Journal Abbreviations
Guide to Determining Titles
Sources listed below are located in the UGL-SEL (Capen) Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Capen Hall, North Campus, (or online) unless otherwise noted.
Print Sources
- Periodical Title Abbreviations, Gale Research Co., 2 vols., 16th ed., 2006
Includes science, engineering, and many other fields.
CAPEN LIBRARIES /Reference Z6945 A2 W34
- Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI), Chemical Abstracts Service.
Includes chemistry journal titles and conference proceedings.
Also on CD-ROM in Capen Reference area.
CAPEN LIBRARIES /Reference Z5523 C436
- Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary, Gale Research Company.
Includes journal abbreviations.
LOCKWOOD LIBRARY Reference PE 1693 A27
- INSPEC List of Journals and other Serial Sources, Institution of Electrical Engineers.
Includes engineering and physics journal titles.
CAPEN LIBRARIES /Reference Z7143 L57
- Abbreviations of Names of Serials Reviewed in Mathematical Reviews, American Mathematical Society,
CAPEN LIBRARIES /Reference QA1 M762
- World List of Scientific Periodicals Published in the Years 1900-1960, Peter Brown and George Burder Stratton, 4th ed., 3 vols., 1963.
CAPEN LIBRARIES /Reference Z7403 W92 LOCKWOOD LIBRARY /Book Collection Z7403 .W92
Online Sources
- JAKE (Jointly Administered Knowledge Environment) is a database covering journals from a large variety of disciplines which are included in 195 databases, such as Compendex. Searchable by abbreviation, multiple answers are possible.
http://jake.openly.com/
- All That JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources) This page lists or provides access to the full title of journal abbreviations. A large variety of disciplines, arranged by subject. The quality and coverage is not consistent.
http://www.abbreviations.com/jas.asp
- Web ofScience - List of journals indexed by ISI, searchable by title word.
http://www.isinet.com/cgi-bin/jrnlst/jloptions.cgi?PC=master
- TriUniversity Group of Libraries - Links to Web sources listing journals titles, mostly in the sciences.
http://ereference.uwaterloo.ca/display.cfm?categoryID=33&catHeading=Abbreviations%20/%20Acronyms
- Yale University - Search engine for science journal abbreviations, held by Yale University.
http://info.med.yale.edu/library/journalfinder/
- Medical Journals indexed in Medline are searchable by abbreviation. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=Journals
- Biological sciences
http://home.ncifcrf.gov/research/bja/
- Chemistry - List contains the abbreviated and complete title, for the core journals (not the full list) covered in the Chemical Abstract Services. It is sorted alphabetically by the full title of the publication.
http://www.cas.org/sent.html
- Science and Engineering - List of Journals abbreviations. Best suited for chemistry. http://www.library.ubc.ca/scieng/coden.html
- Agriculture - Search of abbreviated agriculture related titles indexed in AGRICOLA. Journals Indexed in AGRICOLA
Please note : The above listing is not exhaustive. There are other reference works that may be of use to you.









