Home > Resources > Resources by Subject > English & American Literature > American Literature

American Literature

Accessing American Periodical Literature and Newspapers

Databases

APS Online (American Periodical Series)
Contains full-text articles from over 700 periodicals published in the United States from 1741 through 1805.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Citations to over 3 million articles published in periodicals, books, newspapers and government documents from 1802-1906.

PCI Full-Text (Periodicals Contents Index)
A major online periodical archive that makes the full image of periodical articles in the humanities and social sciences, from 1770 to 1995, available in digital form.

Reference Books

Mott, Frank Luther. A History of American Magazines.
Lockwood Reference PN4877 M63
Discusses important events and topics in the history of American magazines, as well as the history of individual magazines. Each volume contains a chronological list of magazines and a general index.

Early American Periodicals Index to 1850.
Lockwood Microform Area - Microprint AI3 E27
Covers 340 American magazines published 1730-1850. Includes all known periodical publications that had their inception and ending during this time period. The actual periodicals are on microfilm in three microfilm collections of the same names (often referred to as APS I, APS II and APS III).

Literary Writings in America: A Bibliography.
Lockwood Reference Z1225. L58
8 vols.
Lists American literature (1850-1940) which was originally published in periodicals as well as in book form; arranged alphabetically by author. Includes many lesser-known authors whose work appeared only in periodicals.

Wells, Daniel A. The Literary Index to American Magazines. 1815-1865 .
Lockwood Reference PN523 .W43
This index is organized alphabetically by subject (including writers and artists).

The Literary Index to American Magazines. 1850-1900 .
Lockwood
Reference Z1225 .W38 1996
Indexes original works and book reviews of all works by major and minor writers in America that appeared in literary magazines from 1850 to 1900.

Kribbs, Jayne K. Annotated Bibliography of American Literary Periodicals, 1741-1850 .
Lockwood Book Collection Z1219. K75
This work lists (alphabetically) literary periodicals published in the United States from 1741-1850. Each entry includes publication information and a description.

Chielens, Edward E. American Literary Magazines: The Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries.
Lockwood Reference Z1231. P45A43 1986
Includes detailed accounts of the histories and editorial practices of major American literary magazines prior to the twentieth century.

American Literary Magazines: The Twentieth Century.
Lockwood
Reference Z1231. P45. A44 1992
Describes the most significant literary magazines in detail. An additional 100 magazines are briefly profiled in an appendix.

Nourie, Alan and Barbara. American Mass-Market Magazines.
Lockwood
Reference PN4877 A48 1990
This source provides concise, in-depth histories of the most significant mass-market or general magazines in the United States. Coverage includes both active periodicals and those which have ceased publication.

Hoffman, Frederick J. and others. The Little Magazine: A History and A Bibliography.
Lockwood Book Collection PN4836 H63 1947
A survey of selected little magazines published since 1912. Primary coverage is of the United States.

Comprehensive Index to English-Language Little Magazines. 1890-1970.
Lockwood Reference PN4836 S23
Covers 100 periodicals of the period 1890-1970. Indexes journal articles, poems, dramas, illustrations, editorials, photographs, bibliographies, letters, interviews, and reviews.

Index to American Little Magazines.
Lockwood
Reference (Index) AI3 I54
Contains subject and author indexes to select American little magazines.

New York Times Index.
Lockwood Reference (Index) AI21 N44
A subject index with abstracts of articles and features in the late city edition and regional Sunday supplements of the New York Times.

New York Times Book Review Index. 1896-1970.
Lockwood
Reference (Index) Z1219 N4
Lists materials found in The New York Times Book Review from 1896 to 1970. This index does not list book reviews that were published in the weekday New York Times. Includes full-length reviews and essays, brief reviews and biographical sketches, letters to the editor and brief commentaries and notes and anecdotal items.