return to library home
return to buffalo.edu
  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card ILLiad Requests
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Services Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
Instant Message Email Phone In Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: David J. Bertuca

Last Updated: 30 September 2009






Home > Find Library Materials > Climate > Indian Ocean Tsunami Disaster


Indian Ocean Tsunami Disaster
December 26, 2004 and Aftermath

  • History & Events
  • Maps & Images
  • Relief Efforts & Contacts
  • Tsunami Science
  • Tsunami Awareness & Preparedness
  • Earthquakes & Seismic Activity

Dec 26, 2004 Tsunami

A Select Guide to Information

On December 26, 2004, a massive earthquake occurred under the Indian Ocean just off the coast of Indonesia. The 9.0 magnitude quake created a series of tsunamis that caused great destruction and loss of life throughout the Indian Ocean basin, within several hours of the initial event.

Five years later, programs and studies continue, both to support recovery efforts and to understand the science behind this devastating natural disaster. Now that the world is more sensitive to the danger posed by tsunamis, awareness has improved early alerts and warning systems, as well as prepared disaster-relief agencies with real data.

The earthquake has been titled the Sumatra-Andaman Islands Earthquake and is the highest magnitude earthquake in the region in over 40 years. Over 227,898 people have been confirmed dead making this the fourth largest death toll from an earthquake in recorded history. Several years after the quake and tsunami events, the entire region is still trying to recover and to rebuild. Some areas will never recover.

Below are links to the event, the aftermath, news and relief activities, science pages on tsunamis and earthquakes, and other resources. This page can be used to study the entire series of events, as well as current and continuing activities. There are also links to data and human effects from the successive earthquakes in 2005, 2007, and 2008. More than four years after the devastation, this event is still affecting the region and numerous studies are ongoing. Some of these are located below. Also, current earthquake-tsunami events are highlighted to provide data for research and historic studies.

Tsunami research, warning systems, and disaster preparedness agencies and organizations are included in this guide to assist the study of tsunami and seismic events relating to oceans, and to assist planners in developing mitigation and relief models.

History & Events

Latest Reports
  • UN Tracking System for Tsunami Relief Pledges: Current Status Reports (ReliefWeb). Updates on progress, status of loans and other activities as the region recovers. (Reports added up to today). Of special interest is:
  • South/Southeast Asia and East Africa: Earthquake and Tsunamis: Fact Sheet no. 14 (ReliefWeb Aug. 9, 2005) Status Reports for Countries prepared by the International Federation of Red Cross And Red Crescent Societies (IFRC).
  • Significant Earthquakes & Disasters. EQ Net detailed reports on earthquakes from 1999 to present. With maps, data sets, other report materials. All pages are now hosted on USGS site.
  • Recent Earthquakes Worldwide. Includes recent events in the Indian Ocean.
  • See also: Current Indian Ocean events.

Latest Earthquake-Tsunami Events in Other Regions

For the most recent events, go to the USGS Earthquake Hazards Program site.

  • Samoa Region Earthquake/Tsunami Disaster (September 29, 2009).
    • Samoa Tsunami Disaster (CNN). Also, see photos. Another major quake, just one day later, in the Southern Sumatra region did not cause wave activity, but was coincidentally similar in magnitude.
News Special Pages
  • After the Tsunami (CNN). News and events about and following the disaster. Includes resources, images, data, and links to additional sites. Several topics included are:
    • Death Statistics of Inhabitants (by country).
    • Death Toll of Foreign Visitors
  • Asian Quake Disaster In Depth (BBC) News and events, plus other information, similar to the CNN site.
  • Asia's Deadly Waves (New York Times). News, stories, images, videos, links to all materials.
  • Asia Earthquake and Tsunami (FirstGov). From official phone contacts to history and data, this is a good starting point.
  • EQ Net Tsunami Disaster page. From general coverage to specific technical data on the events.
  • Dec 26, 2004 Magnitude 9.0 Earthquake & Tsunami in the Indian Ocean (National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) at NOAA). Event history, maps, animations, and data.
  • National Geographic News full coverage page. On the tsunami, including news, photographs, maps, related topics, and many articles. Includes historical articles as well, such as: The Deadliest Tsunami in History? and Tsunamis: Facts About Killer Waves.
  • Tsunami Event 26 December, 2004 (NOAA). Good data and information, plus updated links.
  • Indian Ocean Casualties Map (Washington Post).
World
  • New York Times
  • BBC
  • Reuters
  • CNN
Southeastern Asian News Services (by country)
  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Maldives
  • Sri Lanka (2nd source),
  • Thailand
Images, Maps, GIS, and Video
  • News & Amateur Photos (and some videos)
    • BBC (see links in right column)
    • CBC (satellite photos, other)
    • CNN (photos, maps, graphics, satellite, personal photos)
    • CTV Special showing photos taken by a pilot over the Maldives during the tsunami from the air, then on the ground.
    • NBC Images and videos.
    • New York Times (many clean-up/aftermath photos)
    • NPR Map of the region.
    • Der Spiegel Maps and images.
    • USA Today Animated maps show the tsunami and damage/death statistics.
  • Base mapping over SE Asia tsunami . Maps from GIS of countries.
  • Before/After Satellite Images (NASA/JPL). Toggle between images showing various points in the disaster.
  • Before/After Satellite Images (Washington Post). Images of Banda Aceh, Indonesia. Click between before and after images that are super-imposed for graphic view of destruction. (May require email registration to view but is worth it).
  • GIS links . NOAA compiled list of GIS data sets available from various sources.
  • Indian Ocean Tsunami / Tiger Waves (GlobalSecurity.org). Satellite images, photographs, and maps (some animated).
  • Map of Wave Travel Time (NGDC-NOAA). Also has a world map showing how the tsunamis propagated around the world, and a wave elevation (height) map .
  • Satellite images Show Tsunami Destruction of Lhoknga, Indonesia (SpaceRef.com / Goddard Space Flight Center).
  • Tsunami Map Online Collection (Perry-CastaƱeda Library, Univ. of Texas). Large selection of links to maps worldwide.
  • Tsunami Media Gallery (DigitalGlobe). No longer available for free view. Photographs and satellite imagery, with references to regions.
  • Tsunami Interactive Map (Time). Map, graphics, and imagery of the tsunami and aftermath.
  • Tsunami Inundation Maps (NOAA Center for Tsunami Research). See computer-modeled maps showing the extent of flood waters to coastal regions from tsunamis.
  • Satellite Images by CRISP, Singapore (IKONOS images/CNES (SPOT images).
  • http://www.asiantsunamivideos.com/ . Independent site with a series of videos on the tsunamis. Has extreme amount of traffic but also has mirror sites to assist. Different browsers may act differently when downloading.
Return to Top




Relief Efforts and Country Contacts

  • World Comes to Aid Tsunami Victims
    The aftermath of the disaster will continue to haunt the Indian Ocean community, as well as effect the world for years to come. International reaction has been rapid in sending help to the region, with pledges of continued support in the future.
  • Emergency hotline numbers
    to countries.
  • Red Cross Victims Database
    Online database to assist family members to track down lost loved ones.
Lists of Relief Organizations
  • Relief Web has a page devoted to relief efforts by various sources worldwide.
  • Tsunami Relief page (Google) links to main relief organizations, as well as information and contacts
  • Aid groups accepting donations for victims . (CNN).
  • Disaster Relief-Related Organizations ( Disaster Relief ).
Selected List of Major Organizations
  • United Nations
    • UNICEF Tsunami Relief Fund
    • UN Tracking System for Tsunami Relief Pledges. Status of aid received and also current news on funding. As of 2008, these funds are still being received and used.
  • United States Agency for International Development Relief Aid page ( USAID ).
  • International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) has a website.
  • World Vision.
Return to Top




Tsunami Science

General & Brief
  • Tsunami and earthquake facts (CNN). Brief descriptions of historic events for comparison, animations of tsunami formation, and other information.
  • Tsunami's Journey (BBC). Animated map showing the earthquake, with animations of how tsunamis form.
  • National Geographic News page. A wide variety of resources. Also includes historical articles, such as: The Deadliest Tsunami in History? and Tsunamis: Facts About Killer Waves.
  • Natural Disasters. Resources on other natural disasters.

How does this event affect the entire world? See a page of maps and charts that show the extent of the tsunami's reach to all oceans of the world (West Coast/Alaska Tsunami Warning Center). It is amazing!

Science, Research, & In-Depth

For the one of most comprehensive sites relating to current and historical data on earthquakes and related tsunami events go to the Earthquake Hazards Program (USGS). This site provides in-depth studies and materials, maps, etc. on both current and historic events. It also contains statistics and collections of data, such as events by magnitude, deaths, and amount of destruction for comparison studies.

  • For Maps and GIS, Click here.
  • Sumatra-Andaman Islands Earthquake and Indian Ocean Tsunamis, December 26, 2004 EQ Net resources page on the event (moved 2007 to USGS site).
  • Data Report on the Earthquake (TsuInfo Alert April 2005 (Washington State Dept. of Natural Resources).
  • Northern Sumatra Earthquake, March 28, 2005 EQ Net.
  • Other links to the 2005 earthquake:
    • Preliminary Results of Rupture Process for the March 28, 2005 Earthquake
    • Northen Sumatra Earthquake, March 28, 2005 (Dr. George, PC). Additional links to later quakes and other disasters.
  • Tsunami Research Program (NOAA, Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, Center for Tsunami Research). Research, mapping, models, and all sorts of information. Also has links to many relevant websites. One page of direct interest is:
    • Data Sets on the Indonesian Earthquake and Tsunami (NOAA). The most complete set of links to compiled data from sources and agencies around the world. Includes seismic and wave data, maps, tables, GIS, videos, and to photographic and satellite imagery. Also provides links to most of the prominent research centers worldwide.
  • Tsunami ! (Univ. of Washington, Dept. of Earth and Space Sciences ). Scientific information and descriptions of tsunamis, including, what causes them, how they travel, what they can do. Good all-round coverage, including additional information, such as:
    • Physics of Tsunamis
    • Hazard Mitigation
    • What does "Tsunami" mean?
  • Tsunami Information Links (USGS Earthquake Hazards Program). One of the most complete sites for resources on tsunamis, including links to warning systems. Resources include:
    • Tsunamis & Earthquakes
    • Surviving a Tsunami (USGS). Findings and suggestions based on several events. A PDF version is also available.
    • Helping Coastal Communities at Risk from Tsunamis.
    • Tsunami Websites. Links to good sites worldwide.
  • National Tsunami Mitigation Program (PMEL/NOAA). Resources include Warnings & Forecas ts, Preparedness & Response Programs, Hazard Assessment: Research & Modeling, legislation related to tsunami events and damage mitigation, and links to specific agencies and organizations, data and science sites.
  • Recent Seismic Events (Institution of Structural Engineers)
  • Tsunamis - The Why Files
  • Tsunami FAQ - International Tsunami Information Center

Current Earthquake Events in the Indian Ocean Region

For the current reports and data go to the USGS Earthquake Hazards Program Asia Region page. See also their Earthquake Center latest earthquakes page for world-wide events.

  • Minahasa, Sulawesi, Indonesia February 7, 2008
  • Southern Sumatra, Indonesia September 12, 2007
  • Southern Sumatra, Indonesia March 6, 2007
Return to Top




Tsunami Awareness & Preparedness

Tsunami Warning Centers

  • West Coast and Alaska Tsunami Warning Center
  • Pacific Tsunami Warning Center
  • International Group for the Tsunami Warning System in the Pacific
  • International Tsunami Information Center (U.S. National Weather Service)
Disaster Preparation
  • Tsunamis: Are You Ready? (FEMA).
  • TsunamiReady Community Preparedness (NOAA/NWS). Developing a community plan to deal with tsunami disasters (and to minimize losses).
  • Tsunami Safety Rules . Tips on what to do.
  • Tsunami Links For Kids (NOAA). Descriptions, animations, and other items made just for kids to studythe events. See also: Tsunami Warning a children's book that explains these types of events.
  • Helping Children Cope with Trauma by the American Counseling Association (ACA). For any disasters.
  • Disaster Relief and Emergency Preparedness. Page by the Digital Divide Network. Also includes materials on electronic devices and services as they relate to disasters.
  • Natural Disasters. Resources on other natural disasters.
Return to Top




Earthquakes & Seismic Activity

  • Earthquake Hazards Program (USGS). Website on all earthquake and seismic-related topics.
  • Can Animals Sense Earthquakes? A 2003 National Geographic article looks at this concept and what research has shown. Has a 2004 companion article Did Animals Sense Tsunami Was Coming?
Return to Top





return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility