return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Multimedia Center > Microform Collections


Microform Collections
A listing of selected microform available in the Capen Multimedia Center.




English Literary Periodicals

Description

This collection of 341 titles was published in Great Britain during the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries and is predominantly literary in nature. Besides literary reviews and miscellanies, there are also theatrical, satirical, political, religious, and women's magazines. Essays, book reviews, poetry, serialized fiction, and articles on contemporary subjects are also included.

Important writers represented, include, Defoe, Addison, Steele, Swift, Smollett, Goldsmith, Johnson, Mill, Hunt, Lamb, Tennyson, Dickens, and George Eliot. Famous journals represented include the Spectator, the Guardian, the Rambler, the Monthly Review, and the New London Magazine.

Location

English Literary Periodicals is located in the Capen Multimedia Center. Call numbers vary by title; most are MicFilm AP3 and AP4

Access

Some of the titles in this collection are accessible via BISON – UB Libraries catalog. To determine microfilm locations for each journal, consult:

Accessing English Literary Periodicals: a Guide to the Microfilm Collection. This guide contains title, subject, editor and reel number indexes. Article-level indexing is not provided. Capen Multimedia Center Reference Z692 .S5 U56 1981

Additional resources:

Studies in the Early English Periodical. The collection is based on this bibliography. Lockwood Library Book Collection PN5124 .P4 B6



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility