British Literary Manuscripts
Locating Guide
Databases
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Outlines the lives and careers of writers from all eras and genres. Entries include information on manuscripts, personal papers, letters and diariesWorldCat
A mega-library catalog containing more than 45 million records. Contains full bibliographic descriptions and cataloging information for: books, serials, manuscripts, sound recordings, audiovisual materials, maps, music scores, and computer-readable files.National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections available through ArchivesUSA
A union catalog of collections of manuscripts held in public libraries, archives, historical societies, museums and other institutions in the United States. It is not a catalog of individual manuscripts, but of collections of papers formed about an individual, subject or organization or by an individual, group or institution.
Reference Books
A Directory of Rare Book and Special Collections in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland .
Lockwood Reference Z1029 D57 1997
A guide to the collections in public, national, academic, church and institutional libraries. Organized by country, county, city and institution, entries typically include address, telephone number, hours, requirement for admission, research facilities, and sometimes a brief history of the library.Index of Manuscripts in the British Library, 10 vols.
Lockwood Reference Z921. L553. B74 1984
A person and place index to manuscripts acquired through 1950 by the British Department of Manuscripts.British Museum. Catalogue of Additions to the Manuscripts. 1756- .
Lockwood Reference Z6621 B842
Provides full descriptions of individual documents and summary descriptions of larger archives of the largest collection in the British Library Department of Manuscripts.Cambridge University Library: the Great Collections.
Lockwood Book Collection Z792 .C18 C36 1998Index of English Literary Manuscripts.
Lockwood Reference Z 6611. L7 I5
A descriptive catalog of existing literary manuscripts by British and Irish writers between 1450 and 1900. The emphasis is on literary manuscripts, including author's typescripts, corrected proof sheets, diaries, and notebooks.Location Register of Twentieth-Century English Literary Manuscripts and Letters . Boston: G. K. Hall, 1988. 2 vols.
Lockwood Reference Z6611. L7L63 1988
Identifies manuscripts (including proofs, sound recordings, and electronic documents) by British writers, which are available for public consultation at libraries throughout the British Isles. Coverage is for 20th century authors, including those who died after December 31, 1899.Medieval Manuscripts in British Libraries
Lockwood Z6620.G7 K4
Websites
Home