return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Image Searching


Image Searching
Finding Images on the Web and in Print

  • Starting Points
  • To Find Books
  • Top Databases
  • Search Engines
  • Image Search Engines
  • Special Topic Image Collection Websites
  • Guides

Starting Points

Google Search
Considered the most comprehensive image search on the Web, the Google search mechanism finds the most relevant quality images based on the user's search statement. Contains more than 880 million images! Advanced Image Search feature enables searchers to limit search queries by file size, file type, color, a specific Internet domain, etc.

Macmillan Visual Dictionary

(APL, LML, UGL/SEL Ref PE 1629 C64 1992, 1994, 1997)
Describes and analyzes today's world: the objects of everyday life, the physical environment, animal and vegetable life, the communication and work techniques; the weapons that preoccupy us, the means of transportation that are breaking down geographical barriers,, the sources of energy on which we depend," and much more.

Ultimate Visual Dictionary
(APL, UGL-SEL Reference PE 1629 .U48 1998, 1999)
Shows what a word means through annotations, photographs, diagrams and illustrations. Covers everyday things, plants, transportation, human body, visual arts, human body, and much more. Includes subject index.

The Illustrated Book of Signs and Symbols
( UGL Reference AZ 108 .B78 1996)
Covers mythologies and religions; nature, people, symbol systems. Includes bibliographic references.

Illustration Index
(UGL/SEL, LML Ref N 7525 .A67).

Return to Top


divider



To Find Books

You can search for books and other materials containing images (illustrations, photographs, drawings, etc) by combining your topic in the BISON Catalog with various words or phrases like pictorial works, illustrations, photographs, images, etc.:

Keyword = New York and pictorial works
Title word: New York changing : revisiting Berenice Abbott's New York
Subject seacrh: New York (N.Y.)--Pictorial works

You can also perform a subject search by combining the following Library of Congress subject headings with your subject word or phrase:

  • picture dictionaries
  • photography
  • architecture
  • art
Return to Top


divider



Top Databases

UB Only ARTstor
Provides access to a large collection of digital images and data for teaching and research in art history, the humanities and other disciplines. Currently includes over 300,000 digital images and associated curatorial data, as well as the tools to make active use images. Among its collections are the Huntington Archive of Asian Art ; the Museum of Modern Art Architecture and Design Collection ; the Mellon International Dunhuang Archive of murals and texts from Buddhist caves ; and the Smithsonian Native American Art and Culture collection . Upcoming collections will cover women in America, Hellenistic and Roman sculpture, the art and architecture of Islam, the image of the Black in Western Art, and more.

UB Only AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
Currently contains approximately 700,000 photos, since late 1995. Consists of several databases: Searchable by subject, date and location and sortable by relevancy or recency. Includes the International Photo Archive, Euro/Asian Photo Archive, Audio Database, Text Database , and Graphics Database .

UB Only Art Index Retrospective
Search by keyword AND "reproduction," or "illustration"

UB Only Arts & Humanities Citation Index
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is an international, multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. Search by artist in or keyword in "cited reference"

UB Only Bridgeman Art Library
Accessible at the University at Buffalo only through Grove Art Online at http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/grovesart.html . The Bridgeman Includes collections of the British Museum and the British Library, the National Galleries of Scotland, Sweden and South Africa, the Hamburg Kunsthalle and major collections in France and Italy. American collections include the Harvard Art Museums, Yale Center for British Art, the museums of Detroit, Houston and Phoenix, plus the Barnes Foundation in Pennsylvania.

UB Only Grove Online
In addition to image links to the Bridgeman Art Library , many articles in Grove Online are now illustrated with links to Art Resource , a fully searchable collection of significant images in art history and twentieth-century art. Grove also features related art image links to museum and gallery websites selected by the editors.

UB Only WorldCat
WorldCat is a mega-library catalog containing more than 55 million records contributed by 20,000 libraries around the world. It contains full bibliographic descriptions and cataloging information for books, serials, manuscripts, sound recordings, audiovisual materials, Helps to identify print sources that contain specific images. Contains over 55 million records of books and other materials held by more than 20,000 libraries worldwide. Search by keyword and "Illustration or photograph, etc.

Return to Top


divider



Search Engines

  • AltaVista
    Click on Images.
    In Search Box, type keyword

  • Google Search
    See above for more detail

  • Ask Jeeves
    In Search Box, type: Where can I find pictures of keyword….Or click on Search Pictures.

  • Hotbot
    Click on Advanced Search.
    In Search Box, type: giraffe or Dido and Aeneas
    Scroll down to Image and click box.

  • Lycos MultiMedia Search (also Fast Search )
    Click on Pictures.
    In Search Box, type: giraffe or Dido and Aeneas

  • Metacrawler ( Fast Image )
    From pull-down menu, choose Images.
    In Search Box, type: giraffe or Dido and Aeneas
Return to Top


divider



Image Search Engines

  • Amazing Picture Machine (North Central Regional Technology in Education Consortium)

  • Corbis (Bill Gates: best used with Internet Explorer: 1.6 million images online: Bettlemann Archive, UPI, National Gallery, etc.)

  • Image Finder (SunSITE, Berkeley)

  • Yahoo! Picture Gallery , 400,000 pictures including some from Corbis

  • 1StopStock

  • WebSEEk (Columbia University)
Return to Top


divider



Special Topic Image Collection Websites

  • American Memory: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog ( Library of Congress )
    Contains images from US history and culture.

  • Louvre: ATLAS: Database of works exhibited
    Contains over 30,000 images including European paintings, sculpture, and objets d'Art, as well as Egyptian, Etruscan, Greek, Islamic, Asian, and Roman antiquities.

  • Metropolitan Museum of Art
    Enables searching of the Met's online collection, which includes the entire Department of European Paintings, entire Department of American Paintings and Sculpture, the Provenance Research Project, and highlights from each of the Museum's other curatorial departments, as well as highlights from the Museum's libraries and from the database of the Antonio Ratti Textile Center.

  • Museum With No Frontiers (MWNF)
    This European Union Islamic image project provides images and documentation of Islamic antiquities, art objects and architecture. Contains over 1200 items, including illustrated and illuminated manuscripts. Extensive catalog details and documentation are provided. Images supplied by museums in Algeria, Egypt, Germany, Italy, Jordan, Morocco, Palestine, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey and UK.

  • National Gallery of Art
    Searchable by artist, title, subject. Location information is available for the objects on public display. Images may also include curatorial comments, details, and often bibliographies.

  • New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Gallery
    Provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of NYPL, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more." Searchable by collection, such as art and literature, cities and buildings, industry and technology, and nature and science.

  • UBdigit
    University at Buffalo interdisciplinary multi-media digital collections.
Return to Top


divider



Guides

Finding Images on the Web
An outstanding guide by Boston University's RuthThomas, this guide.helps users find pictures on the Internet and in print. Provides information on finding and capturing images; copyright; and search engines. Contains tips and links to images related to advertisements, arts, photography, sciences .

Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility