Home > Resources > Resources by Subject > English & American Literature > British Writers

British Writers

Tracing the Popular and Critical Reception of Their Works

 

Databases

MLA International Bibliography
Contains citations to books, journal articles and dissertations published on literature, modern languages, linguistics, and folklore.

WorldCat
A mega-library catalog containing more than 45 million records. Contains full bibliographic descriptions and cataloging information for: books, serials, manuscripts, sound recordings, audiovisual materials, maps, music scores, and computer-readable files.

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
Contains over 750,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. ABELL also includes links to the full text of over 60 journals from 1998 to the present.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
A database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. The database to use for citation searching.

Digital Dissertations
Provides title, author, and subject access to virtually every U.S. dissertation; the database also provides access to thousands of Canadian dissertations and U.S. master's theses, and since 1988 selected access to British and European dissertations.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
This online version of the Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) provides full-text access to over 9,000 critical and biographical essays on British and American authors from all eras and genres.

Periodicals Contents Index (PCI Full-Text)
A major online periodical archive containing digitized periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1770 to 1995.

Reference Books

Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
LOCKWOOD Reference PN86 L53
An authoritative international resource that covers works from the late Middle Ages, Renaissance and Restoration.

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN761 N5
A source of commentary on the careers and works of poets, novelists, short-story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899.

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN771 G27
Provides information on more than 2,000 authors now living or who lived between 1900 and 1960. Entries include a portrait, biographical and critical information, a list of principal works, excerpts from criticism, explanatory notes and bibliographical citations, and suggested further reading.

Contemporary Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PN 94 C62
Contains over 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Entries include lists of biographical, critical, and principal works, as well as information for further study.

Dictionary of National Biography
LOCKWOOD Reference DA28. D56
Documents the lives of nearly 40,000 people. The entries combine fact, anecdote, and personal memoir.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Cataloged by individual title
Outlines the lives and careers of writers from all eras. Entries consist of a biographical and critical sketch, as well as an extensive bibliography.

Cambridge History of English Literature
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PR83. C22 1960
Standard literary history. Includes essays on poetry, fiction, drama, history, theology and political writing.

Oxford History of English Literature Cataloged by individual title
Standard literary history. Volumes include a chronology, bibliography and information on major and minor writers as well as social, scientific, political and religious contexts.

New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference Z2011. N45
Contains bibliographies on works by and about British authors. Includes references to literary memoirs, journals and letters, all aspects of book publishing, as well as individual poets, novelists, dramatists, and critics.

The New Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PR85. N39 1985
An updated and expanded version of Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism of English and American Authors (1901), it includes authors from the Medieval through the Edwardian eras.

The Critical Perspective: Twentieth-Century Criticism
LOCKWOOD Reference PR85. C76 1985
Multi-volume set contains excerpts from 20th century criticism on writers whose works pre-date 1904. Arranged chronologically.

Twentieth-Century British Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference PR473. T84 1985
Criticism of modern authors from the United Kingdom and its former colonies.

Index to Book Reviews in England 1749-1774 .
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1035. A1F67 1990
Volume covering 1749-1774 lists reviews for 3,023 works of English poetry, fiction, and drama.

Index to Book Reviews in England 1775-1800 .
LOCKWOOD Reference Z1035. A1F675 1997
Volume covering 1750-1800 lists reviews for 4,984 works of English poetry, fiction, and drama.

Year's Work in English Studies .
LOCKWOOD Book Collection PE58. E6
Latest only in LOCKWOOD Reference
A review of scholarly works on English language and literature for any given year. Each volume includes a detailed overview of works covering major periods and genres.

Harner, James. Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
LOCKWOOD Reference PR83 H34 2002
A selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.

Bracken, James K Reference Works in British and American Literature
LOCKWOOD Reference Z2011 .B74 1998
An annotated bibliography of bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, indexes, concordances, and current journals or newsletters devoted to one of about 600 British or American authors.

Websites

Literature History.Com
Literaryhistory.com is an index to free internet articles on topics in English and American literature. It is designed to be convenient and useful for students, scholars, writers, teachers, reading groups, and general readers. All links lead directly to articles, and articles must meet basic academic standards to be included.