return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
Articles+ (Multi-Search) BISON Catalog Electronic Journals Course Reserves Databases Forms A-Z Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours / Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon Articles+ (Multi-Search)
divider
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




Guide Author: Fred Stoss

Last Updated: 17 Nov 2003






Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Mathematics > Selected Print Sources


Mathematics: Selected Print Sources
These sources are located in the UGL/SEL Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Capen Hall, North Campus, unless otherwise noted.

  • Abstracts & Indexes
  • Bibliographies/Histories
  • Biographical Sources
  • Dictionaries
  • Directories
  • Encyclopedias
  • Handbooks
  • Journals
  • Tables


Abstracts & Indexes

  • Abbreviations of Names of Serials reviewed in Mathematical Reviews , 1993.
    UGL/SEL REF QA 1.M762 1993
    Provides the form of references used in Mathematical Reviews , including complete title and place of publication. A current version can be found at the web site for the American Mathematical Society.
  • Current Mathematical Publications
    Index provides citations to items reviewed in Mathematical Reviews . For access, use the online database MathSciNet.
  • Jahrbuch uber die Fortschritte der Mathematik
    UGL/SEL REF QA .1 J3
    Published in German, this index service precedes Mathematical Reviews and covers the years 1868-1942.
  • Mathematical Reviews
    SEL Periodical Collection Per QA1 .M76 Current issues in SEL Abstracts
    Monthly abstracting service provides citations to journal articles, books, and technical reports. For online access, use MathSciNet.
  • Mathematics of Computation , 1943-.
    SCI/ENGR Periodical Collection Per QA47 .M29 Current Issues arranged by title in SEL Current Periodicals
    Previously titled, Mathematical Tables and Other Aids to Computation, this journal reports research in numerical analysis, application of computer methods, mathematical tables, and other related topics.
  • Zentralblatt fur Mathematik und Ihre Grenzgebiete
    SEL REF QA 1 .Z4 (Library has print version only from 1979-1992- See also online version)
    Also called Mathematics Abstracts , this journal contains reviews written in English, French, and German.
Return to Top


divider



Bibliographies/Histories

  • Bernoulli Numbers: Bibliography (1713-1990) , Karl Dilcher, Ladislav Skula, and Ilja Sh. Slavutskii, eds., 1991.
    SEL Book Collection QA246 .B47 1991
    Bibliography containing papers published prior to 1991 dealing with Bernoulli numbers and related number and polynomial sequences. Cites articles from over 800 authors. An extensive index is also included.

  • Bibliography of Mathematical Works Printed in America through 1850 , Louis C. Karpinski, 1980.
    Lockwood Book Collection Z6651.K18 1980
    Arranged chronologically, this book covers over 1,000 mathematical books published in America through 1850.

  • Historical Introduction to Mathematical Literature , George Abram Miller, 1916.
    SEL Book Collection QA21 .M5
    Introduction the history of mathematics, this book covers fundamental developments in arithmetic, geometry, and algebra. Brief biographical sketches of prominent mathematicians are included. Also accessible online from the Cornell Historic Math Book Collection.
  • The History of Mathematics from Antiquity to the Present: A Selective Bibliography , Joseph W. Dauben, 1985.
    SEL Book Collection Z6651 .D38 1985
    Annotated bibliography lists 2,000 sources on the history of mathematics.
  • The History of Modern Mathematics , David E. Rowe and John McCleary, eds. , 1989/1994.
    SEL Book Collection QA21 .S98 1989 Vols. 2 &3
    Intended for historians, mathematicians, and the general public, the essays in this book examine mathematical developments during the 19th and 20th centuries.
  • Omega--Bibliography of Mathematical Logic , Gert H. Muller, ed., 1987.
    UGL/SEL REF Z6654.M26 O47 1987
    Comprehensive bibliography covers works in mathematical logic published between 1879 and 1985.
  • Mathematics and its History , John Stillwell, 1989.
    Undergraduate Book Collection QA21 .S84 1989
    Intended for undergraduates, this book provides an overview of mathematics from the the Greeks to present.
  • A Source Book in Mathematics, 1200-1800 , D. J. Struik, ed, 1969.
    SEL Book Collection QA21 .S88
    Contains writings from mathematicians in the Latin world from the 13th to the end of the 18th century.
Return to Top


divider



Biographical Sources

  • Makers of Mathematics , Alfred Hooper, 1948.
    SEL Book Collection QA21 .H76
    Biographical sketches of the accomplishments of famous male mathematicians.
  • Notable Mathematicians: from Ancient Times to the Present , Robyn V. Young, ed., 1998.
    UGL/SEL Reference QA 28 .N66 1998
    A comprehensive source of biographical information for over 300 mathematicians from ancient times to the present.
  • Notable Women in Mathematics : A Biographical Dictionary, Charlene Morrow and Teri Perl, 1998.
    UGL/SEL Reference QA28 .N68 1998
    Contains biographical information for 59 recognized female leaders in mathematics from the18th century to the present.
Return to Top


divider



Dictionaries

  • A. J. Lohwater's Russian-English Dictionary of the Mathematical Sciences , R. P. Boas, 2nd ed., 1990.
    SEL REF QA5 .L64 1990
    Dictionary is intended for speakers of English in search of translations of Russian mathematical writing.

  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics , Christopher Clapham, 2nd ed., 1996.
    SEL REF QA5 .C53 1996
    General mathematics dictionary includes clear and precise explanations of mathematical terms.

  • Dictionary of Mathematics: In Four Languages, English, German, French, Russian. Gunther Eisenreich and Ralf Sube, 1982
    SEL REF QA5 .E35 1982
    Multi-lingual mathematics dictionary covering "pure" mathematics, as well as logic, topology, and algebra.

  • Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics , John Daintith and John Clark, eds. 3rd ed., 1999.
    Undergraduate Reference QA5 .F35 1999
    Intended for students in mathematics, this dictionary contains over 2000 mathematical terms. An extensive appendix contains information about conversion factors and formulae.

  • Logic from A to Z , Michael Detlefsen, David Charles McCarty, and John B. Bacon, 1999.
    Undergraduate Reference QA9 . D47 1999
    Glossary contains terms used in formal logic and philosophy of mathematics. It also includes a table of the logical symbols used in set theory, propositional and predicate logic, and modal logic.

  • Mathematics Dictionary , Glenn James, 4th ed., 1976.
    SEL REF QA5 .J3 1976
    Intended for both amateur and professional mathematicians, this reference book covers all areas of mathematics and contains brief biographical statements of influential mathematical scientists. A multilingual index in French, German, Russian, and Spanish is also included.
  • Quantities and Units of Measurement: A Dictionary and Handbook , J. V. Drazil, 1983.
    SEL REF QC 39 .D73 1983
    This book is divided into three parts: an alphabetical listing of the names, symbols, and abbreviations of units of the International System of Units (SI units); the quantities and constants used in all major fields of science and technology, their symbols, French and German names, and the SI units used for their measurement; and a list of symbols used to denote quantities and constants.
  • Webster's New World Dictionary of Mathematics , William Karush, 1989.
    SEL REF QA5 .K26 1989
    Updated version of the Crescent Dictionary of Mathematics , this reference book is a good tool for non-specialists, students, and teachers. It covers over 1400 topics and includes references to books on biographies of mathematicians, general mathematics, and the history of mathematics.
Return to Top


divider



Directories

  • Combined Membership List of the American Mathematical Society, Mathematical Association of America, and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics , 1998/1999.
    UGL/SEL REF QA1 .A6 L4 .
    List includes names and addresses of the members of the American Mathematical Society (AMS), the Mathematical Association of America (MAA), and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). Also accessible online at the American Mathematical Society web site: http://www.ams.org/cml .
  • Directory of Women in the Mathematical Sciences , 1987.
    UGL/SEL REF QA30 .D6
    Contains a select list of women mathematicians.
  • The Gourman Report. A Rating of Graduate and Professional Programs in American and International Universities , Jack Gourman, 1997.
    UGL/SEL REF LB2331.63 .G68
    Rates graduate programs in American and international universities. Mathematics is among the 47 programs covered.
  • Mathematical Sciences Professional Directory , 2001.
    UGL/SEL REF QA1 .M765
    Directory lists contact information for mathematical organizations.
  • The National Faculty Directory , 33rd ed., 2002
    Lockwood Reference L901 .N34 2002
    Alphabetical listing of teaching faculty at colleges and universities of North America.
  • Peterson's Graduate Programs in the Physical Sciences, Mathematics, Agricultural Sciences, the Environment, & Natural Resources , 36th ed., 2002.
    UGL/SEL REF L901 .P46 Bk.4 2002
    Guide provides information on graduate and professional programs offered by accredited colleges and universities.
  • Recognizing Excellence in the Mathematical Sciences: An International Compilation of Awards, Prizes, and Recipients , Janice M. Jaguszewski, 1997, Janice M. Jaguszewski, ed.
    Lockwood Book Collection QA20.3 .R43 1997
    Compilation of over 100 awards, honors, and prizes for outstanding achievements in the mathematical sciences for the last 25 years. A list of recipients for each award is included.
  • World Directory of Mathematicians , 11th ed., 1998.
    UGL/SEL REF QA30 .W6
    Includes addresses, titles, and affiliations of mathematicians world-wide.
Return to Top


divider



Encyclopedias

  • CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics , Eric W. Weisstein, 1999
    UGL/SEL REF QA5 .W45 1999
    Written for both the layperson and specialist, this book is a compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, tabulations, and references. See also Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics online.

  • Encyclopaedia of Mathematics , 1988
    UGL/SEL REF QA5 .M3713 1988
    Updated and annotated translation of the Soviet Mathematical Encyclopaedia (1977-1985) , this reference work covers mathematical definitions, concepts, surveys, examples, terminology, and methods.

  • Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences , Samuel Kotz Campbell B. Read, and David L. Banks, 1997.
    UGL/SEL REF QA276.14 .E5 1997
    An eight volume set providing information on statistical theory and the application of statistical methods in various scientific fields.

  • Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics , Kiyosi Ito, ed., 2nd ed., 1987.
    UGL/SEL REF QA5 .N5 1987
    Contains 450 alphabetically arranged articles on pure and applied mathematics.

Return to Top


divider



Handbooks

  • CRC Handbook of Mathematical Sciences. William H. Beyer, 6th ed., 1987.
    SEL Book Collection QA47 .H324 1987
    Formerly known as the Handbook of Tables for Mathematics, this book contains all the major mathematical tables used by students and professional scientists.
  • CRC Standard Curves and Surfaces . David von Seggern, 2nd ed., 1993.
    UGL/SEL REF QA643 .V67 1993
    Intended for mathematicians, as well as for engineers, architects, designers, draftsmen, and artists working with computer graphics, this book illustrates curves and surface features in two-dimensions.
  • CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae. 30th ed., 1991.
    UGL/SEL REF QA47 .M315 1996
    Tables in this book are adapted from the CRC Handbook of Physics and Chemistry , and cover all the mathematical functions used by mathematicians and researchers.
  • CRC Standard Probability and Statistics: Tables and Formulae. William H. Beyer, 1991.
    UGL/SEL REF QA276.25 .C72 1991
    Handbook provides tables, charts, and graphs pertaining to probability and statistics.
  • Handbook of Statistical Methods for Engineers and Scientists. Harrison M. Wadsworth, ed., 1990.
    UGL/SEL Book Collection QA276 .H36
    Handbook covers statistics in all areas of engineering.
Return to Top


divider



Journals

Complete holdings information is available in the UB Libraries BISON Catalog system.

Return to Top


divider



Tables

  • An Atlas of Functions , Jerome Spanier and Keith B. Oldham, 1987.
    UGL/SEL REF QA331 .S685 1987
    Organized in 64 chapters, this book provides definitions, relationships, expansions, and other properties of 400 mathematical functions.
  • An Index of Mathematical Tables , A. Fletcher, 2nd ed., 1962.
    UGL/SEL REF Z6654 .T3 F55 1962
    This classic index includes mathematical tables from the sixteenth century to 1961.
  • Tables of Integrals, Series, and Products , I.S. Gradshtein, 2000.
    SEL Book Collection QA 55 G6613 2000
    Translated from the Russian text, Tablitsy Integralov, Summ, Riadov i Proizvedenii, this book is a comprehensive compilation of tables of integrals, series, and products.
Return to Top


divider




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility