return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Multimedia Center > Microform Collections


Microform Collections
A listing of selected microform available in the Capen Multimedia Center.



Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950

Description

This microfiche collection reproduces historical reference books that document Afro-American experiences. These titles include biographical dictionaries, histories and directories of Afro-American organizations, encyclopedias, plus a variety of miscellaneous publications like; The Colored Aristocracy of St. Louis (1858), Hand Book on the Detroit Negro (1942), The Underground Rail Road (1872), etc.

The fiche are arranged by the number that is assigned to each reference book that is included in this collection.

Location

Black Biographical Dictionaries are available on microfiche in the Lockwood Reference microform area (adjacent to room 228) at call number MicFiche E185.96 .B52 .

Access

Black Biography 1790-1950: A Cumulative Index in the Lockwood Reference microform area (adjacent to room 228) at call number Z1361.N39 B52 1991
The primary arrangement for this index is by person's name with each entry showing the assigned reference source title number(s) followed by page number(s). The last volume of this index contains indexes to the biographies by place of birth, occupation, religion, and sex.

UB Libraries Catalog
The title for each reference book in this collection appears in the UB Libraries Catalog. If you are interested in African-American reference works, you can find them doing a keyword search (the default search) that combines the phrase black biographical dictionaries with place names, subjects (writers, slavery, etc.), and/or words that describe the type of publications (handbook, encyclopedias. etc.).




divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility