return to library home return to buffalo.edu

  • Find Library Materials
  • My Accounts
  • Get Help
  • Libraries & Collections
  • About Us
  • Ask A Librarian
BISON Catalog Course Reserve Databases Electronic Journals Forms A-Z Multi-Search (Articles+) Resources by Subject
My Library Card Arts & Sciences - ILLiad Health Sciences - ILLiad Law - ILLiad
Help A - Z Research Tips Instructional Support Faculty Support Student Support Alumni & Visitor Support Endnote Software
Arts & Sciences Libraries Health Sciences Library Law Library Music Library Special Collections Digital Library Center Libraries Annex
Contact Us Hours/Floor Plans Policies & Services Staff Directory Library News Events & Workshops Library Exhibits Employment Support Our Libraries
chatInstant Message emailEmail phonePhone inpersonIn Person
Find Library Materials
 
  star icon BISON Catalog
divider
  star icon Course Reserve
divider
  star icon Databases
divider
  star icon Electronic Journals
divider
  star icon Forms A-Z
divider
  star icon Multi-Search (Articles+)
divider
  star icon Resources by Subject
 
 




 

 





Home > Find Library Materials > Resources by Subject > Multimedia Center > Microform Collections


Microform Collections
A listing of selected microform available in the Capen Multimedia Center.



City Directories of the U.S.

Description

City directories are useful for genealogical, demographic, social, economic and geographic research. University Libraries own U.S. city directories from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries under varying titles.

Location

City Directories on microform are available in the Capen Multimedia Center.

City Directories of the United States through 1860 (segment I)
MicFiche: E 154.5 D4
         All U.S. directories, including Buffalo, up to 1860.
The collection is based on Bibliography of American Directories Through 1860 Lockwood Ref Z5771 .S7, which is reproduced on the introductory fiche of the set .

City Directories of the United States, 1861-1881 (segment II)
The following cities are owned:

  • Albany N.Y. MicFilm: E154.5 A5
  • Brooklyn , N.Y. MicFilm: E154.5 B7
  • Buffalo N.Y. , (1861-1935) MicFilm: E154.5 D412
  • New York N.Y. MicFilm: E154.5 N49
  • Philadelphia P.A. MicFilm: E154.5 P5
  • Pittsburgh P.A. MicFilm: E154.5 P58
  • Rochester N.Y. MicFilm: E154.5 R6
  • Syracuse N.Y. MicFilm: E154.5 S9
  • Troy N.Y. MicFilm: E154.5 T7

Access

To see the cities covered in these collections, do a title search in BISON for City Directories of the United States. To determine which city directories have been published, whether or not they are owned by the Libraries, consult the following title.

City Directories of the United States, 1860-1901: a guide to the microform collection .
LML Ref E154.5 .C42 1983
This guide is for segments I, II & III.

For more information about City Directories, see The Help A-Z InfoPage City Directories.



divider
return to buffalo.edu Site Search  |  Terms of Use  |   UB Privacy Policy  |  Accessibility