History of Geology [pre-1900]: Guide to Research
Part I: The Evolution of Geology - A Selected Bibliography
Adam Sedgwick : geologist and dalesman, 1785-1873 : a biography in twelve themes
AUTHOR: Speakman, Colin.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE22.S4 S73 1982
Alfred Wegener, the father of continental drift; with an introduction to the English edition by Anthony Hallam ; and an assessment of the earth science revolution by I. Bernard Cohen
AUTHOR: Schwarzbach, Martin, 1907-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE22.W26 S3913 1986
Bibliography of American natural history; the pioneer century, 1769-1865; the role played by the scientific societies; scientific journals; natural history museums and botanic gardens; state geological and natural history surveys; federal exploring expeditions in the rise and progress of American botany, geology, mineralogy, paleontology and zoology
AUTHOR: Meisel, Max, 1892-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q145.U5 M5
Birth and development of the geological sciences
AUTHOR: Adams, Frank Dawson, 1859-1942
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .A3 1954
Century of science in America, with special reference to the American journal of science, 1818-1918
AUTHOR: Dana, Edward Salisbury, 1849-1935
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q127.U6 C3
Charles Darwin : the years of controversy; The origin of species and its critics
AUTHOR: Vorzimmer, Peter J., 1937-
HEALTH SCIENCES Book Collection WZ 100 D228v 1970
Charles Lyell, the years to 1841: the revolution in geology
AUTHOR: Wilson, Leonard G. (Leonard Gilchrist), 1928-
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE22.L8 W54
Charles Lyell's visit to Norway 1837 with remarks on the history of the "granite problem" in the Oslo region
AUTHOR: Holtedahl, O. (Olaf), b. 1885.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE451.N6 S8 v.19
Classics of science : a study of twelve enduring scientific works
AUTHOR: Gjertsen, Derek
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q125 .G54 1984
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q125 .G54 1984
Contributions to the history of American geology
AUTHOR: Merrill, George P. (George Perkins), 1854-1929
CAPEN Multimedia Center MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 12665
Contributions to the history of science
AUTHOR: Karpinski, Louis Charles, 1878-1956.
JOINT AUTHOR: Winter, John Garrett, 1881-1956
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q125 .C6 1930
Controversy in Victorian geology : the Cambrian-Silurian dispute
AUTHOR: Secord, James A.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE656 .S4 1986
Development of the sciences
AUTHOR: Woodruff, Lorande Loss, 1879-1947
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q125 .W8 1941
Dinosaur papers, 1676-1906
AUTHOR: Weishampel, David
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE861.4 .D54 2003
Early nineteenth century European scientists.
AUTHOR: Olby, Robert C. (Robert Cecil)
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q141 .O38 1967
Earth we live on; the story of geological discovery
AUTHOR: Moore, Ruth E
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .M7
Encyclopedia of source illustrations; a portable picture library of 5000 steel engravings, illustrating in systematic arrangement the fields of mathematics and astronomy, physics and meteorology, chemistry, mineralogy and geology, botany, zoology, anthropology and surgery, geography and planography, history and ethnology, comprising all of the 266 plates contained in the above sections of the Iconographic encyclopaedia of 1851.
AUTHOR: Heck, J. G. (Johann Georg), d. 1857
LOCKWOOD Reference AG6 .H413
Evolution debate, 1813-1870
AUTHOR: Knight, David
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QH363 .E9 2003
First hundred years of the Geological survey of Great Britain
AUTHOR: Flett, John S. (John Smith), Sir, b. 1869.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE261.A75 F5
Fossil hunter : the life and times of Mary Anning (1799-1847)
AUTHOR: Goodhue, Thomas W.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection ON ORDER
Foundations of scientific method: the nineteenth century
AUTHOR: Giere, Ronald N.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q175 .F72 1973
Founders of geology
AUTHOR: Geikie, Archibald, Sir, 1835-1924
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 G3 1962
Founders of seismology
Davison, Charles, 1858-1940
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE534 .D25 1978
From mineralogy to geology : the foundations of a science, 1650-1830
AUTHOR: Laudan, Rachel, 1944-
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE11 .L35 1987
Genesis and geology, a study in the relations of scientific thought, natural theology, and social opinion in Great Britain, 1790-1850
AUTHOR: Gillispie, Charles Coulston
LOCKWOOD Book Collection BS657 .G55
CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm BS657 .G54 1948a
Geological revolution
AUTHOR: Drake, Charles L
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .D72 1970
Geological sciences in the antebellum South
AUTHOR: Corgan, James X.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE13.U6 G46
Geologists and ideas : a history of North American geology
AUTHOR: Drake, Ellen T.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE13.U6 G466 1985
Geology and revelation, or, The ancient history of the earth, considered in the light of geological facts and revealed religion / with an introduction to the American edition, and a chapter on Cosmogony, (by permission) from the Manual of Geology
AUTHOR: Molloy, Gerald, 1834-1906
E-BOOK: http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/cgi/sgml/moa-idx?notisid=AFY1849
Geology in the nineteenth century : changing views of a changing world
AUTHOR: Greene, Mott T., 1945-
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE11 .G73 1982
Geology. 1. Development of geological knowledge in the Dutch East Indies, by L. Rutten. 2. Geological investigations, carried out in the Dutch East Indies during the 20th century of behalf of the Department of mines by the engineers of the staff
AUTHOR: Rutten, L. (Louis), 1884-
IN STORAGE Request at Circulation QE349 .R8
Georges Cuvier, Fossil Bones, and Geological Catastrophes: New Translations & Interpretations of the Primary Texts
AUTHOR: Rudwick, M. J. S.; Cuvier, Georges
E-BOOK: http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=35153
Great chain of history : William Buckland and the English school of geology (1814-1849)
AUTHOR: Rupke, Nicolaas A
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE28.3 .R8 1983
Great Devonian controversy : the shaping of scientific knowledge among gentlemanly specialists
AUTHOR: Rudwick, M. J. S.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE665 .R83 1985
Great geological controversies
AUTHOR: Hallam, A. (Anthony), 1933-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .H35 1983
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .H35 1989
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QE11 .H35 1983
Guide to the exhibition galleries of geology and palaeontology illustrated by 2 plates and 1 plan
AUTHOR: Bather, Francis Arthur, 1863-1934
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE716 .B84 1923
Heritage of engineering geology : the first hundred years
AUTHOR: Kiersch, George A., 1918-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection TA705 .H47 1991
History of British geology; a bibliographical study
AUTHOR: Challinor, John
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE261 .C48
History of geology
AUTHOR: Gohau, Gabriel
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QE11 .G64 1990
History of geology and palaeontology
AUTHOR: Zittel, Karl Alfred von, 1839-1904
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .Z413 1962
History of the earth sciences during the scientific and industrial revolutions with special emphasis on the physical geosciences
AUTHOR: Hall, D. H.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .H3
Is the present the key to the past or is the past the key to the present? : James Hutton and Adam Smith versus Abraham Gottlob Werner and Karl Marx in interpreting history
AUTHOR: Sengor, A. M. Celal
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE1 .S7 no.355
It began with a stone : a history of geology from the Stone Age to the age of plate tectonics
AUTHOR: Faul, Henry
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QE11 .F38 1983
James Hutton and the history of geology
AUTHOR: Dennis R. Dean
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE26 .D43 1992
La geologie
AUTHOR: Margerie, Emmanuel de, 1862-1953
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE13.F8 M35
Landforms and geomorphology : concepts and history [Benchmark Papers in Geology, v.28]
AUTHOR: King, Cuchlaine A. M.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection GB405 .L36
Lectures and discourses of earthquakes and subterraneous eruptions
AUTHOR: Hooke, Robert, 1635-1703
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE521 .H66 1978
Man who found time : James Hutton and the discovery of the earth's antiquity
AUTHOR: Repcheck, Jack.
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QE22.H9 R47 2003
Map that changed the world : William Smith and the birth of modern geology
AUTHOR: Winchester, Simon
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE22 .S6 W55 2001
Meeting place of geology and history
AUTHOR: Dawson, John William, Sir, 1820-1899
LOCKWOOD Book Collection GN738 .D26
Murchison in Moray : a geologist on home ground : with the correspondence of Roderick Impey Murchison and the Rev. Dr. George Gordon of Birnie
AUTHOR: Collie, Michael
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q11 .P64 n.s. v.85 pt.3
Oceanography : concepts and history [Benchmark Papers in Geology, v.35]
AUTHOR: Deacon, Margaret
LOCKWOOD Book Collection GC26 .O27
Philosophy of geohistory, 1785-1970 [Benchmark Papers in Geology, v.13]
AUTHOR: Albritton, Claude C., 1913-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .A42Popular geology: a series of lectures read before the Philosophical Institution of Edinburgh, with Descriptive sketches from a geologist's portfolio. With an introductory resume of the progress of geological science
AUTHOR: Miller, Hugh, 1802-1856
RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.131ARemarks on some late papers relating to the universal deluge, and to the natural history of the earth
AURTHOR: Harris, John, 1667?-1719.
CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm PR1121 .U62 reel 1261:4
Revolution and continuity : essays in the history and philosophy of early modern science
AUTHOR: Barker, Peter, 1949-
IN STORAGE Request at Circulation B21 .S78 v.24
Revolution in landscape science
AUTHOR: Cunningham, Frank F., 1916-
LOCKWOOD Book Collection GB400.7 .C85
Sciences of the earth : an encyclopedia of events, people, and phenomena
AUTHOR: Good, Gregory.
UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QE11 .S38 1998
Scientific papers : physiology, medicine, surgery, geology ; with introduction and notes
AUTHOR: Havard Classics
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection Q171 .S38
Scientist of empire : Sir Roderick Murchison, scientific exploration and Victorian imperialism
AUTHOR: Stafford, Robert A
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE22.M8 S82 1989
Smithsonian Institution, 1846-1896: the history of its first half century
AUTHOR: Goode, G. Brown (George Brown), 1851-1896
CAPEN Multimedia Center MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 12640
Source book in geology,1400-1900
AUTHOR: Mather, Kirtley F. (Kirtley Fletcher), 1888-, ed.
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE40 .M18
Stories in stone; telling of some of the wonderlands of western America and some of the curious incidents in the history of geology
AUTHOR: Lee, Willis T. (Willis Thomas), 1864-1926
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE79 .L4
Story of the great geologists
AUTHOR: Fenton, Carroll Lane, 1900-1969
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE21 .F4
That remarkable man Carl Ludwig Rominger, State geologist [1820-1907]
AUTHOR: Wright, Jean Davies
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE22.R69 W74
Thinking about the earth : a history of ideas in geology
AUTHOR: Oldroyd, D. R. (David Roger)
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE11 .O43 1996
Thousand years of nonlinear history
AUTHOR: De Landa, Manuel
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q174.8 .D43 1997
Toward a history of geology; proceedings
AUTHOR: New Hampshire Inter-disciplinary Conference on the History of Geology (1967 : Rye Beach).
SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 .N47 1967
Treasury of scientific prose, a nineteenth-century anthology
AUTHOR: Jones, Howard Mumford, 1892-
SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q111 .J58
Two centuries of earth science, 1650-1850
AUTHOR: Herries Davies, G. L.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection GB400.7 .H47 1989
Two hundred years of geology in America : proceedings of the New Hampshire Bicentennial Conference on the History of Geology
AUTHOR: Schneer, Cecil J., 1923-
UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QE13.U6 N48 1976
LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE13.U6 N48 1976
Victorian science and religion : a bibliography with emphasis on evolution, belief, and unbelief, comprised of works published from c. 1900-1975
AUTHOR: Eisen, Sydney.
LOCKWOOD Book Collection Z5320 .E57 1984
Wordsworth and the geologists
AUTHOR: Wyatt, John, 1931-
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PR5892 .G42 W93 1995
Part II: Works by Early Geologists - A Selected Bibliography
List of original works produced by prominent founders
| AGASSIZ, LOUIS 1807-1873 |
| Etudes sur les glaciers; with an atlas of plates |
| AUTHOR: Agassiz, Louis, 1807-1873 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection Oversize QE576 .A42 1966 |
| Geological sketches |
| AUTHOR: Agassiz, Louis, 1807-1873 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE35 .A4 1866 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 385:3 |
| Geological sketches : second series |
| AUTHOR: Agassiz, Louis, 1807-1873 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Hartman Collection no.301 |
| A journey in Brazil. By Professor and Mrs. Louis Agassiz |
| AUTHOR: Agassiz, Louis, 1807-1873 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection F2513 .A268 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 415:13 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm HQ1121 .H67 reel308 no.2087 |
| Lake Superior: its physical character, vegetation, and animals, compared with those of other and similar regions. By Louis Agassiz. With a Narrative of the tour, by J. Elliot Cabot. And contributions by other scientific gentlemen |
| AUTHOR: Agassiz, Louis, 1807-1873 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 347:9 |
| Methods of study in natural history |
| AUTHOR: Agassiz, Louis, 1807-1873 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 447:3 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 12590 |
| The primitive diversity and number of animals in geological times |
| AUTHOR: Agassiz, Louis, 1807-1873 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 323:5 |
| Prof. Agassiz on the origin of species |
| AUTHOR: Agassiz, Louis, 1807-1873 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 40128 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 593:3 |
| Studies on glaciers, preceded by the Discourse on Neuchatel. [Translated and edited by Albert V. Carozzi] |
| AUTHOR: Agassiz, Louis, 1807-1873. |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE576 .A421 |
| AGRICOLA, GEORG 1494-1555 |
| De natura fossilium (Textbook of mineralogy) |
| AUTHOR: Agricola, Georg, 1494-1555 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE1 .S7 no.63 |
| George Agricolae. De ortu & causis subterraneorum Lib. V. ; De natura eorum quae effluunt ex terra Lib.IIII. De natura fossilium Lib. X. De ueteribus & nouis metallis Lib. II. ; Bermannus, siue De re metallica Dialogus Lib. I. ; Interpretato Germanica uocum rei metallicae, addito duplici indice, altero rerum, altero locorum ; Omnia ab ipso authore, cum haud poenitenda accessione, recens recognita |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.279 |
| De re metallica. Translated from the first Latin ed. of 1556, with biographical introd., annotations, and appendices upon the development of mining methods, metallurgical processes, geology, mineralogy & mining law from the earliest times to the 16th century, by Herbert Clark Hoover and Lou Henry Hoover |
| AUTHOR: Agricola, Georg, 1494-1555 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection TN617 .A47 1950 |
| SCI/ENGR Closed Stacks TN617 .A47 1950 |
| UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection TN617 .A37 1950 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection TN617 .A37 1950 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.277 |
| George Agricolae. De ortu & causis subterraneorum Lib. V. ; De natura eorum quae effluunt ex terra Lib.IIII. De natura fossilium Lib. X. De ueteribus & nouis metallis Lib. II. ; Bermannus, siue De re metallica Dialogus Lib. I. ;Interpretato Germanica uocum rei metallicae, addito duplici indice, altero rerum, altero locorum ; Omnia ab ipso authore, cum haud poenitenda accessione, recens recognita |
| AUTHOR: Agricola, Georg, 1494-1555 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.279 |
| BARROW, JOHN, SIR 1764-1848 |
| An account of travels into the interior of southern Africa, in the years 1797 and 1798 : including cursory observations on the geology and geography of the southern part of that continent ; the natural history of such objects as occurred in the animal, vegetable, and mineral kingdoms ; and sketches of the physical and moral characters of the various tribes of inhabitants surrounding the settlement of the Cape of Good Hope. To which is annexed, a description of the present state, population, and produce of that extensive colony ; with a map constructed entirely from actual observations made in the course of the travels. |
| AUTHOR: Barrow, John, Sir, 1764-1848. |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection DT755 .B27 1968 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall DT1030 .B37 1801 |
| BOYLE, ROBERT 1627-1691 |
| An essay about the origine and virtues of gems. [Introd. by Arthur F. Hagner. Foreword by George W. White] |
| AUTHOR: Boyle, Robert, 1627-1691. |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE392 .B59 2672a |
| BUCKLAND, WILLIAM 1784-1856 |
| Geology and mineralogy considered with reference to natural theology |
| AUTHOR: Buckland, William, 1784-1856 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.33 |
| CUVIER, GEORGES, BARON 1769-1832 |
| Essay on the theory of the earth, translated from the French of M. Cuvier, by Robert Kerr. With mineralogical notes, and an account of Cuvier's geological discoveries, by Professor Jameson. |
| AUTHOR: Cuvier, Georges, baron, 1769-1832 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 350:2 |
| Georges Cuvier, fossil bones, and geological catastrophes: new translations & interpretations of the primary texts [Edited by Martin J.S. Rudwick] |
| AUTHOR: Cuvier, Georges, baron, 1769-1832 |
| E-BOOK: http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=35153 |
| Rapport historique sur les progres des sciences naturelles depuis 1789, et sur leur etat actuel |
| AUTHOR: Cuvier, Georges, baron, 1769-1832 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection Q158 .C8 1989 |
| Recherches sur les ossemens fossiles, ou l'on retablit les caracteres de plusieurs animaux dont les revolutions du globe ont detruit les especes |
| AUTHOR: Cuvier, Georges, baron, 1769-1832 |
| IN STORAGE Request at Circulation QE710 .C98 |
| DANA JAMES DWIGHT 1813-1895 |
| Corals and coral islands |
| AUTHOR: Dana, James Dwight, 1813-1895 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE565 .D15 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 418:6 |
| The geological story briefly told. An introduction to geology for the general reader and for beginners in the science |
| AUTHOR: Dana, James Dwight, 1813-1895 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE28 .D16 |
| Geology. With a folio atlas of twenty-one plates |
| AUTHOR: Dana, James Dwight, 1813-1895 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 475:3 |
| Manual of geology, treating of the principles of the science, with special reference to American geological history, for the use of colleges, academies, and schools of science. Illustrated by a chart of the world, and over one thousand figures, mostly from American sources |
| AUTHOR: Dana, James Dwight, 1813-1895 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 416:1 |
| Manual of mineralogy, including observations on mines, rocks, reduction of ores, and the applications of the science to the arts, with 260 illustrations, designed for the use of schools and colleges |
| AUTHOR: Dana, James Dwight, 1813-1895 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE372 .D2 1867 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.49 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 12624 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 504:11 |
| New mineralogy |
| AUTHOR: Dana, James Dwight, 1813-1895 |
| UNDERGRAD-SCI/ENGR Reference QE372 .D23 1997 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE372 .D23 1944 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE372 .D23 1892 |
| A system of mineralogy, comprising the most recent discoveries: including full descriptions of species and their localities, chemical analyses and formulas, tables for the determination of minerals, and a treatise on mathematical crystallography and the drawing of figures of crystals. Illustrated by numerous woodcuts and four copper plates |
| AUTHOR: Dana, James Dwight, 1813-1895 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE372 .D229 **Book Missing** |
| A system of mineralogy: including an extended treatise on crystallography: with an appendix, containing the application of mathematics to crystallographic investigation, and a mineralogical bibliography |
| AUTHOR: Dana, James Dwight, 1813-1895 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 537:9 |
| A text-book of geology. Designed for schools and academies |
| AUTHOR: Dana, James Dwight, 1813-1895 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 537:10 |
| DARWIN, CHARLES 1809-1882 |
| Charles Darwin's Beagle diary [edited by Richard Darwin Keynes] |
| AUTHOR: Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection QH365 .A1 1988 |
| Geological observations on the volcanic islands and parts of South America visited during the voyage of H.M.S. 'Beagle' |
| AUTHOR: Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE3 .D23 1897 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall QE3 .D23 1891 |
| Journal of researches into the geology and natural history of the various countries visited by H. M. S. Beagle, under the command of Captain FitzRoy, R. N., from 1832 to 1836 |
| AUTHOR: Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882. |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QH11 .D2 1900 |
| HEALTH SCIENCES History of Medicine QH11 .D2 1839 |
| The origin of species by means of natural selection. The descent of man and selection in relation to sex |
| AUTHOR: Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882 |
| UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection PN6013 .E62 v.49 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection PN6013 .E62 v.49 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection B3263.W45 E6 1904 |
| HEALTH SCIENCES History of Medicine QH365 .O2 1959 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall QH365 .O1859 1859 |
| E-BOOK: http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/toc/modeng/public/DarOrig.html |
| The red notebook of Charles Darwin [Edited with an introd. and notes by Sandra Herbert] |
| AUTHOR: Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882. |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection QH15 .B73 v.7 |
| The voyage of the beagle |
| AUTHOR: Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882 |
| UNDERGRADUATE Book Collection QH11 .D2 2000 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QH11 .D2 1962 |
| DAWSON JOHN WILLIAM SIR 1820-1899 |
| Egypt and Syria : their physical features in relation to Bible history |
| AUTHOR: Dawson, John William, Sir, 1820-1899 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection BS630 .D3 1887 |
| Fifty years of work in Canada, scientific and educational; being autobiographical notes by Sir William Dawson ... [Edited by Rankine Dawson] |
| AUTHOR: Dawson, John William, Sir, 1820-1899 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE 22 D3 |
| The fossil plants of the Devonian and Upper Silurian formations of Canada |
| AUTHOR: Dawson, John William, Sir, 1820-1899 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE938 .C1 Missing |
| The meeting place of geology and history |
| AUTHOR: Dawson, John William, Sir, 1820-1899 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection GN738 .D26 |
| Nature and the Bible: a course of lectures delivered in New York, in December, 1874, on the Morse foundation of the Union theological seminary |
| AUTHOR: Dawson, John William, Sir, 1820-1899 |
| E-BOOK: http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/cgi/sgml/moa-idx?notisid=AFZ9778 |
| The origin of the world according to revelation and science |
| AUTHOR: Dawson, John William, Sir, 1820-1899 |
| E-BOOK: http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/cgi/sgml/moa-idx?notisid=ADN0770 |
| Report on the fossil plants of the lower Carboniferous and millstone grit formations of Canada |
| AUTHOR: Dawson, John William, Sir, 1820-1899 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE919 .D25 |
| FOSTER, J. W. (JOHN WELLS) 1815-1873 |
| The Mississippi Valley: its physical geography, including sketches of the topography, botany, climate, geology, and mineral resources, and of the progress of development in population and material wealth |
| AUTHOR: Foster, J. W. (John Wells), 1815-1873 |
| E-BOOK: http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/cgi/sgml/moa-idx?notisid=AFJ9737 |
| Report on the geology of the Lake Superior land district: by J. W. Foster and J. D. Whitney, United States geologists. Part II. The iron region, together with the general geology |
| AUTHOR: Foster, J. W. (John Wells), 1815-1873 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.69 |
| Report upon the mineral resources of the Illinois central railroad; made at the request of the president, by J. W. Foster, March 4th, 1856. |
| AUTHOR: Foster, J. W. (John Wells), 1815-1873 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 561:10 |
| GEIKIE, ARCHIBALD SIR 1835-1924 |
| The founders of geology |
| AUTHOR: Geikie, Archibald, Sir, 1835-1924 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE11 G3 1962 |
| The scenery of Scotland veiwed in connection with its physical geology |
| AUTHOR: Geikie, Archibald, Sir, 1835-1924 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE264 .G4 1901 |
| GEIKIE, JAMES 1839-1915 |
| The great ice age, and its relation to the antiquity of man |
| AUTHOR: Geikie, James, 1839-1915 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE697 .G31 1874 |
| Prehistoric Europe; a geological sketch |
| AUTHOR: Geikie, James, 1839-1915 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE696 .G3 |
| Structural and field geology for students of pure and applied science |
| AUTHOR: Geikie, James, 1839-1915 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE601 .G3124 |
| GUYOT, A. (ARNOLD) 1807-1884 |
| The earth and man: Lectures on comparative physical geography, in its relation to the history of mankind |
| AUTHOR: Guyot, A. (Arnold), 1807-1884 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 474:1 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 13053 |
| IN STORAGE Request at Circulation GB59 .G8 |
| HULL, EDWARD 1829-1917 |
| Contributions to the physical history of the British Isles. With a dissertation on the origin of western Europe, and of the Atlantic Ocean |
| AUTHOR: Hull, Edward, 1829-1917. |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE261 .H8 |
| The coal-fields of Great Britain : their history, structure and resources. With descriptions of the coal-fields of our Indian and colonial empire, and of other parts of the world |
| AUTHOR: Hull, Edward, 1829-1917 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection TN808.G6 H94 |
| HUTTON, JAMES 1726-1797 |
| James Hutton in the field and in the study [Edited by Dennis R. Dean] |
| AUTHOR: Hutton, James, 1726-1797. |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE25 .H88 1997 |
| Theory of the earth, with proofs and illustrations |
| AUTHOR: Hutton, James, 1726-1797 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE501 .H88 1959 |
| HUXLEY, THOMAS HENRY 1825-1895 |
| Discourses biological and geological; essays |
| AUTHOR: Huxley, Thomas Henry, 1825-1895 |
| IN STORAGE Request at Circulation Q171.H9 D5 1896 |
| Essays upon some controverted questions |
| AUTHOR: Huxley, Thomas Henry, 1825-1895 |
| IN STORAGE Request at Circulation Q171 .H916 |
| Evidence as to man's place in nature |
| AUTHOR: Huxley, Thomas Henry, 1825-1895 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection Q171.H9 E9 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall GN281 .H89 1863 |
| Diary of the voyage of H.M.S. Rattlesnake |
| AUTHOR: Huxley, Thomas Henry, 1825-1895 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection QH31 .H9 A3 1972 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection G463 .H89 |
| JAMESON, ROBERT 1774-1854 |
| Narrative of discovery and adventure in Africa : from the earliest ages to the present time with illustrations of the geology, mineralogy and zoology |
| AUTHOR: Jameson, Robert, 1774-1854 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection DT5 .J3 1833 |
| A system of mineralogy |
| AUTHOR: Jameson, Robert, 1774-1854 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.92 |
| A treatise on the external, chemical and physical characters of minerals |
| AUTHOR: Jameson, Robert, 1774-1854 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.93 |
| LYELL, CHARLES SIR 1797-1875 |
| Elements of geology; or, The ancient changes of the earth and its inhabitants as illustrated by geological monuments |
| AUTHOR: Lyell, Charles, Sir, 1797-1875. |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.113 |
| The geological evidences of the antiquity of man : with remarks on theories of the origin of species by variation |
| AUTHOR: Lyell, Charles, Sir, 1797-1875 |
| HEALTH SCIENCES History of Medicine GN L984g 1863 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.114 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall GN735 .L97 1863 |
| Guide to Niagara Falls and its scenery
|
| AUTHOR: Lyell, Charles, Sir, 1797-1875 |
| E-BOOK: http://www.niagara.edu/library/nfguides/johnson.html |
| A Legend of the Manitou rock
|
| AUTHOR: Lyell, Charles, Sir, 1797-1875 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFiche E173 .P23 Group 1 I 25 |
| Principles of geology |
| AUTHOR: Lyell, Charles, Sir, 1797-1875. |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE26 .L956 1990 |
| Principles of geology; being an attempt to explain the former changes of the earth's surface, by reference to causes now in operation |
| AUTHOR: Lyell, Charles, Sir, 1797-1875 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall QE26 .L956 1830 |
| Principles of geology, or the modern changes of the earth and its inhabitants considered as illustrative of geology |
| AUTHOR: Lyell, Charles, Sir, 1797-1875. |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.115 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE26 .L96 1853 |
| A second visit to the United States of North America |
| AUTHOR: Lyell, Charles, Sir, 1797-1875 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection E165 .L984 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 20686 |
| E-BOOK: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/lhtnhtml/lhtnhome.html |
| Sir Charles Lyell's scientific journals on the species question [Edited by Leonard G. Wilson] |
| AUTHOR: Lyell, Charles, Sir, 1797-1875. |
| HEALTH SCIENCES Book Collection QH 363 L984s 1970 |
| Travels in North America, Canada, and Nova Scotia with geological observations |
| AUTHOR: Lyell, Charles, Sir, 1797-1875. |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection E165 .L974 v.1 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.116 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 162:4 |
| E-BOOK: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/lhtnhtml/lhtnhome.html |
| MACLURE WILLIAM 1763-1840 |
| The European journals of William Maclure [edited with notes and introduction by John S. Doskey] |
| AUTHOR: Maclure, William, 1763-1840 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE22.M3 E8 1988 |
| Observations on the geology of the United States of America |
| AUTHOR: Maclure, William, 1763-1840 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE77 .M12 1962 |
| MILLER, HUGH 1802-1856 |
| Edinburgh and its neighbourhood, geological and historical; with the geology of the Bass rock |
| AUTHOR: Miller, Hugh, 1802-1856 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE264 .M642 1873 |
| IN STORAGE Request at Circulation PR5021.M45 E2 |
| The cruise of the Betsey; or, A summer holiday in the Hebrides. With Rambles of a geologist; or, Ten thousand miles over the fossiliferous deposits of Scotland |
| AUTHOR: Miller, Hugh, 1802-1856 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.129 |
| IN STORAGE Request at Circulation PR5021.M45 C7 |
| The foot-prints of the Creator: or, the Asterolepis of Stromness. With a memoir of the author, by Louis Agassiz |
| AUTHOR: Miller, Hugh, 1802-1856 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QH363 .M65 1851 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 317:1 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.131F |
| The old red sandstone : or, New walks in an old field |
| AUTHOR: Miller, Hugh, 1802-1856 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Hartman Collection no.657 |
| IN STORAGE Request at Circulation PR5021.M45 O5 |
| Popular geology: a series of lectures read before the Philosophical Institution of Edinburgh, with Descriptive sketches from a geologist's portfolio. With an introductory resume of the progress of geological science |
| AUTHOR: Miller, Hugh, 1802-1856 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.131A |
| Sketch-book of popular geology |
| AUTHOR: Miller, Hugh, 1802-1856 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE264 .M6 |
| IN STORAGE Request at Circulation PR5021.M45 S5 |
| The testimony of the rocks; or, Geology in its bearings on the two theologies, natural and revealed |
| AUTHOR: Miller, Hugh, 1802-1856 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE264 .M65 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.131B |
| IN STORAGE Request at Circulation PR5021.M45 T38 |
| MOLLOY, GERALD 1834-1906 |
| Geology and revelation, or, The ancient history of the earth, considered in the light of geological facts and revealed religion / with an introduction to the American edition, and a chapter on Cosmogony, (by permission) from the Manual of Geology, by J.D. Dana |
| AUTHOR: Molloy, Gerald, 1834-1906 |
| E-BOOK:http://www.hti.umich.edu/cgi/b/bib/bibperm?q1=AFY1849.0001.001 |
| MURCHISON, RODERICK I., SIR 1792-1871 |
| Siluria : a history of the oldest known rocks containing organic remains, with a brief sketch of the distribution of gold over the earth |
| AUTHOR: Murchison, Roderick Impey, Sir, 1792-1871. |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.133 |
| PEACH, B. N. (BENJAMIN NIEVE) 1842-1926 |
| Chapters on the geology of Scotand |
| AUTHOR: Peach, B. N. (Benjamin Nieve), 1842-1926 |
| JOINT AUTHOR: Horne, John, 1848-1928 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE264 .P33 |
| PENROSE, RICHARD ALEXANDER FULLERTON 1863-1931 |
| Life and letters of R. A. F. Penrose, Jr. [Geological Society of America: edited by Helen R. Fairbanks and Charles P. Berkey] |
| AUTHOR: Penrose, Richard Alexander Fullerton, 1863-1931 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE22.P3 F1 |
| Nature and origin of deposits of phosphate of lime [with an introduction by N.S. Shaler] |
| AUTHOR: Penrose, Richard Alexander Fullerton, 1863-1931 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE75 .B9 no. 46 |
| PLAYFAIR, JOHN 1748-1819 |
| Illustrations of the Huttonian theory of the earth |
| AUTHOR: Playfair, John, 1748-1819 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE26 .P64 1802 |
| The works of John Playfair ... with a memoir of the author |
| AUTHOR: Playfair, John, 1748-1819. |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QA3 .P6 |
| RICHTHOFEN, FERDINAND, FREIHERR VON 1833-1905 |
| China |
| AUTHOR: Richthofen, Ferdinand, Freiherr von, 1833-1905 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection DS706 .R53 1971 |
| Fuhrer fur Forschungsreisende. Anleitung zu Beobachtungen uber Gegenstande der physischen Geographie und Geologie |
| AUTHOR: Richthofen, Ferdinand, Freiherr von, 1833-1905 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection GB58 .R53 |
| SEDGWICK, ADAM 1785-1873 |
| Index to the fossil remains of Aves, Ornithosauria, and Reptilia, from the secondary system of strata arranged in the Woodwardian Museum of the University of Cambridge |
| AUTHOR: Sedgwick, Adam, 1785-1873 |
| JOINT AUTHOR: Seeley, Harry Govier, 1839-1909 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE861 .S45 |
| STENO, NICOLAUS 1638-1686 |
| The earliest geological treatise (1667) |
| AUTHOR: Steno, Nicolaus, 1638-1686 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE709 .S83 |
| The prodromus to a dissertation concerning solids naturally contained within solids: laying a foundation for the rendering a rational accompt both of the frame and the several changes of the masse of the earth : as also of the various productions in the same |
| AUTHOR: Steno, Nicolaus, 1638-1686 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm PR1121 .U62 reel 550:1 |
| SUESS, EDUARD 1831-1914 |
| The future of silver [U.S. Geological Survey] |
| AUTHOR: Suess, Eduard, 1831-1914 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection HG301 .S82 |
| TYNDALL, JOHN 1820-1893 |
| Forms of water in clouds and rivers, ice and glaciers |
| AUTHOR: Tyndall, John, 1820-1893. |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QE576 .T97 1898 |
| The glaciers of the Alps, & Mountaineering in 1861 |
| AUTHOR: Tyndall, John, 1820-1893. |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection QE576 .T96 |
| Hours of exercise in the Alps |
| AUTHOR: Tyndall, John, 1820-1893 |
| LOCKWOOD Book Collection DQ823 .T98 |
| Researches on diamagnetism and magne-crystallic action, including the question of diamagnetic polarity |
| AUTHOR: Tyndall, John, 1820-1893 |
| SCI/ENGR Book Collection QC771 .T98 |
| WHITNEY, J. D. (JOSIAH DWIGHT) 1819-1896 |
| The geological survey of California. An address delivered before the legislature of California, at Sacramento, ... March 12, 1861 |
| AUTHOR: Whitney, J. D. (Josiah Dwight), 1819-1896 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 594:4 |
| The metallic wealth of the United States, described and compared with that of other countries |
| AUTHOR: Whitney, J. D. (Josiah Dwight), 1819-1896 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicFilm E169.1 .A47 1974 reel 326:1 |
| CAPEN Multimedia Center MicCard E169.1 .L4 LAC 10223 |
| RARE BOOKS 420 Capen Hall Q111 .B74 no.198 |
| The Yosemite guide-book: a description of the Yosemite Valley and the adjacent region of the Sierra Nevada, and of the big trees of California |
| AUTHOR: Whitney, J. D. (Josiah Dwight), 1819-1896 |
| E-BOOK: http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/cgi/sgml/moa-idx?notisid=AJL3519 |









