return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library Administration Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Multimedia Center > Microform Collections


Microform Collections
A listing of selected microform available in the Capen Multimedia Center.




Library of American Civilization

Description

This collection contains material relating to all aspects of American life, from the country's earliest days to the start of World War I. The majority of items were published before 1914. The collection contains many rare and out of print books and and material of foreign origin relating to America. The types of publications include:

  • pamphlets
  • periodicals
  • public and private documents
  • biographies
  • fiction and non-fiction
  • poetry
  • collected works and papers

Major subject areas are:

 

politics and government

constitutional history

reform

intellectual history

science and technology

education

religion

minorities

the frontier

the South

agriculture

business

labor

literature

music

visual arts

architecture

the city

manners and customs

local history

early exploration

 

Location

Library of American Civilization is available in the CAPEN Multimedia Center at call number MicCard E169.1 .L4 .
(This format is high reduction microfiche. Use the high magnification lens when viewing/printing the fiche.)

Access

Individual titles are available in the UB Libraries Catalog on UB Libraries Catalog .

Each microfiche is assigned an LAC number and this number is referenced in the catalog immediately following the call number. The LAC numbers start at 10,001, and fall into the following groups:

  • 10,000 series - single volume works
  • 20,000 series - multi-volume works
  • 30,000 series - periodicals
  • 40,000 series - pamphlets and short works

Additional access is available through:

  • The Microbook Library of American Civilization: Author Catalog .
    LML Ref Z1236 .L52
  • The Microbook Library of American Civilization: Subject Catalog .
    LML Ref Z1236 .L54
  • The Microbook Library of American Civilization: Title Catalog .
    LML Ref Z1236 .L53
  • The Microbook Library of American Civilization: Biblioguide Index .
    LML Ref Z1236 .L55

Every document in the Library of American Civilization is indexed under one or more of the 565 subject headings. References to parts of books are cited by specific volumes, chapters, or pages.

Many titles in this collection are available online through various sources.  Try searching at http://www.quinnipiac.edu/x1849.xml .



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility