone numbers, areas of interest, types of support, eligibility, and application information. Indexing is by subjects, organizations and programs, geography, and personal names. Special features include a brief essay describing "Program Planning and Proposal Writing."

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance . Washington, D.C.: G.P.O., 1965-annual.
LML US PrEx2.20:Year.
A directory to federal government loans and grants available to states, local governments, profit and non-profit making entities, and individuals. Entries cite agencies, program objectives, types of assistance available, eligibility, application procedures, contacts and sources of further information, and examples of funded projects. Information is indexed by agencies and subjects.

Directory of Grants in the Humanities . Phoenix: The Oryx Press, 1988
LML Ref AZ 188 .U5 D57.
Lists government and private sector funding opportunities in literature, language, linguistics, history, anthropology, philosophy, and the arts. Descriptions summarize programs, requirements, restrictions, application dates, and amounts of moneys. Types of funding covered include travel, internships, fellowships, dissertation support, conferences, and performances. The subject, sponsoring organization, and type of funding indexes are helpful.

Directory of Research Grants (DRG) . Phoenix: The Oryx Press.1975-annual.
LML Ref LB 2338 .D4.
Provides brief summaries of nearly 7,500 programs in medicine, science, social science, humanities, and the arts. Entries describe sponsoring bodies, programs, requirements and restrictions, contacts, deadlines, and funding amounts. A subject index, a foundation index, and a type of support index are included. The "Preface" covers developing proposals and ideas, and formatting proposals.

The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing . Jane C. Geever and Patricia McNeill. New York: The Foundation Center , 1993.
LML Ref HG 177.5 .U6 G44 1993.
Lockwood HG177.5 .U6 G44 2004
HSL Ref WZ 345 G298f 1993.

Examines six steps for successful grant writing: (1) determine priorities; (2) write a draft proposal; (3) package the draft for a particular donor; (4) research other potential donors; (5) contact donors to cultivate relationships and determine potential for moneys; and (6) follow up on responses. The authors interviewed representatives of foundations and corporations to determine what they look for when considering proposals. Appendices include a sample proposal, a bibliography, and a description of "What the Funders Have to Say."

The Foundation Directory . New York: The Foundation Center , 1960-irregular.
LML Ref AS 911 .A2 F65.
LAW Ref AS 911 .A2 F65.
Lists foundations whose assets are at least $1,000,000 or who gave at least $100,000 in the latest year. Descriptions provide addresses, phone numbers, financial data, funding interests, and officers. Five indexes access data by names of donors, officers, and trustees; geography; types of support; subjects; and names of foundation. The introduction describes kinds of foundations and trends in giving. A glossary is included.

Foundation Grants to Individuals . New York: Foundation Center , 1977-biennial.
LML Ref LB 2336 .F6.
UGL Ref LB 2336 .F6.
HSL Ref LB 2336 F771 (grants section).
The most comprehensive directory to foundations that offer grants to individuals. Funding covers education, general welfare, arts and culture, foreign individuals, and company employees. Entries include names, addresses, phone numbers, contacts, financial data, limitations, and deadlines. Indexes are by foundations, subjects, types of support, geography, company employee programs, and schools. Special features include a brief discussion of federal legislation governing foundations, and a comprehensive annotated bibliography.

The International Foundation Directory . Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1986.
LML Ref HV 7 .I57.
Characterizes 770 foundations in nearly 50 nations. The brief entries describe names, addresses, phone numbers, financial information, purposes, and activities. Indexing is by names and main activities. A bibliography is included.

Return to Top


divider



Local Resources

BISON - UB Libraries Catalog
Search the catalog for books that describe how to prepare grant proposals, and trends in public and private grant giving. Likely subject headings are "Fund Raising" and "Grants-In-Aid." Related subject headings include the following. Be certain to use two dashes (--) when searching.

Arts--Scholarships, Fellowships, etc.
Federal Aid to Research--United States--Directories
Humanities--Research Grants
Research Grants...
Research Support--Directories
Research Support--Periodicals
Scholarships--Directories
Scholarships--United States--Directories
Science--Research Grants...
Student Aid--United States
Student Loan Funds

Search the catalog using keywords to retrieve relevant information.

  • The search "K=MUSIC.SU. AND SCHOLARSHIPS.SU." retrieves references to music and scholarships that appear in subject headings.
  • The search "K=(GRANTS OR SCHOLARSHIPS).SU. AND 1993.DT1,DT2." Retrieves updated information about either grants or scholarships that was published in 1993.

Sponsored Programs Administration (University at Buffalo. Vice-President for Research)
The Commons, Suite 211, 645-2977 Fax: (716)-645-3730.
http://www.research.buffalo.edu/spa/
email: info@research.buffalo.edu
The Office of Sponsored Programs Administration is dedicated to supporting University faculty and staff in their efforts to seek out and secure external awards for programs of research, scholarly and creative activities, education and training, public service, and to assist in post-award administration. The Web site includes frequently asked questions; a funding opportunities database; access to the Community of Science database; links to Web sites of sponsors; information about proposal development and administration; and related UB policy documents. Personalized Funding Searches can be requested by submitting a request form at: http://www.research.buffalo.edu/spa/fundingrequest.cfm Staff will search the internal database and COS for faculty and graduate students at no cost. This search covers research grants, contracts, fellowships, development and education curriculum projects, sabbatical support, and publication support. Additional services include: (1) Announcements of funding opportunities in an emailed Weekly Summary, and (2) Resources on proposal writing, budgets, approvals etc.

Buffalo and Erie County Public Library (Business Information Department, Lafayette Square. Contact person: Cynthia Hayes, 716-858-8900)
The Buffalo and Erie County Public Library is a Foundation Center Library Cooperating Collection. The Foundation Center is an information clearing house established by foundations to provide information on grant giving. The Center establishes Cooperating Collections throughout the nation. These libraries maintain core collections of Foundation Center publications that are available to the public without cost. This includes FC Search: The Foundation Center's Database on CD-ROM . The Library also acquires grant-related publications from other publishers.

Return to Top


divider



Internet Resources

COs Funding Opportunities (Community of Science)
http://fundingopps.cos.com
A database of funding opportunities for research; collaborative activities; travel; curriculum development; conferences; fellowships; post-doctoral positions; equipment acquisitions; and operating or capital expenses. Sources include the federal and regional governments; foundations; professional societies; associations; and corporations.

Federal Government Information

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (U.S. General Services Administration)
http://www.gsa.gov/fdac
Lists federal government loans and grants available to states, local governments, profit and nonprofit making entities, and individuals. Entries cite agencies; program objectives; types of assistance available; eligibility; application procedures; contacts and sources of further information; and examples of funded projects.

FedBizOpps.gov (FBO) (US General Services Administration)
http://www.fedbizopps.gov/
FBO is the single source for government procurement opportunities of $25,000 or greater. The link to Federal Grants covers funding opportunities and application guidelines and forms.

Funded Research (Community of Science)
http://fundedresearch.cos.com
Five options let users search for grants awarded by the:

  • National Institutes of Health
  • National Science Foundation
  • US Department of Agriculture
  • Small Business Innovation Research program
  • UK's Medical Research Council

Grantsnet (US Department of Health and Human Services)
http://www.hhs.gov/grantsnet/
An online guide to grant information sponsored by the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) that emphasizes HHS funding opportunities.

National Endowment for the Humanities
http://www.neh.fed.us

Financial Aid Information Page (FinAid)
http://www.FinAid.org
Although it includes information about research grants, emphasis is upon financial aid for undergraduate and graduate education. Topics cover background information, loans, and scholarships. Site administrators include calculators for estimating costs.

Foundation Center
http://fdncenter.org
A nonprofit organization that maintains a database of foundation and corporate giving. The Foundation Center provides publications to cooperating libraries at no cost. The Buffalo and Erie County Public Library (Lafayette Square) is part of this program.

Internal Revenue Service regulations require foundations to file annual 990-PF tax forms. These data are detailed descriptions of foundations giving patterns. The Foundation Center maintains this information online at http://fdncenter.org/funders/grantsmart/index.html .

GuideStar (Philanthropic Research, Inc.)
http://www.guidestar.org/
Provides information about the operation and finances of over 700,000 nonprofit organizations. GuideStar provides tutorials that help grant seekers maximize use of the data.

ResearchResearch Lite (Research Research Limited)
http://www.researchresearch.com/entry/entry.htm
Use ResearchResearch Lite to retrieve funding opportunities from dozens of federal agencies including the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation without charge. Additional options are available for a fee.

Return to Top


divider








divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility