return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Judaic Studies

    
Judaic Studies     

Resources in Judaic studies are available in a variety of traditional (books, periodicals) and electronic formats. The list below provides links to some of these resources.


Judaic Studies Collection

The Judaic studies collection in Lockwood Library contains mostly undergraduate level holdings located in three Library of Congress classes:

  • DS 101-151 (Jewish history)
  • DM 1-999 (Judaism)
  • BS 701-1830 (Old Testament)

Additional material may be found in B 154-159, 755-759 (philosophy), and PJ 4501-5329 (Hebrew and Yiddish literature).

All historical periods and places are represented, in particular the Jewish experience in Europe, the United States, and Israel. Although most titles are in English, we have a small collection of dictionaries, grammars, and novels in Hebrew and Yiddish to provide for current reading interests, independent study, and basic research in comparative literature. The library subscribes to approximately 40 journals in Judaic studies and dozens of additional titles of interest in related disciplines.

Access to Lockwood's book collection is provided through the BISON the UB Libraries Catalog . The Index to Jewish Periodicals LML Ref. Z 6367 .I5 and Religion Index One: Periodicals LML Ref. (Indexes) Z 7753 .A5, located in the Reference Department, are the major entry points to the journal literature of Judaic studies.

Howard Pikoff is the Judaic studies subject specialist and is available by appointment for special reference consultations and for classroom instruction. You are invited to submit purchase recommendations for the collection to him.

Return to Top


divider



Research Guides

Judaica Reference Sources: A Selective, Annotated Bibliographic Guide. Second Edition.
LML Ref DS102.C87 1993
Return to Top


divider



Bibliographies

International Bibliography of Jewish History and Thought.
LML Z 6366 .K34 1984 This annotated bibliography contains about 2,000 books of major importance for the study of Jewish history and thought. Works in Hebrew, English, German, Spanish, Portuguese and French are included.

Kiryat Sefer: Bibliographic Quarterly of the Jewish National and University Library.
LML Ref Z6367 .K57 1972- Written in Hebrew, this comprehensive quarterly contains bibliographies, articles and scholarly reviews.

Return to Top


divider



Library Catalogs

Dictionary Catalog of the Klau Library, Cincinnati. 32 volumes
LML Z 881 .H35
The Klau Library is one of the largest repositories of Hebraica and Judaica in the world, housing about 200,000 items. Titles are listed in both English and Hebrew.

Dictionary Catalog of the Jewish Collection. New York Public Library. 14 volumes
LML Ref Z 6375 .N6
English, Hebrew and Yiddish titles, from this major Judaica collection, listed in separate alphabets.

Dictionary Catalog of the Jewish Collection. New York Public Library. First supplement. 8 volumes
LML Ref Z 6375 .N62

Return to Top


divider



Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopaedia Judaica. 16 volumes
LML Ref DS 102.8 .E496
UGL Ref DS 102.8 .E496 This major reference work contains comprehensive, signed articles and useful bibliographies. Many illustrations, tables, maps and charts, as well as an index volume are included. Biennial yearbooks update and supplement the main work.

The New Standard Jewish Encyclopedia. 7th New Revised Edition.
LML Ref DS 102.8 .S73 1992 This one-volume work, with short to medium length entries is a useful source for basic information.

Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel. 2 volumes.
LML DS 149 .E597 Information on the history, ideologies, institutions and important individuals of the Zionist movement is included. A selective bibliography is found at the end of volume two.

Return to Top


divider



Biographical Sources

American Jewish Biographies.
LML Ref E 184.J5 P625 Biographical profiles of distinguished Jewish American men and women are included.

Who's Who in Jewish History, after the Period of the Old Testament.
LML Ref DS 115 .C6 1974b Selective biographies of Jews who have made significant contributions to Jewish history and culture from 135 BC to 1974 are included. A chronology and thematic index are provided.

Who's Who in Israel and Jewish Personalities from All Over the World.
LML DS 125.3 .A2 W62 1990/91 (21st ed.) & 1998/1999 (23rd ed.) Biographical information on Israeli public figures and Zionists throughout the world is included in this biennial publication. Part II contains information about public and private institutions and enterprises in Israel. (Volume 1985/86 is in storage.)

Who's Who in World Jewry: A Biographical Dictionary of Outstanding Jews.
LML DS 125.3 .A2 W5 (Volumes for 1965-81 are in storage.) Authoritative histories of prominent individuals in all fields are included.

Return to Top


divider



Yearbooks and Annuals

American Jewish Yearbook.
LML Ref E 184 .J5 A6 (Current year is in the reference collection. 1902- are in the book collection.) An annual survey of Jewish activities worldwide, with emphasis on the U.S. It includes information on population, organizations, periodicals and a necrology. An index to special articles in earlier editions is included.

The Israel Yearbook and Almanac.
LML Ref DS 101 .I68 (Current year is in the reference collection. 1991- are in the book collection.) This annual contains articles on Israeli politics, government, foreign relations, economy, culture, personalities, etc.

Jewish Book Annual.
LML Ref PN 6067 .J4 Bibliographies and essays on current Jewish literature. Text is in English, Hebrew and Yiddish.

Return to Top


divider



Indexes and Abstracts

Index to Jewish Periodicals.
LML Ref Z 6367 .I5 (Index Area) 1970- (also on CD-ROM, 1988-2002, LML Micro and News) Provides references to articles from more than 100 English language journals of general and scholarly interest.

Religion Index One: Periodicals.
LML Ref Z 7753 .A5 (Index Area) 1949- Covers 500+ scholarly journals, including approximately a dozen titles in Judaic studies.

Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works.
LML Ref Z 7751 .R35 (Index Area) 1970- A companion to the above, this series offers access to the contents of hundreds of edited books in religious studies.

Digital Dissertations
Includes doctoral and selected master's theses from all disciplines

Return to Top


divider



Websites

Judaism and Jewish Resources.
http://shamash.org/trb/judaism.html
A comprehensive catalog of scholarly and popular electronic resources. Links to hundreds of Web sites covering all aspects of Jewish life.

Return to Top


divider





 





divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility